印度的可用性测试

印度的可用性测试

在印度进行远程或基于实验室的可用性测试,与真实的客户和当地的高级用户体验研究员合作

印度是一个大国,对于西方企业来说,考虑组织 用户体验研究 或与他们的客户进行可用性测试,这可能是一个令人生畏的前景。这就是UX24/7出现的地方。我们是一家全球设计研究机构,拥有自己的高级用户体验研究员团队。

我们所有的高级用户体验研究员在加入过程中都接受了评估,以确保他们有足够的技能、能力和经验来提供符合我们期望的高标准的可用性测试和用户体验研究。我们的印度团队由男性和女性高级用户体验研究员组成,他们有能力在印度进行远程、环境或实验室的可用性测试。我们也有很好的语言覆盖,所以不仅仅是印地语。

印度的远程和基于实验室的可用性测试

我们在印度使用远程和实验室设施进行可用性测试和用户体验研究。

远程方法学 - 远程方法学使用在线屏幕共享技术,我们曾使用Zoom和WhatsApp作为视频平台。在印度进行可用性测试通常是在 手机 设备,而Zoom则被很好地理解并运作良好。然而,在某些情况下,WhatsApp的使用情况是 参与者 缺乏对一般技术的熟悉。

基于实验室的测试 - 对于基于实验室的测试,我们的大部分工作都是在新德里进行的。这通常是由我们的地点所决定的 客户办事机构,便利性在决定中发挥了重要作用。新德里的人口为1090万,更大的是孟买,有1270万人口,这也是一个受欢迎的地方。

城市和区域测试 - 这些城市只是讲述了印度的部分故事。在这样一个幅员辽阔的国家,有多种地区、语言和习俗,仔细考虑你的受众是至关重要的。我们在印度进行的研究中,约有90%是远程交付的--无论是发现性、生成性还是评估性,即实用性测试。这是因为我们的客户希望与不同地域的人交谈,而远程是最具成本效益的方式。

沟通 - 在所有情况下,我们提供的观看体验包括画中画视频,并在需要时将其同步翻译成你的母语。我们还提供当地语言和印度原版的会议录音。

分析报告 - 最后,我们的高级用户体验研究人员提供详细的会议分析。我们的交付成果包括观察和问题,以及分析和可操作的建议。我们的团队也会说英语,这意味着我们可以用印度语或英语与你进行回放会话。

那么,你还在等什么呢?如果你想在印度进行可用性测试,我们可以帮助你。

关于印度的快速事实。

  • 使用的主要语言。 印地语(44%),孟加拉语(8%),马拉地语(7%),泰卢固语(7%
  • 人口。 1,391,807,092(估计为2021年)。
  • 首府城市。 新德里
  • 其他主要城市。 孟买、加尔各答、钦奈、班加罗尔、海得拉巴
  • 使用的货币/货币单位。 卢比
  • 扫盲。 77.7% (2022年估计。)

世界上哪里是:印度

显示印度位置的世界地图
印度国旗

印度的用户体验研究和可用性测试

准时性 - 在印度进行基于实验室的可用性测试时,参与者被安排提前20分钟到达,以便考虑到交通问题。这一点在包括新德里在内的所有主要城市尤为重要。然而,参与者通常会准时参加远程会议,所以不需要采取特别措施。

奖励 - 现金奖励不是必须的,通常会用礼物来代替。代金券也是可以接受的,这在印度进行远程可用性测试时非常有用。

详细的参与者招募 - 由于文化的广泛多样性,定义全面的规格以确保招募所需类别的参与者是至关重要的。出于这个原因,在印度进行用户体验研究通常是最好的,以便在广阔的地理范围内获得覆盖。在多个城市进行面对面的研究项目,成本会很高。

移动通信 - 虽然印度人在招聘时使用电子邮件,但我们倾向于要求提供手机号码。这意味着我们可以使用WhatsApp与参与者沟通,这是他们已经熟悉的方法。我们发现,印度的参与者对以下方面的反应更强烈 移动通信.

性别文化 - 如果你打算在印度对女性参与者进行研究,使用一名女性主持人是至关重要的。即使如此,你可能会发现一个男性伴侣或家庭成员控制着对方是否会参加。

谈判讨论 - 印度人有大声思考的习惯,这对可用性测试来说是很好的,但在焦点小组会议中,每个人都在同时说话,会造成问题。参与者必须明白,为了确保反馈的完整性,需要一个一个地说话。

年度节庆活动 - 印度有几个主要的节日,要庆祝好几天的时间。这些节日包括排灯节(10月/11月,为期5天)、Ganesh Chaturthi(8月/9月,为期11天)和Onam(9月,为期10天)。

宗教与文化 - 印度由各种宗教组成,其中印度教最受欢迎,其次是伊斯兰教、基督教和锡克教。应注意不要扰乱任何宗教的敏感性。

国定假日

下表提供了适用于印度大部分地区的主要公共假期的时间。还有更多的地区性节日,我们会在工作开始前向您告知任何影响您项目时间表的节日。

1月1日 元旦
1月26日 共和国日
3月11日 马哈-什瓦特里
复活节周日前2天 耶稣受难日
5月1日 劳动节
8月15日 独立日
10月2日 圣雄甘地纪念日
10月15日 维贾亚-达沙米
11月4日 排灯节
12月25日 圣诞日

为文化差异而设计--印度用户体验研究

印度的文化与西方世界的文化有很大不同。任何国家人民的文化和行为都极大地影响着数字和实体产品的设计--当涉及到用户测试时,印度也不例外。

有相当多的文化差异对用户体验研究、测试和设计产生直接影响。

当地的做法和习俗 - 文化多样性往往需要为这种差异采取复杂的变通办法。你只需考虑我们的日常生活看起来有多大的反差,以及调整我们认为完全合适的系统会有多复杂。从食物到驾驶,礼仪,以及典型的协议--为印度的用户提供所需的用户体验研究,是一个有经验和受过适当教育的专家的工作。

地方和区域差异 - 我们在不同文化中消化信息的方式有很大的不同。传统的观点、政治、传统、做法和习俗--包括我们吃的食物和饮食习惯--意味着一些我们认为理所当然的小事对不同文化背景的受众来说可能是件大事。印度的饮食文化就是这样一个领域;印度的印度教徒不吃牛肉,而印度的穆斯林不吃猪肉。在酒店或娱乐业工作时,必须掌握所有这些细节。为了平衡和尊重所有的文化,满足所有需求的决议被建立在最好的用户体验设计中。

社会条件 - 在印度,研究和用户测试的另一个重要领域是可用的技术和用户的专业知识。在低技术背景的文化中,提供简单易懂的导航和操作是最重要的。不仅网络、浏览器和硬件必须在通常不太可靠的情况下进行管理,而且还必须在经验不足和技术熟练的操作人员手中进行管理。

语言 - 印度有22种官方语言。你马上就会明白,这产生了一系列的实际问题。接触你的人口或你的产品或项目的理想受众需要广泛的理解。印度的文化多样性造成了交付方面的复杂性,但在一个精心设计和理解文化的系统下都是可以管理的。

敏感度 - 由于宗教和语言的多样性,对每个社区表现出敏感是很重要的。为特定的信仰集创建特定的区域可以是一个适当的解决方案,或者在合适的情况下创建独立的镜像站点。

印度的文化行为和用户测试

用户体验研究的一个重要部分是了解用户和他们的行为。为了建立最清晰的画面,需要记录生活方式、环境、工作和家庭生活文化、技术,以及更多。

鉴于印度的文化多样性,印度以外的产品团队可能对印度用户有一些偏见和误解,这最终会导致研究出现偏差。当踏入印度的研究时,重要的是要从可信赖的来源了解这个地方的实际情况和人口的文化背景。

以下是我们的印度参与者的一些文化考虑,以及我们如何管理它们。

公信力 - 有时,印度参与者可能会发现很难信任研究人员。许多人会更喜欢面对面的互动,而不是远程操作,因为远程操作会暴露很多关于他们的家庭生活和生活状况。这给研究人员带来了问题,他们的理解取决于许多这样的方面。我们的团队了解其用户,是管理用户关系和操作的专家。

隐私 - 语境对用户体验研究者来说是非常有价值的,所以当参与者在分享他们的家庭、生活和社会空间的图片或详细描述时,可能会失去这种语境。赢得参与者的尊重是我们研究人员工作的一个重要部分。

同意 - 收集的数据只有在同意使用的情况下才有价值。解释和取得同意是我们的专家通过与测试者和参与者发展相互尊重的关系而学会克服的一个障碍。

激励措施 - 从文化上讲,印度参与者尊重送礼行为,将其作为一种姿态,往往比典型的经济奖励更喜欢。我们的研究人员知道哪些社区对不同的奖励反应最好,从每个用户和项目中获得最佳结果。

工具和技术 - 各个城市和地区的互联网连接有很大的不同,他们的硬件技术也是如此。许多西方技术和工具根本无法与印度的硬件很好地配合。当把他们的电脑和设备开放给他们不知道或不了解的外部实体时,许多人引起了他们的用户的担忧和不信任。管理用户和他们的技术是我们在提供客户所需结果方面的另一个擅长领域。

截至2021年12月,印度约有6.46亿互联网用户,自2019年以来有所增长 估计为37%.这意味着相当一部分互联网人口是相当新的,可能不具备高科技技能。因此,产品所有者应考虑以下策略。

  • 避免使用可能无法引起所有人群共鸣的技术语言。
  • 设计的任务要对他们现有的习惯或以前的技术经验进行一定的熟悉。

国际案例研究。博登公司在中国的可用性测试

印度只是我们组织和交付的市场之一。 国际用户体验研究 和可用性测试。如果你在印度或任何其他市场有需求,请使用下面的表格与我们联系,我们将很乐意提供无义务的报价。

Usability Testing in India

Usability Testing in India

Remote or lab-based usability testing in India, with real customers and local, Senior UX Researchers

India is a large country, and for Western businesses thinking about organising UX research or usability testing with their clients, it can be a daunting prospect. That is where UX24/7 comes in. We are a global design research agency that operates with our own team of Senior UX Researchers.

All our Senior UX Researchers have been evaluated as part of their joining process to ensure they have the skills, capabilities and experience to deliver usability testing and UX Research to the high standards we expect. Our India team consists of male and female senior UX researchers with the capacity to conduct remote, contextual or lab-based usability testing in India. We also have excellent language coverage so go well beyond just Hindi.

Remote and lab-based usability testing in India

We run usability testing and UX Research in India using remote and lab-based facilities.

Remote methodologies – Remote methodologies use online screen sharing technologies, where we have used Zoom and also WhatsApp as a video platform. It’s common to conduct usability testing in India on mobile devices, and Zoom is well understood and works well. However, in some cases, WhatsApp has been used where the participant lacked familiarity with technology in general.

Lab-based testing – For lab-based testing, the majority of our work has been carried out in New Delhi. This is generally driven by the location of our customers’ offices, with convenience playing a significant role in the decision. New Delhi has a population of 10.9 million, and, larger still, is Mumbai with 12.7 million, which is also a popular location.

City and regional testing – These cities only tell part of the story of India. With such a vast country, with multiple regions, languages spoken and customs, it is crucial to consider your audience carefully. About 90% of the research we carry out in India is delivered remotely—whether discovery, generative or evaluative, i.e. usability testing. This is because our customers want to speak to people across the geography, and remote is the most cost-effective way.

Communication – In all cases, we provide a viewing experience that includes picture-in-picture video and, where required, simultaneous translation into your native language. Recordings of the sessions are also supplied in your local language and with the Indian original.

Analysis – Finally, our Senior UX Researchers provide a detailed session analysis. Our deliverables include observations and issues together with analysis and actionable recommendations. Our team also speaks English, meaning we can deliver a playback session with you in Indian or English.

So, what are you waiting for? If you want to conduct usability testing in India, we can help.

Quick facts about India:

  • Main language/s spoken: Hindi (44%), Bengali (8%), Marathi (7%), Telugu (7%)
  • Population: 1,391,807,092 (est. 2021)
  • Capital City: New Delhi
  • Secondary Cities: Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad
  • Currency / monetary units used: Rupee
  • Literacy: 7% (2020 est.)

Where in the world is: India

map of the world showing the location of India
Flag of India

UX Research and Usability Testing in India

Punctuality – When conducting lab-based usability testing in India, participants are scheduled to arrive 20 minutes early to allow for traffic. This is particularly important in New Delhi. However, participants are usually punctual for remote sessions, so no special measures need to be taken.

Reward – Cash incentives are not mandatory, with gifts often being given instead. Vouchers are also acceptable, which is very useful when carrying out remote usability testing in India.

Detailed participant recruitment – With a widely diverse culture, it’s vital to define comprehensive specifications to ensure the recruitment of the desired categories of participants. For this reason, it’s often best to conduct UX research in India remotely to gain coverage across the vast geography. It can be costly to carry out research projects in multiple cities face-to-face.

Mobile communication – Although Indian people use email when recruiting, we tend to ask for a mobile number. This means we can use WhatsApp to communicate with participants, a method with which they’re already familiar. We have found Indian participants to be more responsive to mobile communications.

Culture of sexes – It is crucial to use a female moderator if you intend to conduct research with female participants in India. Even then, you may find a male partner or family member controlling whether the person will attend.

Negotiating discussion – Indians have a habit of thinking aloud, which is great for usability testing but can cause problems during focus group sessions with everybody talking at once. Participants must understand the need to speak one at a time to ensure the integrity of the feedback.

Annual Festivals – There are several major festivals in India, which are celebrated for several days. These include Diwali (5 days Oct/Nov), Ganesh Chaturthi (11 days Aug/Sep) and Onam (10 days Sep).

Religion and Culture – India is made up of various religions, with Hinduism being the most popular, followed by Islam, Christianity and Sikhism. Care should be taken not to upset any religious sensitivity.

National holidays

The table below provides timings for the major public holidays in India that apply to most of India. There are far more regional holidays, and we will advise you about any that impact your project timeline before work begins.

1st January New Year’s Day
26th January Republic Day
11th March Maha Shivaratri
2 days before Easter Sunday Good Friday
1st May Labour Day
15th August Independence Day
2nd October Mahatma Gandhi Jayanti
15th October Vijaya Dashami
4th November Diwali
25th December Christmas Day

Designing for cultural differences – UX research India

Indian culture varies significantly from that of the western world. The culture and behaviour of any country’s people greatly influence the design of digital and physical products—and when it comes to user testing, India is no exception.

There’s quite a range of cultural differences that make a direct impact on UX research, testing, and design.

Local practices and customs – Cultural diversity often requires complex workarounds for such differences. You only have to consider how contrasting our daily lives look and how complicated adapting what we see as a perfectly suitable system could be. From food to driving, etiquette, and typical protocols—providing the UX research India needs for its users is an undertaking for an experienced and appropriately educated specialist.

Local and regional variations – The way we digest information from culture to culture varies considerably. Conventional viewpoints, politics, traditions, practices, and customs—including the food we eat and dietary conventions—mean that some of the smallest things we take for granted could be a big deal for a culturally different audience. Indian diet culture is one such area; Indian Hindus don’t eat beef, and Indian Muslims don’t eat pork. When working in hospitality or entertainment, it’s essential to get all these details in check. To balance and respect all cultures, resolutions that satisfy all needs are built into the best UX design.

Societal conditions – Another significant area of research and user testing in India is the technology available and the expertise of its users. Providing simple and easy-to-understand navigation and operation is paramount in cultures with low technology backgrounds. Not only do the networks, browsers, and hardware have to manage in often less than reliable situations but also in the hands of less experienced and tech savvy operatives.

Language – India has 22 official languages. As you’ll immediately appreciate, that conjures a host of practical issues. Reaching your demographic or the ideal audience for your product or project requires vast understanding. India’s cultural diversity creates complexities in delivery, but all manageable under a well-designed and culturally understanding system.

Sensitivity – With such a diverse range of religions and languages, it’s important to show sensitivity to each community. Creating specific areas for particular belief sets can be an appropriate solution, or separate mirror sites where fitting.

Cultural conduct and user testing in India

A huge part of UX research is understanding users and their behaviours. To build the clearest picture requires documenting lifestyle, environment, work and home life culture, technology, and a whole lot more.

Here are a selection of the cultural considerations of our Indian participants and how we manage them.

Credibility – On occasion, Indian participants may find it difficult to trust researchers. Many will prefer face-to-face interaction instead of remote operations that reveal much about their home life and living situation. This brings problems for researchers, whose understanding depends on many such aspects. Our teams understand its users and are experts at managing user relationships and operations.

Privacy – Context is highly valuable to UX researchers, so when participants have problems sharing images or detailed descriptions of their homes, living, and social spaces, that context can be lost. Gaining the respect of participants is an essential part of our researchers’ work.

Consent – The data gathered only has value with consent to use it. Explaining and achieving consent is a hurdle our experts have learned to overcome by developing respectful relationships with testers and participants.

Incentive – Culturally, Indian participants respect the act of gift giving as a gesture and often prefer it to a typical financial reward. Our researchers know which communities will respond best to different rewards, getting the best results from each user and project.

Tools and technology – Internet connectivity varies vastly from city to city and region to region, as does the technology of their hardware. Many western tech and tools simply don’t work well with Indian hardware. Many cause their users concern and distrust when opening up their computers and devices to outside entities they don’t know or understand. Managing users and their technology is another area in which we’ve learned to excel in providing the results our customers need.

International case study: Usability Testing in China for Boden

India is just one of the markets where we organise and deliver international user experience research and usability testing. If you have a requirement in India or any other market please get in touch using the form below and we will be happy to provide a no obligation quotation.