移动无障碍 - 确保你遵守法律规定

移动无障碍法

移动可及性--确保你符合法律规定

地球上近五分之一的人口患有某种公认形式的残疾--其余的大多数人在他们生命中的某个时候都会有某种形式的障碍,即使只是在阅读小字时有困难。

在英国,有关这一问题的法律原则包含在《残疾歧视法》(DDA)中,但对于这些原则在实践中的含义以及网站所有者需要关注的领域没有具体指导。该法案规定,网站不得以任何方式歧视残疾人,也不得阻止他们在网站上做健全人可以做的事情。这基本上意味着,如果盲人或聋哑人不能轻易使用你的网站,他们就受到了歧视,理论上可以对你采取法律行动。

然而,目前只有 证据有限 虽然绝大多数的网站似乎都不符合基本的无障碍原则,但英国的一家公司却因此被起诉。

移动可及性指南

有一种未经测试的观点认为,满足W3C(互联网的管理机构)发布的移动无障碍指南就足以符合法律要求。万维网联盟有三个级别的优先级;第1优先级显然必须满足,甚至是基本的合规。他们列出了一大堆与可见性、可读性、易用性和理解性有关的问题,符合要求的网站需要适应这些问题。第二和第三级别的要求甚至更高。目前还不清楚大多数网站需要达到什么样的水平才是合法的。

这个领域的现实是,大多数网站没有遵守,绝对遵守的成本可能会过高,使许多网站无法生存。像RNIB这样的组织对大公司进行监督,当他们认为他们在网络和移动无障碍方面做得不够好时,就直接与他们接触。这必然导致公司升级到更高的合规水平,我怀疑这主要是为了公关而不是法律原因。没有人希望因为拒绝残疾人访问而被起诉的负面宣传,而且无论如何,使网络更加无障碍是一个值得称赞和值得的目标。

移动无障碍的未来可能性

虽然法律和压力集团在这个问题上似乎非常务实,但这并没有改变一个事实,即有一个法律要求,而且在未来的某个时间,执法可能会变得更加严格。大公司、政府和其他机构组织将被要求遵守。(我曾经和一个政府机构一起工作,他们在无障碍环境方面非常敏锐--压力集团也在确保他们达到标准。)

我看到了这份有用的检查表,确定了网站可访问性的四个相关领域。

  • 可感知性
  • 可操作性
  • 可理解性
  • 稳健性

这至少是一个好的起点。

如果你需要更详细的帮助,了解这对你的网站的机械性能意味着什么。 取得联系 我们将很高兴审查你的网站并建议你需要做什么。

相关帖子

留下评论

Mobile Accessibility – Making sure you comply with the law

mobile accessibility law

Mobile accessibility – making sure you comply with the law

Nearly one in five of the earth’s population suffer from some recognised form of disability – and most of the remainder will have some form of impairment at some time in their life, even if it is only having difficulty reading small text.

The principles of law governing this in the UK are contained in the Disability Discrimination Act (DDA) though there is no specific guidance there as to what they mean in practice nor what areas website owners need to focus on. The Act states that websites must not discriminate against disabled people in any way nor prevent them from doing anything an able bodied person can do on a site. This basically means that if a blind or deaf person, for example, cannot easily use your website, they are being discriminated against and could, theoretically, take legal action against you.

However, there is only limited evidence of a UK company being sued for this though the vast majority of sites don’t seem to comply with even basic accessibility principles.

Mobile accessibility guidelines

There is an untested belief that meeting mobile accessibility guidelines issued by W3C (the governing body for the internet) would be sufficient to comply with legal requirements. The W3C has three levels of priorities; priority 1 apparently has to be met to give even basic compliance. They list a whole raft of issues relating to visibility, readability, ease of use and understanding which a compliant website would need to accommodate. Priority 2 and 3 levels are even more demanding. It is not clear what level most websites would need to pitch at to be legal.

The reality in this area is that most websites don’t comply and the cost of absolute compliance would probably be prohibitive and make many unviable. Organisations such as RNIB police the larger companies and approach them directly when they believe they are not doing enough on web and mobile accessibility for their interest group. This invariably leads to the companies upgrading to a higher compliance level mainly for PR rather than legal reasons, I suspect. No-one wants the negative publicity of being sued for denying access to the disabled and it is a laudable and worthwhile aim to make the web more accessible anyway.

Future possibilities for mobile accessibility

While the law and pressure groups seem to have been remarkably pragmatic about this topic, it doesn’t alter the fact that there is a legal requirement and, at some future time, enforcement might become more stringent. Large companies and government and other institutional organisations will be expected to comply. (I used to work with a government agency who were extremely sharp on accessibility – as were the pressure groups in making sure they kept up to the mark.)

I came across this useful checklist identifying four relevant areas for site accessibility:

  • Perceivability
  • Operability
  • Understandability
  • Robustness

This is at least a good starting point.

If you need more detailed assistance on what this means for the mechanics of your site, get in touch and we’ll be happy to review your site and recommend what you need to do.

Related Posts

Leave a comment