日期选择器多平台设计的最佳实践

多平台设计

日期选择器--多平台设计的最佳实践

你可能不认为像日期选择器这样简单的东西对你的网站来说是一个重要的问题,但是,虽然它通常不是一个破坏者,但如果它太繁琐或不断导致错误,它确实有能力刺激和挫败客户的情绪。而且,如果它确实导致你收集了不准确的信息,你就会有所有随之而来的整理和纠正数据的问题。

那么,这种特殊功能的最佳格式是什么?简单的答案是,如果你要走移动路线,不同的设备有不同的解决方案--即使如此,可能还有一些情况,最好的结果是混合。

多平台设备访问

手机和平板电脑访问网站的盛行无疑使问题复杂化,因为在笔记本电脑或台式机环境下效果很好的东西可能完全不适合手机的小屏幕或触摸屏设备的敏感性。在采用不同的方法时,可用性、空间甚至准确性之间存在着一些冲突。简单地提供一个或多个盒子让用户自己输入日期显然是最简单和最节省空间的,但是对于不熟练的打字员来说是很慢的,而且仍然容易出现输入错误。许多网站提供了这种选择,但为了加快选择速度,他们采用了弹出式日历。然而,在移动设备上,这些弹出式日历可能是有问题的,占用了大量的屏幕,随之而来的精度损失可能意味着捕获不准确的数据,或者用户不得不多次选择,这可能是令人反感的。

使用默认值

默认值是提供日期选择器的另一个大问题。你至少应该为搜索相关的日期输入提供一个默认的当前日期,但同样重要的是,你要在日期选择中定义搜索的参数,否则用户会花很多时间来确定他们可以从什么时候开始搜索到什么时候(也就是说,如果他们觉得有兴趣的话--很可能他们会直接退出这个应用程序)。最有效的方法是提供日历设计,使不可用的日期变灰,从而使它们无法被搜索到。

手机滚动

移动设备上的约会者通常采用滚动式日历,它占用的空间相当小,并提供最大的灵活性和速度。所有日历设施的问题是,如果日期是在过去或未来的一段时间内,它可能需要一段时间来滚动或点击相关的时间段。这一点可以通过提供一个键入工具来避免,该工具会弹出相关的日历屏幕,这样用户就可以检查日期和它所在的一周的哪一天等等。这种机制的一个有用的改进是一个连续滚动的日历,它重叠了几个月,所以你可以从一个月到下一个月查看,而不是单独或甚至并排地查看单个月份。

一如既往,你的选择标准取决于你使用日期选择器的目的和你的目标用户的可能性质。更复杂、更熟练的用户可能会喜欢自己输入信息,而不是搜索和滚动浏览大量的日历屏幕。如果日期选择是你的网站或应用程序的一个重要的(或唯一的)理由,那么重要的是使它尽可能的方便、直观和简单。

我们在这方面和其他许多领域都有丰富的经验。如果你想了解更多关于网站可用性问题的信息或建议,为什么不给我们打一个免费电话08000 246 247或给我们发一封电子邮件,以利用我们广泛的知识呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

function fullHeightRow() { var fullHeight, offsetTop, element = document.getElementsByClassName('vc_row-o-full-height')[0]; if (element) { fullHeight = window.innerHeight; offsetTop = window.pageYOffset + element.getBoundingClientRect().top; if (offsetTop < fullHeight) { fullHeight = 100 - offsetTop / (fullHeight / 100); element.style.minHeight = fullHeight + 'vh' } } } fullHeightRow();

Date Selectors Best Practice for Multiplatform Design

multiplatform design

Date selectors – best practice for multiplatform design

You might not think something as simple as a date-selector could be an important issue for your website but, while it might not usually be a deal-breaker, it does have the capacity to irritate and frustrate clients if it is too cumbersome or continually leads to errors. And, if it does cause you to collect inaccurate information you have all the attendant problems of sorting and correcting the data.

So what is the optimum format for this particular feature? The simple answer is that if you are going mobile, there are different solutions for different devices – and even then there might be circumstances where the best outcome is a hybrid.

Multiplatform device access

The prevalence of mobile and tablet access to websites has, no doubt, complicated the issue as what works perfectly well on a laptop or desktop environment might be wholly unsuitable for the small screen of a mobile or the sensitivity of a touch-screen device. There is something of a conflict between usability, space and even accuracy in employing the different methods. Simply providing a box or boxes for the user to type the date themselves is obviously the simplest and most space efficient but it is slow for the inexpert typist and still prone to input error. Many sites provide this option but with pop-up calendars for speed of selection. However, on mobile devices these pop-ups might be problematic, take up a large amount of the screen and the consequent loss of precision can mean capturing inaccurate data or the user having to select several times which can be off-putting.

Use defaults

Defaults are another big issue in date-selector provision. You should at least provide a default to the current date for search-related date input but it is also important that you define the parameters for search in date selection otherwise the user can spend lots of time trying to establish when they can search from and to (that is, if they feel inclined – most likely they will just quit the app). The most effective way of doing this is to provide calendar designs that grey out the unavailable dates thereby making them inaccessible to search.

Mobile scrolling

Dater-pickers for mobile devices generally employ a scrolling calendar which takes up a reasonably small amount of space and provides the maximum flexibility and speed. The problem with all calendar facilities is that if the date is some time away, either in the past or future, it can take a while to scroll or click through to the relevant time-period. This can be avoided by providing a type-in facility which then brings up the relevant calendar screen so the user can check the date, the day of the week on which it falls and so on. A useful finessing of this mechanism is a continuous scroll calendar that overlaps months so you can view from one to the next rather than viewing individual months separately or even side by side.

As always, the criteria for your choice depends on what you are using the date-selector for and the likely nature of your target users. More sophisticated, proficient users will probably be as happy typing in the information themselves as searching and scrolling through lots of calendar screens. If date selection is an important (or the sole) raison-d’etre for your site or app then it is important to make it as accessible, intuitive and simple as you possibly can.

We have a wealth of experience in this, and many other areas. If you would like more information or advice on any website usability issues, why not tap into our extensive knowledge by giving us a call free on 08000 246 247 or dropping us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment