智能电视如何融入你的多平台战略?

智能电视多平台战略

电子商务的下一个大平台将是智能电视。这一点似乎没有什么疑问--只是它如何以及何时真正起飞的问题。有一种诱惑是,看着当前的技术和市场状况,认为--"它还远没有到来,所以我为什么要担心?

早起的鸟儿有可能抓住多平台的虫子

这是一个可以理解的观点,大多数企业可能确实还不需要急于推出智能电视产品。但从这些领域以往的创新中可以看出,那些拥有多平台战略并考虑到新媒体和新技术的公司,将在这些技术大行其道时更好地加以利用。

智能手机和平板电脑不是唯一的多平台设备

你可能已经有了一个涵盖智能手机和其他手持设备及平板电脑的多平台战略(如果你没有,我们郑重建议你尽快得到一个--请与我们讨论这个问题:0800 0246 247)。然而,T-commerce(电视平台上的电子商务)的长期战略可能需要考虑不同的因素。

T-commerce将是下一个大的多平台步骤

有强有力的证据表明,在观看电视时,使用手持设备和平板电脑的比例极高,多达四分之一的人实际上是在观看电视的同时使用。在这个发展的早期阶段,这表明电子营销商有巨大的机会。但是,用户对电视大屏幕上显示的内容的反应会和他们对智能手机小屏幕的反应一样吗?来自过去其他竞争媒体的证据表明不是这样。电影院总是不得不更加努力地用广告来娱乐和吸引观众,因为人们在那里是为了娱乐,并期望比标准的电视广告更多的东西。

标准的多平台布局在电视屏幕上无法使用

你的标准多平台网站的布局在出现在大屏幕上时可能会显得非常杂乱无章,特别是当观众习惯于看到当代电视节目的简洁线条和高制作价值时。而坐在电视机前的观众可能并不愿意为获得信息或进行购买而努力工作或经历太多操作。他们也会被遥控器的限制所困扰,所以任何能简化过程的东西都可能是有益的。

响应式设计诉电视专用

对于如何进行这项工作,有两种选择;使用响应式设计或开发一个电视专用网站。这两种方法都有优势。响应式设计使用一个多平台代码进行设计和内容管理,自动调整模板以适应媒体。这使得它简单、快速,而且[可能]便宜。

一个针对电视的网站可能需要使用不同的方法进行彻底的重新思考,可能将音频和视频与通常的电子商务元素相结合,并简化互动和订购流程。这很可能是昂贵的,而且在短期内,可能在商业上是不可行的(除非你是在数字市场上,在这种情况下,你的观众和竞争者可能需要一些行动)。最好的策略可能是在短期内采用响应式设计,但在媒介真正起飞的时候,要有一个特定的电视设计方案的计划。

如果你想咨询如何为你的企业构建一个有效的多平台战略 取得联系.

相关帖子

评论 (1)

[...]是以牺牲大屏幕的体验为代价的。虚拟购物正呼唤着在大屏幕上使用,那里的体验可以是完全沉浸式的,我看不出用户体验是[...] 。

留下评论

How does Smart TV fit into your Multi-platform Strategy?

smart tv multiplatform strategy

The next big platform for e-commerce is going to be smart TV. There doesn’t seem to be much doubt about this – it is just a question of how and when it is going to really take off. There is a temptation to look at the current state of the technology and the market and think – ‘well it is nowhere near yet, so why should I worry?’

Early birds might catch the multi-platform worm

That is an understandable viewpoint and it is probably true that most businesses don’t need to be in a great hurry to come up with smart TV offering – yet. But the evidence from previous innovations in these areas would suggest that those companies who have a multiplatform strategy that takes new media and technologies into account will be better placed to take advantage of them when they do come on stream in a big way.

Smartphones and tablets are not the only multiplatform devices

You probably already have a multiplatform strategy that covers smartphones and other handheld devices and tablets (if you don’t, we seriously suggest you get one quickly – talk to us about it on 0800 0246 247). However, a long-term strategy for t-commerce (e-commerce on a TV platform) might need to consider different factors.

T-commerce will be the next big multiplatform step

There is strong evidence that an extremely high proportion of handheld devices and tablets are used when watching TV and as many as a quarter actually used in conjunction with what is being watched. At this early stage of development this indicates a massive opportunity for e-marketers. But will users react to the same content displayed on a large TV screen as they do to the small smartphone display? Evidence from other competing media from the past would suggest not. Cinema always had to work harder to entertain and engage the audience with ads because people were there to be entertained and expected something more than just a standard TV commercial.

Standard multi-platform layouts won’t work on TV screens

The layout of your standard multiplatform site could look very cluttered and random when appearing on the larger screen, especially when viewers are used to seeing the clean lines and high production values that contemporary TV programmes project. And viewers sitting in front of the TV might not be inclined to work very hard or go through too many actions to get information or make a purchase. They will also be encumbered by the limitations of the remote control so anything that simplifies the process is likely to be beneficial.

Responsive design v TV specific

There are two options for how you proceed with this; using responsive design or developing a TV-specific site. There are advantages in both approaches. Responsive design uses one multi- platform code for design and content management, automatically adjusting the template to suit the medium. This makes it simple, quick and [potentially] inexpensive.

A TV-specific site is likely to require a complete rethink using a different approach, probably combining audio and video with the usual e-commerce elements and simplifying the interaction and ordering processes. This is likely to be expensive and, in the short term, probably not commercially viable (unless you are in the digital marketplace, in which case your audience and competition might demand some action). The best strategy might be to go with responsive design for the short-term but with a plan for a specific TV design solution for when the medium really takes off.

If you would like advice on constructing an effective multiplatform strategy for your business get in touch.

Related Posts

Leave a comment