用户体验透视 > 商业案例用户体验

 

在专注于改善用户体验的组织中,一般的经验法则是,每投入$1就能带来$10-$100的回报。问题是这个范围是如此之大,似乎令人难以置信。

下面我们提供了各种信息,以帮助任何试图将商业案例放在一起的人。 用户体验研究.这些内容代表了我们多年来遇到的引人注目的内容和资产,我们的客户认为这些内容很有用。如果你有一些有用的东西,请给我们发送一个链接,我们将分享它。

88%的在线消费者声称,在经历了负面的用户体验之后,他们不太可能再回到一个网站。

在网站和应用程序的设计和开发方面,用户体验研究在开发阶段提供了价值,并为优化实时网站或应用程序提供了价值。

变化的成本


进行可用性测试有几个论点,但其中一个最直观的论点是Bias和Mayhew在1994年为他们的书""创建的右图。成本合理化的可用性"该报告是在1994年制定的,现在看来和当时一样正确。它表明,在数字产品的开发过程中,从需求阶段到部署阶段,变化的成本随着设计方案的减少而增加。

通过在整个设计过程中利用用户体验研究来完善和提高想法,我们最终会得到一个更好、更有效的数字产品,并且在最后不需要昂贵和有限的返工。

bias & mayhew

这个图表是强大的,因为它在直觉上是正确的,并且允许我们考虑可用性测试在开发的每个阶段和进入运营阶段的价值。很明显,如果在发布后发现了影响数字产品运行的可用性问题,那么纠正这些问题的选择和实施改变的成本就会很高。面对这种情况,数字产品拥有者的选择是有限的。

  • 支出和整改
  • 等待下一次重新设计
  • 修复你可以成本有效地处理的问题,并接受较低的转换率/高放弃率。

我们在与数字产品所有者合作时经常看到这样的情况,即在第一次测试网站的可用性时,问题分为两类:一类是现在就可以纠正的问题;另一类是必须等到重新设计时才能解决的问题,因为它们太昂贵或在技术上难以解决。

收益


当然,最常见的投资回报率指标是财务指标,一个经过测试的产品,加上一个以用户为中心的用户界面,将确保客户的体验是愉快的,鼓励更多的转换,并反过来增加销售和收入。

可用性测试被证明可以提高电子商务网站的转化率。

计算投资回报率

如果你想实际计算用户体验研究的投资回报率,这里有一些非常有用的资源。

人为因素公司的投资回报率计算器:

人为因素公司根据以下标准提供了六个不同的计算器。

  • 提高生产力
  • 减少对服务台的依赖
  • 提高转换率
  • 减少了正式培训的费用
  • 减少辍学率
  • 减少了学习曲线

资源


用户体验基金

十多年前,两位用户体验设计师Geoff Teehan和Jon Lax提出了一个想法,他们称之为 "用户体验基金"。他们确定了那些重视创新、设计和积极的客户体验的公司,然后向它们投资$50,000。在第一年,该基金增长了39%,上面的链接谈到了它在十年后的表现。这些例子对任何创造有投资回报的商业案例的人来说都是有价值的。

福里斯特 

这份报告考察了2010年至2014年期间的公司增长率,涵盖了一系列行业,并指出关注客户体验可以带来最佳的增长率。

水印咨询 

这份白皮书研究了Forrester年度体验指数评级中领先者和落后者的股票市场表现。它显示,在8年的时间里,标准普尔指数增长了72.3%,客户体验领先者的股票增长了107.5%,客户体验落后者的股票只增长了27.6%。

"到今年 2020年客户体验 将超过价格和产品,成为最重要的品牌差异化因素"

用户体验


如果用户对数字产品的体验由于糟糕的可用性而受到损害或挫折,那么新用户就有可能到其他地方寻找。可能是去找一个提供卓越用户体验的直接竞争者。这种影响包括以下几个方面。

  • 浪费PPC营销成本,推动流量,导致转化率低下
  • 由于转换分数不高,PPC成本较高
  • 丧失了为未来营销捕捉潜在客户细节的机会

忠诚客户的流失


不仅仅是潜在客户会被阻止使用你的网站并最终转换。当现有的忠实客户发现自己无法相对容易地实现他们的目标时,他们的耐心和信任将很快枯竭。当直接竞争对手改进他们的网站时,情况也是如此。其影响可能是。

  • 较低的平均篮子大小/每个用户的平均收入
  • 较高的营销成本使其停滞不前

口头语


在寻求品牌、产品和服务的推荐时,社交媒体和Trustpilot等评论网站现在是用户的关键信息来源。不良的用户体验,特别是人们报告的复杂程度超过所需或预期的情况,可能会造成很大的损害。

根据OJM数字公司的数据,人们喜欢分享经验,有78%因为有好的经验而分享(47%因为有坏的经验)。

它们可以使大大小小的组织在网上的存在得到或破坏。一旦传出你的网站或应用程序是一个可用性真空,那些可能对你的产品感兴趣的人很快就不会感兴趣了。反之,特别是在 手机 积极经验的消息也可以快速传播。

在可用性测试中,特别是在电子商务网站上,客户评论是购买周期中的一个关键因素。大多数用户在做出购买决定之前都会参考这些评论。

发展


如果没有一个严格的用户体验框架的保障,开发时间很可能会受到影响。在产品开发的后期发现故障会延长开发周期,增加开发成本。

生产力 


还可以通过提高任何必须与产品互动以满足客户需求的员工的生产力来实现节约。后端系统需要严格的测试,以确保设计和用户界面有利于缩短完成任务的时间,使员工能够实现更多的目标。这一点在实施诸如 "聊天 "和 "电话 "等功能时尤其如此。 聊天机器人.

business case ux

UX Insights > Business Case UX

 

The general rule of thumb in organisations that focus on improving user experience is that every $1 invested delivers a return of $10-$100. The problem with that is the range is so huge it seems unbelievable.

Below we have provided a variety of information to help anyone trying to put together a business case for UX research. The contents represent compelling content and assets we have come across over the years and that our customers find useful. If you have something useful that you use, please send us a link and we will share it.

88% of online consumers claim that they are less likely to return to a site after a negative user experience

In the context of website and app design and development, UX research provides value during the development phase and for optimising a live website or app.

COST OF CHANGE


There are several arguments for carrying out usability testing but one of the most visual is the chart on the right created by Bias and Mayhew in 1994 for their book “Cost justifying usability” Developed in 1994 it is as true now as it was then. It shows that during the development of a digital product, from the requirements phase to the deployment phase, the cost of change increases as the number of design alternatives reduces.

By utilising UX research to refine and enhance ideas throughout the design process we end up with a better, more effective digital product and have no need for expensive and limited rework at the end.

bias & mayhew

The chart is powerful because it is intuitively correct and allows us to consider the value of usability testing at every stage of development and into operation. Clearly if usability issues that impact the operation of a digital product are found after launch, the choices available to rectify those issues and cost to implement change is significant. A digital product owner confronted with this situation has limited choices:

  • Spend and rectify
  • Wait for the next redesign
  • Fix what you can cost effectively attend to and accept lower conversion / high abandonment

We see this regularly when working with digital product owners when usability testing a live website for the first time, whereby issues fall into two buckets: those that can be rectified now; and those that must wait for the redesign because they are too expensive or technically difficult to solve.

REVENUE


Of course, the most common metric of ROI is financial, and a tested-to-breaking-point product, with a user-centric UI, will ensure the customer’s experience is a pleasant one, encouraging more conversions, and, in turn, increased sales and revenue

Usability testing is proven to improve conversion on eCommerce website.

Calculating ROI

If you are trying to actually calculate ROI of UX research here are some really useful resources:

ROI calculators from Human Factors:

Human Factors provide six different calculators based on the following criteria:

  • Increased productivity
  • Reduced reliance on help desks
  • Increased conversion rate
  • Reduced costs on formal training
  • Decreased drop off rate
  • Reduced learning curve

Resources


The UX Fund

Over ten years ago, two UX designers, Geoff Teehan and Jon Lax, developed an idea they called the “UX Fund”. They identified companies that valued innovation, design, and positive customer experience and then invested $50,000 in them. In the first year the fund grew over 39% and the link above talks about how it has done after a decade. The examples are valuable for anyone creating a business case with return on investment.

Forrester 

This report looks at company growth rate between 2010 and 2014 encompasses a range of industries and indicates where a focus on customer experience can deliver the best growth rate.

Watermark Consulting 

This white paper looks at the stock market performance of leaders and laggards in the Forrester annual experience index ratings. It shows that over an 8 year period the S&P index grew 72.3%, customer experience leaders stock grew 107.5% and customer experience laggards stock grew by only 27.6%.

ROI and Loyalty 

The Temkin Group published this insight report that presents the link between customer experience and loyalty. A key finding is that “a modest increase in customer experience can result in a gain over three years of up to $382 million for US companies and up to £263 million for UK firms, depending on their industry”. The report explains how organisation can realise these gains and the actions they need to take.

“By the year 2020 customer experience will surpass both price and product as the most important brand differentiator “

USER EXPERIENCE


If the user’s experience of the digital product is damaged or frustrated by poor usability, there is a risk that a new user will look elsewhere. Possibly to a direct competitor who is delivering a superior user experience. The impact includes the following:

  • Wasted PPC marketing costs for driving traffic that results in poor conversion
  • Higher PPC costs due to poor conversion scores
  • Lost opportunity to capture prospect details for future marketing

LOSS OF LOYAL CUSTOMERS


If the user’s experience of the digital product is damaged or frustrated by poor usability, there is a risk that a new user will look elsewhere. Possibly to a direct competitor who is delivering a superior user experience. The impact includes the following:

  • Wasted PPC marketing costs for driving traffic that results in poor conversion
  • Higher PPC costs due to poor conversion scores
  • Lost opportunity to capture prospect details for future marketing

WORD OF MOUTH


Social media and review sites such as Trustpilot are now key sources of information for users when seeking recommendations for brands, products and services. Poor user experience, particularly where people report greater complexity than is required or expected can be very damaging.

According to OJM Digital, People enjoy sharing experiences with 78% sharing because of a good experience (47% because of a bad one).

They can make or break the online presence of organisations large and small. Once word gets out that your website or app is a usability vacuum, those who might’ve been interested in your offering soon won’t be. Conversely, and particularly on mobile the news of a positive experience can also travel fast.

In usability testing, particularly on eCommerce websites, customer reviews are a crucial element of the purchase cycle. Most users refer to them before making a purchase decision

DEVELOPMENT


Development time may well be compromised without the safeguards of a rigid UX framework. Discovering faults late in the product development can extend the development cycle and increase the development costs.

PRODUCTIVITY 


Savings can also be made through an increase in productivity of any staff that have to interact with a product for the purposes of customer fulfilment etc. Back end systems require rigorous testing to ensure the design and UI are conducive to an experience that cuts the time it takes to complete a task, allowing the employee to achieve more. This is particularly true when implementing functions such as Chat and Chatbots.

business case ux