表格的可用性测试

可用性测试表格

为什么表单的可用性很重要?

表格的可用性测试是很重要的,主要有两个原因:首先,如果你费尽心思加入一个表格,你一定希望人们能完成它,这样你就能为你的目的捕获信息;一个表格的可用性越低,用户就越不可能完成。其次,信息只有在准确和相关的情况下才是有用的;如果你的表格对用户不友好,你可能会捕捉到信息,但这些信息的表达方式可能对你的目的没有用处或有益。可用性测试帮助你确定你的表格是否表现良好,以及在哪些方面可以改进。

那么,什么才有可能确保最大的可用性(从而最大限度地完成带有可用数据的表格)?

表格组件

当对一个表格进行可用性测试时,有一些组件可以提高表格的可用性和完成度。这些是

  1. 标签 - 确保字段得到正确的描述和命名,以便用户了解需要输入的内容。
  2. 选择 - 当你需要一个具体的答案时,在选项中加入性别的M/F或头衔的Mr/Mrs/Ms等,可能会有帮助。这样可以加快进程,确保用户准确地提供你所寻求的信息。
  3. 行动 - 当需要采取行动时,如提交表格或转到另一个活动或网站的一部分,可以添加按钮和链接以适应这种情况。
  4. 帮助功能 - 这为用户填写表格提供了帮助,解释了所需的内容或给出了所需信息的例子。
  5. 留言 - 这些帮助用户满足要求或决定他们需要做的确切内容。它还可以告诉他们什么时候输入错误,或者某个答案不合适或无效。

其他提示

在表格的开发和布局中还可以观察到其他一些准则,这些也可以在可用性测试中得到衡量。

  • 请确保 目的 的形式是明确的,以便用户清楚地知道他们在做什么和为什么。
  • 不要要求 你不需要的信息这将使用户感到厌烦,并使他们怀疑你的动机(例如,如果你要求提供电话号码,用户可能会认为他们将被你出售名单的人冷落)。
  • 试着从逻辑上思考用户将如何完成表格,并让这决定你要求的信息以及表格的结构和布局。
  • 了解用户,使你能正确使用 语言和图像学 以最大限度地提高理解和参与。
  • 你感觉到的地方 图像、图片、链接 或其他有助于理解或解释的东西,不要害怕包括它们。如果真的有用,人们会很感激它们,而不会因为它们使表格变长而感到厌烦。

综上所述...

表格是许多网站的一个重要方面,无论它们是协助网站周围的通行,还是协助销售和成交过程,确定什么是适合为用户提供服务或任何其他功能,至关重要的是,它们在工作方式和收集信息方面是方便和准确的。

如果你觉得你的网站上的表格可以表现得更好,无论它们在你看来多么简单,为什么不给我们打个电话:+44(0)800 0246 24,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com联系我们.

相关帖子

留下评论

Usability Testing on Forms

usability testing forms

Why is form usability important?

Usability Testing on forms is important for two major reasons; firstly, if you have bothered to include a form you must want people to complete it so you can capture the information for the purpose you intend; the less usable a form is the less likely users are to complete. Secondly, information is only useful if it is accurate and relevant; if your form is not user-friendly you might capture information but it might not be expressed in a way that is not useful or beneficial to your aim. Usability testing forms helps you determine whether your forms are performing well and where they could be improved.

So, what is likely to ensure maximum usability (and therefore maximum completion of forms with usable data)?

Form Components

When usability testing a form, there are a number of components that will increase form usability and completion. These are:

  1. Labelling – making sure that the fields are correctly described and named so users understand what is required to be input.
  2. Options – when you require a specific answer it can be helpful to include choices such as M/F for sex or Mr/Mrs/Ms etc. for title. This speeds the process up and make sure that the user gives you exactly what you are seeking.
  3. Action – when an action is required, such as submitting the form or moving onto another activity or part of the site buttons and links can be added to accommodate this.
  4. Help Function – this supplies help to the user in filling in the form by explaining what is required or giving examples of the information expected.
  5. Messages – these help the user in meeting the requirements or deciding exactly what they need to do. It can also tell them when they have input incorrectly or where an answer is inappropriate or invalid.

Additional Tips

There are a few other guidelines that can be observed in the development and layout of a form and these can also be gauged in usability testing.

  • Make sure the purpose of the form is clear so that users know exactly what they are doing and why.
  • Don’t ask for information that you don’t need; it will annoy users and make them suspicious of your motives (e.g. if you ask for a phone number users may think they are going to get cold-called by someone you have sold a list to).
  • Try to think logically how users will complete the form and let this dictate the information you request and how the form is structured and laid out.
  • Be aware of the user to enable you to use the right language and iconography to maximise understanding and engagement.
  • Where you feel imagery, pictures, links or anything else that aids understanding or explanation is justified don’t be afraid to include them. If it is genuinely useful people will appreciate them and not be put off if it makes the form longer.

In Summary…

Forms are an important aspect of many websites whether they are assisting passage around the site, aiding the selling and closing process, determining what it is appropriate to serve the user with or any other function, it is vital that they are convenient and accurate in how they work and what information they gather.

If you feel the forms on your site could perform better, however simple they might appear to you,why not give us a ring on +44(0)800 0246 24, or email hello@ux247.com or contact us.

Related Posts

Leave a comment