如何使用热图来改善你的网站的用户体验

热图 帮助跟踪用户在网页上的活动,使用等高线图显示网页上由鼠标指针的位置决定的最频繁和最不频繁访问的地方。

有一些更复杂的分析工具,也可以确定眼睛在页面上被吸引到的位置,尽管这往往是用于不同的目的。这两种类型的技术都可以强调网站可用性的重要问题。

热力图的另外两种变体也可以提供有用的数据,它们是 彩纸地图 和 滚动地图两者都使用与标准热力图类似的信息收集技术,但纸屑图显示的是点击的实际位置,而不是一般的散布情况。这对于了解用户在什么地方(以及为什么)点击某些地方,以及--重要的是--他们在什么时候重复点击一些没有用处的地方,是非常有用的。滚动图显示与热图相同的基本信息,但与用户在页面上滚动的距离有关。这对于确定你可以把重要的材料放在多远的位置,并且仍然可以看到它是很有用的。

热力图测试是比较容易进行和解释的。测试结果以整个页面的彩色光谱呈现,较热的区域(用红色、橙色、黄色表示)显示点击的主要位置,较冷的区域(蓝色/绿色)表示鼠标点击的低流量区域。你可以购买和安装简单的软件,为你进行跟踪,并以可解释的形式制作地图。

那么,与网站可用性有关的热图可以提供哪些有用的见解?

首先,了解用户在页面上的点击位置总是很有用的,因为这可以说明网站上什么是有效的,什么是无效的。当一个元素(例如 "在此购买 "按钮)没有吸引到它可能的点击时,它可能特别有用。你可以看到页面上的其他功能是否在争夺注意力,分散了用户的注意力,或者只是混淆了他们的目标。

其次,热图可以帮助页面的布局和建设,显示出流量和兴趣较高的区域,并突出那些似乎不那么吸引注意力的区域和元素。纸屑热图可以帮助解决更具体的问题,如用户在他们不应该点击的地方点击,或被其他元素或设备所迷惑。同样,滚动热图可以准确识别用户滚动的距离,因此可以帮助定位行动呼吁(CTA)元素或 "现在购买"/"去结帐 "按钮。

热力图也可以区分不同市场群体的行为,例如男性对女性,老年人对年轻人,英语对非英语使用者。你可能会发现,不同的元素对你的特定人群更有吸引力--例如,女性可能更受图像的吸引,而男性则更喜欢金钱或优惠。热度图可以让你很好地了解你网站的哪些方面是有吸引力的,哪些方面是不尽如人意的;它还可以建议采取一些措施来改善那些落后的地方。

热力图可以成为评估网站有效性的一种非常有启示性的技术。如果你想了解更多关于这个过程的信息,为什么不打电话给我们,电话是+44(0)800 024624,或者发电子邮件给我们? hello@ux247.com。

相关帖子

How to use Heatmaps to Improve the UX of Your Website

heatmap helps track user activity on a web page using a contour map indicating the most and least frequently visited places on the page as determined by the position of the mouse pointer.

There are more sophisticated analysis tools that can also determine where the eye is drawn to on the page, though this tends to be used for different purposes. Both types of technique can highlight important issues for usability on a website.

Two other variations on heatmaps which can also provide useful data are confetti maps and scroll maps; both use similar information gathering techniques as the standard heatmap but confetti maps show the actual positions of clicks rather than the general dispersal. This can be useful in seeing where (and perhaps why) users are clicking in certain places and – importantly – when they are repeatedly clicking places that have no useful purpose. Scrollmaps show the same basic information as heatmaps but in relation to how far down a page the user has scrolled. This can be useful in determining how far down you can place important material and still have it seen.

Heatmap tests are relatively easy to conduct and interpret. The findings are presented as a colour spectrum across the page with the warmer areas (denoted by red, orange, yellow) showing where the predominance of clicking is taking place and the cooler areas (blue/green) indicating lower traffic areas for mouse clicks. There is simple software you can buy and install to do the tracking for you and produce the maps in interpretable form.

So what useful insights relating to website usability can heatmaps provide?

Firstly, it is always useful to know where on the page your users are clicking as this gives some indication as to what is working and what isn’t on the site. It can be especially helpful where an element (say a ‘buy here’ button) isn’t attracting the clicks it might. You can see whether other features on the page are, perhaps, fighting for attention and distracting users from their objective or simply confusing the issue for them.

Second, heatmapping can help in the layout and construction of pages, showing areas of higher traffic and interest and highlighting areas and elements that don’t appear to attract as much attention. Confetti heatmapping can help with more specific issues such as users clicking in areas where they are not supposed to or being confused by other elements or devices. Similarly scroll heatmapping can identify exactly how far users are scrolling so can help with positioning of Call to Action (CTA) elements or ‘buy now’/’go to checkout’ buttons.

Heatmapping can also differentiate between the behaviours of different market segments eg male v female, old v young, English v non-English speakers. You might find that different elements are more appealing to specific parts of your population – eg women might be more attracted by imagery but men by money or offers. Heat mapping can give you a good idea of which aspects of your site are attractive and doing their job and which are not; and it can suggest positions or devices to improve the laggards.

Heatmapping can be a very revealing technique for assessing site effectiveness. If you would like to know more about the process , why not ring us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.