智能手机--尺寸是否重要?

智能手机的实用性

智能手机--尺寸重要吗?

更大的智能手机和更大的网络浏览屏幕的趋势似乎是该行业目前的方向。在谷歌的带领下,最新一代的智能手机将专注于比以前大得多的设备;例如,iPhone 6的屏幕比之前的机型几乎大了40%,这就是他们的比较优势所在,并试图将其压制在国内。虽然发展手机概念的整个想法是让用户认为智能手机是他们进入网络的自然门户,而不是任何其他设备,但这最新的一步真的是市场所寻找的吗?

这个问题的答案似乎是一个响亮的 "是"--顺带一提,消费者似乎也更喜欢电视和平板电脑的大屏幕。改善用户体验和乐趣似乎是这一举措的主要驱动力,制造商们正在拿起球,疯狂地运行,以满足需求并增加(或至少保持)其市场份额。三星以其Galaxy及其5.1英寸的屏幕开始了这场运动。谷歌现在正通过其新的Nexus设备在这方面推陈出新。Nexus 6智能手机的屏幕几乎有6英寸宽,厚度为10毫米,为用户提供了大大改善的观看电影、图片和文字的体验。增加的深度可以延长电池寿命,快速充电功能可以在15分钟的充电中提供6小时的使用时间。

在目前的美国智能手机市场上,苹果拥有41%的市场份额,如果它不能跟上用户的趋势,那么它的损失就最大。屏幕尺寸被认为是苹果最大的弱点,他们已经开始用最新的iPhone产品解决这个问题。iPhone 6有一个4.5英寸的屏幕,比Nexus小很多,但比以前的苹果设备大了近20%;然而,iPhone 6 Plus的重量为5.5英寸,开始接近谷歌的屏幕尺寸。

对大屏幕智能手机用户行为的一些初步研究表明,如果苹果想跟上需求的步伐,它将需要继续沿着这条路走下去。使用大屏幕智能手机的用户会更多地回到移动应用中,并在其中停留更长时间,当手机拥有大屏幕时,在手机和平板电脑之间切换的用户几乎减少了四分之三。这可能对较小的平板电脑设备产生影响,如iPad Mini 3,苹果在这一细分市场的最新产品。

智能手机市场的主要增长点在东方,亚洲似乎更喜欢大屏幕、更便宜的手机和安卓操作系统。这对苹果来说都是潜在的坏消息。 即使是陷入困境的手机制造商黑莓,其Z30的5英寸屏幕在大屏幕市场的时间也比苹果长。

因此,这一趋势可能会在可预见的未来持续下去,特别是随着东方的需求推动这一特殊功能。显然,在开始侵占迷你平板电脑领域之前,智能手机的屏幕尺寸只能走这么远,所以也许下一个战场将是分辨率、图片质量、色彩和对比度的改进?请继续关注本空间的新闻。

如果你想了解更多关于产品趋势如何影响你的业务的信息和指导,我们在这方面和其他许多领域都有丰富的经验。 为什么不通过拨打08000 246 247免费电话或给我们发送电子邮件来利用我们广泛的知识和专长呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Smartphones – Does Size Matter?

smartphones usability

Smartphones – does size matter?

The trend towards bigger smartphones with larger screens for web viewing seems to be the direction in which the industry is currently heading. Led by Google, who have decided that this is where their comparative advantage lies and are trying to press it home, the latest generation of smartphones is set to focus on considerably bigger devices than the previous; the iPhone 6 screen, for example, is almost 40% larger than the models that preceded it. While the whole idea of the development of the phablet concept was to get users to think of smartphones as their natural gateway to the web rather than any other devices, is this latest step really what the market is looking for?

Well the answer to this appears to be a resounding ‘yes’ – and incidentally consumers also seem to be preferring larger screen on TVs and tablets. Improved user experience and pleasure seem to be the primary drivers for this move and the manufacturers are picking up the ball and running feverishly to meet the demand and increase (or at least maintain) their market share. Samsung started the ball rolling with their Galaxy and its 5.1” screen. Google are now pushing the boundaries in this aspect with their new Nexus devices. The Nexus 6 smartphone has a screen almost 6 inches wide and is 10mm thick providing the user with a much-improved experience in viewing movies, pictures and text. The increased depth enables extended battery life and a quick charge feature offers 6 hours of usage from a 15 minute charge.

With 41% of the current US smartphone market apple has the most to lose if it doesn’t keep up with user trends. Screen size is perceived to be Apple’s biggest weakest and they have started to address the issue with their latest iPhone offerings. The iPhone 6 has a 4.5” screen which is considerably smaller than the Nexus but nearly 20% bigger than previous  Apple devices; however, the iPhone 6 Plus weighs in at 5.5” which is starting to approach the Google screen size.

Some preliminary research into user behaviour on larger screen smartphones suggests that Apple will need to continue along this path if it wants to keep pace with demand. Users with large-screen smartphones come back to a mobile app 38% more and stay in it 10% longer and those who switch between mobile and tablet drops by almost three quarters when the mobile has a large screen. This could have implications for smaller tablet devices like the iPad Mini 3, Apple’s latest product in this segment of the market.

The main growth in the smartphone market is in the east and Asia seems to prefer larger screens, cheaper phones and the android operating system. All potentially bad news for Apple.  Even struggling phonemaker Blackberry has been in the large-screen market longer than Apple with its Z30 5” screen.

So this trend is likely to persist for the foreseeable future, especially as demand from the east pushes this particular feature. Obviously smartphone screen size can only go so far before it starts to encroach on the mini-tablet domain so perhaps the next battleground will be resolution, picture quality, colour and contrast improvement? Keep watching this space for news.

If you would like more information and guidance on how product trends are likely to affect your business, we have a wealth of experience in this, and many other areas.  Why not tap our extensive knowledge and expertise by giving us a call free on 08000 246 247 or dropping us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment