如果网站开始看起来都一样,对用户体验意味着什么?

What does it mean for UX if websites start to look the same

两周前。 研究报告已发表 在独立的新闻和观点来源 "The Conversation "中,证明了网站如何开始看起来相似。这项研究观察了10000个网站的颜色、布局和 "人工智能生成的属性",并得出结论,在2010年和2016年之间,布局差异下降了30%。他们继续追问,符合标准是否健康,并指出从可访问性的角度来看是健康的,因为它可以意味着更接近标准。然而,这可能是用户体验研究和用户体验的坏消息。

人们建立网站已经有相当长的时间了。第一个网络浏览器在 九十年代初 在网络建设的探索阶段,人们尝试了很多不同的东西,有些成功了,有些失败了。这应该持续5年左右,特别是在一个勇敢的新的 "连接 "世界中,最佳实践已经建立,被采纳--这是规范。

如果建立并采用了良好的做法,网站在建设过程中会更多地接触到用户。这是因为有 大量的证据 说让用户参与整个开发周期。

  • 增加了可用的设计选项
  • 降低变革的成本
  • 增强了现场的转换效果
  • 避免了不必要的投资
  • 以及更多...

由于某些原因,在网站和现在的应用程序建设方面,这种情况并没有在整个行业内发生,所以近20年来,我们仍然需要说服人们,让用户参与进来是有价值的。我经常听到有人说 "没关系,我的U-Exer知道如何为用户设计"。但即使是用户体验设计师(UXD)也需要看到用户与他们的作品进行实际的互动,否则 "U "是什么意思?

我对那些表明网站设计越来越相似的数据的担心是,有些人会把它作为另一个不做研究的理由,不使他们的用户参与进来。这将是愚蠢的,而且没有比网络表格设计更好的说明了。

我们几乎知道关于网络表单设计的一切。有书籍、网站、视频--大量的设计资源在解释每一个细节,包括公认的最佳实践。然而,在做研究时,我们仍然经常发现那些没有反映出这些知识基础的表单。

因此,也许所有的网站都变得一样了,但这并不意味着我们在避免犯一直以来的错误。

如果你想了解更多关于用户参与如何帮助改善你的数字产品,请联系 +44(0)800 024624 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

What does it mean for UX if websites start to look the same?

What does it mean for UX if websites start to look the same

Two weeks ago, research was published in ‘The Conversation’, an independent source of news and views, that evidenced how websites are starting to look similar. The research looked at 10,000 websites across colour, layout and “AI-generated attributes” and concluded that between 2010 and 2016 layout differences declined over 30%. They go on to ask whether conformity is healthy noting that it is from an accessibility perspective as it can mean closer conformity with standards. It could, however, be bad news for UX research and for users’ experience.

People have been building websites for quite a long time now. The first web browser in the early nineties kicked of the web building discovery stage when people tried lots of different things, some succeeded and some failed. That should have lasted about 5 years or so, particularly in a brave new “connected” world, and best practices established, adopted – the norm.

Had good practice been established and adopted websites would have undergone more exposure to users during the build process. This is because there is plenty of evidence that says involving users throughout the development cycle:

  • increases the design options available
  • reduces the cost of change
  • enhances conversion when live
  • avoids unnecessary investment
  • and more…

For some reason, where website, and now app, building is concerned, that didn’t happen industry-wide and so nearly 20 years on, we still need to convince people that involving users is of value. I hear often that “it’s OK, my U-Exer knows how to design for users”. But even User Experience Designers (UXD) need to see users actually interacting with their creations otherwise what is the “U” for ?

My fear with data that suggests increasing similarity in website design is that some will use it as another reason not to do research, not to involve their users. That would be foolish and no better illustrated than by web form design.

We know almost everything there is to know about web form design. There are books, websites, videos – design resources galore explaining every detail including well established best practice. And yet, we still find forms that do not reflect this knowledge base on a regular basis when doing research.

So, maybe all websites are becoming the same, but that doesn’t mean we are avoiding making the same mistakes we have always made.

If you would like to know more about how involving your users can help improve your digital product, get in touch on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts