函数 fullHeightRow() { var fullHeight, offsetTop, element = document.getElementsByClassName('vc_row-o-full-height')[0]; 如果(元素) { fullHeight = window.innerHeight; offsetTop = window.pageYOffset + element.getBoundingClientRect().top。 如果(offsetTop < fullHeight) { fullHeight = 100 - offsetTop / (fullHeight / 100); element.style.minHeight = fullHeight + 'vh' 。 } } } fullHeightRow();

预见性设计

anticipatory design

什么是预见性设计?

预见性设计是一种领先于用户一步的用户体验设计原则。它使用人工智能来收集用户对界面的习惯和喜好的数据。然后利用这些数据来评估。 提前预测并回答用户的需求.

其目标是 减少用户的认知负荷 通过代表他们做出决定,创建一个生态系统,在这个系统中,决定从来没有被做出,而是自动发生,没有用户的任何输入。

这方面的一些流行使用案例见于知名品牌,如 网飞公司 (根据你的观看习惯,向你推荐电影/电视节目)和 亚马逊 (根据你以前买过的产品向你推荐)。 焦点网 还发布了一项功能,根据过去的收听率和喜好为你创建一个播放列表。 

预见性设计的现实世界实例

电子商务。 与M&S一起做饭

这个应用程序为用户提供了一系列的食谱(同时还有精美的摄影作品和引人注目的文案),这个应用程序通过让访问者不仅可以阅读食谱,还可以创建一个可编辑的购物清单,从他们的商店购买原料,根据你的人数自动调整,从而增加价值。

M&S AD page

家庭技术 : 巢穴

Nest "是一个智能恒温器,可以学习用户家中的加热/冷却习惯,并根据他们的喜好自动调节温度。

nest ad page

在线 : 谷歌现在

Google Now是谷歌开发的一个智能个人助理。它收集用户数据,它可以显示带有个性化、位置感知信息的卡片,如日历事件、当地天气、新闻、股票价格、航班、登机牌、酒店的、附近的摄影点等等。它还可以根据当前的交通状况,告诉用户你下班回家需要多长时间。如果谷歌认为你目前不需要什么,就不会显示出来。

google now

预见性设计的好处

  • 减少认知负荷 - 认知负荷是指用户在做某件事情时需要付出的心理努力。预见性设计通过减少或者在某些情况下消除用户必须做出的决定的数量来减少这种努力。用户越是不需要考虑他们需要做什么来实现他们的目标,他们就越有可能想去实现它。
  • 简化的用户接口 - 屏幕上更少的选择意味着界面可以被设计得更干净,更少的杂乱。这应该使在线用户体验更加直观。
  • 节省时间 - 预见性设计确保用户能更快地找到他们需要的东西或做出决定,节省他们的时间,使他们能做更多的事情。
  • 提高转换率 - 电子商务网站上的个性化产品推荐为销售提供了机会,反过来又为组织创造了更多的收入。

预见性设计的潜在问题

  • 隐私 - 围绕着预见性设计的最大的伦理问题是数据安全和隐私问题。这是由于很多非常个人化的数据(如在线资料、信息传递和位置)需要从用户那里获得,对这些数据的访问可能会让一些用户感到担忧。用户的数据应该被保护起来,不能以侵犯性的方式使用。
  • 限制条件 - 算法可以创造一个事件、行动和活动的循环,从而困住用户,限制他们发现新的体验。这被称为 "经验泡沫"。对于更容易被说服的儿童来说,这可能是一个更大的问题。
  • 失去控制 - 用户对他们所看到的东西有较少的控制权。一些用户可能不希望这样,因此,在某些情况下,保持透明并为用户提供选择退出预先制定的决定的选项可能是必要的。
  • 错误的决定 - 人类的行为并不总是可以预测的。为用户做出一个错误的决定会对用户体验产生负面影响,从而影响组织的声誉。

设计预想的体验

在你的产品或服务中实施预见性设计需要结合以下几点 机器学习 ,数据收集 和良好 用户体验设计。

数字代理公司Huge的首席执行官Aaron Shapiro和预测性设计一词的创造者的建议包括 5 他认为组织在考虑设计预期体验时应该牢记的事情。

  1. 把你的品牌看成是一种服务。它能使其用户做什么?
  2. 以数字方式启用您的服务
  3. 评估你能做些什么来自动提供你的服务。
  4. 建立你的自动化服务
  5. 在什么是可接受的决策和什么是不可接受的决策之间划出一条界限。

一旦你的预期服务被创建,以下建议可以帮助优化你的服务。

  • 请看 增加价值 通过自动化来实现互动
  • ǞǞǞ 背景 提供自动化的地方是关键,而不仅仅是内容。
  • 建立一个 突发事件 当做出错误的决定时,可以将你和你的消费者的损失降到最低。
  • 给用户一些 控制 在他们想要看到的东西之上,实施反馈机制以获得用户的意见。
  • 努力建立 信任 与你的用户。用户应该感觉到他们从提供他们的个人数据中得到了好处。
  • 持续的 分析 并对所收集的数据进行评估,以帮助尽量减少错误。
  • 进行 用户研究和测试.观察用户在用户旅程中倾向于做什么,并设计相应的互动。将此与数据挖掘相结合,创造出流畅的预期体验。

如果你想讨论如何测试你的应用,请致电+44(0)800 024624或发送电子邮件给我们 hello@ux247.com.

预见性设计与用户体验行业的未来

ad ux image

来源于工作鼠

预测性设计是预测性用户体验领域的一种设计模式。它的形成是围绕着 3 元素。

  1. 机器学习 - 允许设备从用户过去的行为中学习并利用它来调整预期。
  2. 物联网(IoT) - 预见性设计的手段和背景,以及在其中的运作和执行。
  3. 用户体验设计 - 对提供无缝的预期体验至关重要

这些新的和更智能的技术的发展意味着用户体验设计师所需要的技能正在改变。预见性设计导致用户体验设计师更多的参与到以下领域,例如 道德设计 因为在预测性经验中涉及大量的个人数据。

其他形式的用户界面(例如谷歌的Alexa等语音界面)提出了基于角色和对话设计的不同设计思维方式。

在此基础上更进一步,正在开发的形式是 基于手势的互动,需要更多毫不费力的用户输入。

随着预见性设计的发展,它的下一步可以或应该走向哪里?

我们可以从提供更简单的选择、更好地预测我们的需求和更智能的工具中获得很多东西,这些工具旨在为我们节省时间和金钱,甚至更好地避免压力和挫折。

但是,这对希望达到无缝暗示的完美规定的消费者和设计师来说意味着什么?

太多的选择确实会令人沮丧,然而,限制我们的选择也并不总是健康生存的最佳选择。

ML和AI是否会创造出能检测出我们何时准备好改变的算法?

让我们回到Netflix;它的算法帮助我们找到更多我们喜欢的东西,这很好,但如果你真的想要或需要改变呢?熟悉的东西会变得,嗯,太熟悉了,而且有点乏味。如果你对动作电影和幻想电视剧感到厌烦怎么办?如果相同类型的节目和电影看起来很无聊,而且没有突出的替代品来满足你的典型口味,因为Netflix已经为你决定了它们不是你的那杯茶,那怎么办?

无可否认,Netflix的目录足够庞大,所以它的选择似乎总能提供一些我们可以看的东西。但是,在它挑选的一千个选项中,如果你把你的大脑直接与它的算法竞争,它真的能检测出你会选择的最高选择吗?

"Netflix:给我看一些我通常不会看的东西。"

他们是否应该引入一个选项,将你的整个目录颠倒过来,或者复制一个朋友或家人的目录,其中有大量你很想看的书,但在你的选择中从未出现过?

告诉它你的心情,让它同情或感同身受地决定合适的节目和电影怎么样?就像你的朋友一样,因为他们在情感层面上了解你和你的品味?

我们是否需要反馈回路来界定何时需要改变常规?

SKY Q是该供应商迄今为止最高科技的控制系统,包括所讨论的许多自动决定,调出你经常观看的节目,提醒你的录音,自动录制或下载你所选择的节目的未来剧集,甚至还有一个语音控制选项,推动你问:"我应该看什么?"它提供的确实是它认为你想看的。

如果它的算法传递出:"你从未对爱情喜剧、真人秀或体育节目表现出任何兴趣;你愿意尝试一下吗?"这难道不是一种启迪吗?

我们是有感情的人,他们是机器人

如果我们能够安全地分享更多的数据--而不是担心它最终落入谁的手中--是否会有一天,天空电视台开发出一个 "给我一个惊喜 "的选项,以对抗他们的 "我应该看什么 "功能,或者如果我们能够安全地分享更多的数据--而不是担心它最终落入谁的手中--有一个 "我的朋友在看什么 "选项?

我猜想,Facebook已经准备好了所有这些信息,用户发布基于活动和感觉的帖子,概述了从我们在看什么到我们在哪里吃饭,我们去过什么活动,想过要去什么活动,做了什么,不喜欢什么,以及我们在做这些事情时是高兴、悲伤、愤怒还是兴奋。这是一个很大的信息;如果有一个更广泛的竞争领域,我们的建议会有多好?

人工智能和ML将变得多么高效,它们是否会像人类主体一样可预测不可预测?

毫无疑问,人工智能和ML提供的很多东西都是一种礼物。聪明的思考,高效的,节省时间的行动,有效的设计,所以我们甚至没有注意到他们刚刚为我们节省的时间。它只会随着时间的推移而进步和改善;我们掌握在领导这一旅程领域的程序员和设计师的手中。

AI和ML能带我们走多远?只有时间会告诉我们学习算法的效率有多高,这些算法的发展过程通常是在有知觉的人类的发明和好奇心的基础上形成的。

请关注这个空间--或者让你的手机为你观看;我相信当它认为你有兴趣听到这些结果时,会让你知道。

阅读更多

相关帖子

function fullHeightRow() { var fullHeight, offsetTop, element = document.getElementsByClassName('vc_row-o-full-height')[0]; if (element) { fullHeight = window.innerHeight; offsetTop = window.pageYOffset + element.getBoundingClientRect().top; if (offsetTop < fullHeight) { fullHeight = 100 - offsetTop / (fullHeight / 100); element.style.minHeight = fullHeight + 'vh' } } } fullHeightRow();

Anticipatory Design

anticipatory design

What is Anticipatory Design?

Anticipatory Design is a UX design principle that is one step ahead of the user. It uses artificial intelligence to collect data on user habits and preferences with an interface. This data is then leveraged to asses, predict and answer user needs ahead of time.

Its goal is to reduce users cognitive load by making decisions on their behalf, creating an ecosystem where decisions are never made and happen automatically without any input from the user.

Some popular use cases of this are seen with well-known brands such as Netflix (where films/TV shows are recommended to you based on your viewing habits) and Amazon (where products are suggested to you based on what you have bought previously). Spotify has also released a feature that creates a playlist for you based on past listens and preferences. 

Real World Examples of Anticipatory Design

E-commerce: Cook With M&S

This app provides users with a range of recipes (alongside beautiful photography and compelling copy), the app adds value by allowing visitors not only to read the recipe, but also create an editable shopping list of ingredients to purchase from their shop, which adjusts automatically according to how many people you are serving.

M&S AD page

Home Technology : Nest

‘Nest’ is a smart thermostat that learns the heating/cooling habits in the users’ home and automatically adjusts the temperature according to their preferences.

nest ad page

Online : Google Now

Google Now is an intelligent personal assistant developed by Google. It collects user data and it can display cards with personalized, location-aware information, such as calendar events, local weather, news, stock prices, flights, boarding passes, hotel’s, photo spots nearby, and more. It can also tell the user how long it will take you to get home from work, based on current traffic conditions. If Google doesn’t think you need something at the moment, it won’t be displayed.

google now

The Benefits of Anticipatory Design

  • Reduces Cognitive Load – Cognitive load is the mental effort needed by a user to do something. Anticipatory design decreases this effort by reducing or in some cases eliminating the number of decisions the user has to make. The less users have to think about what they need to do to achieve their goal, the more likely it is they will want to achieve it.
  • Simplified User Interfaces –  Fewer choices available on screen means that interfaces can be designed to be, cleaner with less clutter. This should make online user experiences more intuitive.
  • Time Saving – Anticipatory Design ensures that users can find what they need or make decisions faster, saving them time and allowing them to do more.
  • Increase Conversions – Personalized product recommendations on e-commerce sites provide opportunities for sales and in turn create more revenue for organisations

Potential Problems with Anticipatory Design

  • Privacy – The biggest ethical concern surrounding anticipatory design is over data security and privacy. This is due to the fact that a lot of very personal data (e.g. online profiles, messaging and location) is required from users and access to this data may concern some users. User data should be protected and not used in an invasive manner.
  • Restrictions – Algorithms can create a loop of events, actions and activities that can trap users and limit them from discovering new experiences. This has been termed the ‘Experience Bubble’. This can be more of a concern with children who are more easily persuaded.
  • Loss of Control – Users have less control over what they see. Some users may not want this and so being transparent and providing users with the option to opt out of pre-made decisions may be necessary in some cases.
  • Bad Decisions – Human actions are not always predictable. Making a wrong decision for the user can negatively impact user experience which can impact an organisations reputation.

Designing Anticipatory Experiences

Implementing anticipatory design into your product or service requires a combination of machine learning ,data collection and good user experience design.

The advice from Aaron Shapiro, CEO at digital agency Huge and the creator of the term anticipatory design consists of 5 things he feels organisations should keep in mind when thinking about designing anticipated experiences;

  1. Think of your brand as a service: What does it enable its users to do?
  2. Enable your service digitally
  3. Assess what you can do to automate the delivery of your service.
  4. Establish your automated service
  5. Draw a line between what is acceptable decision making and what isn’t.

Once your anticipatory service has been created the following advice can help to optimise your offering.

  • Look to add value to an interaction through automation
  • The context of where automation is offered is key, not just the content
  • Putting in place a contingency when wrong decisions are made can minimise the loss to you and your consumers.
  • Give users some control over what they want to see, implement a feedback mechanism to gain user opinions.
  • Work to establish trust with your users. The users should feel as though they are benefiting from giving away their personal data.
  • Continuously analyse and asses the data collected to help to minimise errors.
  • Carry out user research and testing. Observe what users are inclined to do along the user journey and design the interactions accordingly. Combining this with data mining creates fluid anticipatory experiences.

If you would like to discuss how to test your application contact us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Anticipatory Design & The Future of the UX Industry

ad ux image

Source: WorkingMouse

Anticipatory Design is a design pattern within the field of predicative user experiences. It is formed around 3 elements;

  1. Machine Learning – allows devices to learn from users past behaviours and use it to adjust anticipate on.
  2. The Internet of things (IoT) –  the means of and the context in which anticipatory design operates and is executed in.
  3. User Experience Design – is crucial to deliver seamless anticipating experiences

The development of these new and smarter technologies means that the skills required of UX designers is changing. Anticipatory design is resulting in UX designers getting more involved in areas such as ethical design since a lot of personal data is involved in predictive experiences.

Other forms of user interfaces (e.g. voice interfaces such as Googles’ Alexa) have presented different ways of designing thinking based around personas and conversation design.

A step further from this is being developed in the form of gesture based interactions, requiring even more effortless user inputs.

As anticipatory design forges ahead, where can or should it go next?

We have so much to glean from the provision of simpler choices, better anticipation of our needs, and smarter tools designed to save us time, money—and even better—from stress and frustration.

But what does that mean for the consumers and designers hoping to strike the perfect provision of seamless suggestibility?

Too much choice can indeed be frustrating, yet limiting our choices isn’t always the best bet for a healthy existence either.

Will ML and AI create algorithms that detect when we’re ready for a change?

Let’s go back to Netflix; it’s great that its algorithms help find us more of what we like, but what if you really want or need a change? Familiarity can become, well, too familiar and just a little bit dull. What if you get bored of action movies and fantasy TV series? What if the same type of shows and movies look boring, and there are no standout alternatives to your typical tastes because Netflix has decided for you that they’re just not your cup of tea?

Admittedly, Netflix catalogues are vast enough so that its choices always seem to offer up something we can watch. But out of the thousand options it’s picking from, can it really detect the top choices you’d pick out if you put your brain directly in competition with its algorithms?

“Netflix: show me something I’d never usually watch.”

Should they introduce an option to turn your entire catalogue on its head or to replicate that of a friend or family member’s catalogue, one that features masses of titles you’d love to see yet have never come up in your selection?

What about telling it what mood you’re in and having it decide the right shows and movies sympathetically or empathically? Just like your friends would because they know you and your tastes on an emotional level?

Do we need feedback loops to define when a change in routine is necessary?

SKY Q, the provider’s most hi-tech control system to date, includes many of the automatic decisions discussed, pulling up programs you regularly watch, reminding you of your recordings, automatically recording or downloading future episodes of the programs you’ve chosen, and even a voice-controlled option pushing you to ask, “What should I watch?” that delivers what, indeed, it thinks you’d like to watch.

Wouldn’t it be enlightening if its algorithm delivered, “You’ve never shown any interest in romcoms, reality TV or sport; would you like to give them a try?”

We’re emotional beings—they’re the robots

Will the time come when Sky develops a ‘surprise me’ option to counter their ‘what should I watch’ function, or if we could share more data safely—instead of worrying whose hands it ends up in—have a ‘what are my friends watching’ option?

I would guess that Facebook already has all that information ready to go, with users posting activity- and feeling-based posts outlining everything from what we’re watching to where we’re eating, what events we’ve been to, thought about going to, did and didn’t enjoy, and whether we’re happy, sad, angry or excited to be doing those things. That’s a lot of information; how much better could our suggestions be with a broader range playing field?

How efficient will AI and ML become, and will they ever be as predictably unpredictable as their human subjects?

Without question, so much of what AI and ML provide is a gift. Brilliantly thought-through, efficient, time-saving actions, efficiently designed, so we don’t even notice the time they’ve just saved us. It will only advance and improve in time; we’re in the hands of the programmers and designers who are heading the field of this journey.

How far can AI and ML take us? Only time will tell how efficient the learning algorithms are that develop the processes usually formed off the back of invention and inquisitive nature of a sentient human.

Watch this space—or let your phone watch it for you; I’m sure it’ll let you know the results when it thinks you’d be interested to hear them.

Read More

Related Posts