可用性实验室死了吗?

usability testing lab

有一种诱惑,就是对这个问题简单地说 "是",许多人就是这样做的--但这是一个更复杂的问题,不能轻易地被否定。像技术的许多方面一样,用户测试永远在变化,而且变化的速度似乎随着技术和技术的发展而加快。

用户测试中用户实验室的好处

有强烈的优点和缺点 实验室用户测试.它具有合理的成本效益;你只需支付研究人员和受试者在进行研究和分析时的时间,对于一项具体的任务,你可能只需进行相当少的测试就能得到可核实的结果。另一方面,它是在一个人工环境中进行的,远离了日常生活中的真正压力和干扰,受试者知道对他们的期望是什么,他们正在被观察。所有这些东西都有可能以实质性的方式改变互动和行为。

被测试的方面可以决定技术

在某种程度上,方法论决定了这种技术在网络用户研究中仍然有用。当你在寻找更深层次的、可能是创新的见解时,用户实验室不太可能提供有利于这些意外或不可能的情况的那种互动。毕竟,这是一个受控的环境,而控制并不真正适合不可预测或自发的情况。

人们经营生活的方式以及他们所处的设备、技术、地点和环境的复杂组合,使得我们不可能复制决策的确切情况(甚至不可能有任何近似情况)。在这种类型的环境中,某种背景研究将更加有用。

对用户测试的商业观察可以带来好处

但这并不意味着用户实验室完全没有作用。他们可以给内部开发人员和管理人员提供机会,在特定情况下与用户进行互动和观察,测试具有特定属性的产品和系统,看看它们是否以预期的方式工作。比较测试或特定功能或反应的测试也可以在用户实验室类型的环境中进行,因为参数更加明确和严格。

观察他们的产品是如何被使用的,即使是在一个受控和封闭的环境中,对开发者来说总是有用的。从这种互动中仍然可以得到有效的学习,而且可以用今天的技术相对便宜地完成。 

用户测试的未来:实验室VS老大哥?

随着技术发展到更复杂的互动水平,用户实验室有可能完全过时,并被提供用户行为的亲密细节的隐蔽、非侵入性的监控所取代。听起来有点像1984年?也许是 "同意的大哥"?

目前,用户实验室仍然提供一些用户测试的好处和机会。如果你想讨论什么样的研究可以最好地应用于你的业务情况,为什么不呢? 取得联系.

相关帖子

留下评论

Is the Usability Lab Dead?

usability testing lab

There is a temptation to simply say ‘yes’ to this question and many people are doing just that – but it is a far more complex issue to be so readily dismissed. User testing like so many aspects of technology is forever changing and the rate of change seems to accelerate with the technology and techniques available to undertake it.

User lab benefits in user testing

There are strong pros and cons to lab user testing. It is reasonably cost-effective; you only have to pay for the time of the researcher and the subject while they are conducting and analysing the research and with a specific task you can probably get verifiable results with a fairly small number of tests. On the other hand it is conducted in an artificial environment, away from the real stresses and distractions of everyday life and the subject knows what is expected of them and that they are being observed. All these things can potentially change the interaction and behaviour in a material way.

Aspects being tested can dictate technique

To some extent the methodology dictates where this technique would still be useful in web user research. Where you are looking for deeper and possibly innovatory insights it is unlikely that the user lab will provide the sort of interaction conducive to those unexpected or unlikely situations. It is, after all, a controlled environment and control doesn’t really lend itself to the unpredictable or spontaneous.

The way people run their lives and the complex combinations of devices, techniques, locations and environments in which they operate make it impossible to replicate the exact circumstances of decision-making (or even anything approximating them). Contextual research of some sort will be more useful in this type of environment.

Business observation of user testing can be beneficial

But that doesn’t mean there is no role for the user lab at all. They can give in-house developers and executives the chance to interact with and observe users in particular situations and test out products and systems with specific attributes to see if they work in the manner anticipated. Comparative testing or testing for specific features or reactions can also be handled in a user lab type of environment as the parameters are much more defined and tightly drawn.

It is always useful for developers to observe how their product is used even in a controlled and enclosed environment. There are still valid learnings that can emerge from such interactions and they can be done relatively cheaply with the technology that is available today. 

Future of user testing: lab v Big Brother?

It is possible that as technology develops to even more sophisticated, interactive levels that the user lab will become completely obsolete and replaced by covert, non-intrusive surveillance that provides intimate details about users’ behaviour. Sound a bit like 1984? Big Brother with consent, perhaps?

For the moment the user lab still offers some benefits and opportunities for user testing. If you would like to discuss what sort of research might best be applied to your business situation why not get in touch.

Related Posts

Leave a comment