多渠道零售体验

多渠道零售体验

多渠道零售体验

多渠道,相对于多平台,零售并不是一个新的概念;它已经存在了相当长的时间--可能从1930年代英国第一批零售商决定生产邮购目录开始(尽管邮购目录本身已经存在了很长时间)。从那时起,也许在此之前,零售商一直在不断寻找新的销售渠道和销售产品的新方法。在互联网出现之前,虽然电视提供了一些实验的机会,但自邮购目录以来,这个领域并没有太多的创新。技术发展速度的提高和万维网的出现改变了一切。

网络不仅提供了一个新的潜在渠道和大量接触新客户的机会;它实际上为零售商提供了一个完整的新世界的可能性,在那里,实体店和与客户的直接、物理接触不再被视为实现销售的必要条件。而且你的客户不需要在同一个城市、地区甚至国家。由于大卖场将实体购物的概念从拥有许多小型专业商店的城镇中心转移到了在一个屋檐下拥有各种商品的城外地点,因此互联网将这一概念完全从实体市场转移开来。

到目前为止,交通一直是单向的,许多著名的品牌,如Littlewoods和Woolworths,在他们的高街业务失败后,只在网上开店。但现在看来,随着亚马逊和Asos等在线零售业的一些大公司考虑在高街开设分店,潮流可能会发生一些变化。越来越多的零售业和房地产分析师相信,这是一个将被其他主要在线零售商效仿的趋势,并可能预示着高街零售业的复活和对多渠道零售的重新关注。

在某种程度上,Argos连锁店在这一领域为我们指明了方向。在目录零售还不流行的时候,阿戈斯是一家目录零售商,但它设法将高街的存在与目录零售的概念结合起来,当互联网开辟了更多的渠道时,又将其与在线相结合。随着互联网的发展和高街商店的减少,它继续管理其业务的三条线,没有对其品牌或业务造成任何明显的重大损害。

这种反革命对某些行业来说可能比其他行业更合适;例如,时尚和高价值的珠宝零售商往往受益于实际查看、处理和佩戴这些物品的能力。说到这里,Argos提供了相当多样化的产品,尽管在他们的高街站点,观看和处理的设施受到限制。

一些分析家认为,这种逆向的重新整合,即所谓的 "点击进入"(clicks to bricks)或 "网络零售"(etail to retail),实际上是该行业的未来,即把实体店面重新整合到在线业务中,为客户提供完整的购物体验。这个概念的基本内容是,买家使用互联网来确定他们想要的商品,然后到高街商店实际查看、尝试和购买产品。其基本前提是,各个渠道相互补充,不存在竞争或分离,因此,从一个渠道订购或购买的商品可以通过另一个渠道领取、退回或交换。希望这能将互联网的便利性和普遍性与高街购物提供的个性和个人乐趣结合起来。

我们在多渠道零售经验和其他许多领域都有丰富的经验。如果你想了解更多关于网站可用性问题的信息或建议,为什么不给我们打一个免费电话0800 0246 247或给我们发一封电子邮件,以利用我们广泛的知识呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Multichannel Retail Experience

multichannel retail experience

Multichannel Retail Experience

Multichannel, as opposed to multiplatform, retailing is not a new concept; it has been around quite a long time – probably from when the first retailers decided to produce mail order catalogues back in the 1930s in Britain (although mail-order catalogues had been around in their own right for a lot longer than this). Since then, and probably before, retailers have been continually looking for fresh outlets and new ways of selling their products. Until the Internet came along there had not been a great many innovations in the field since the mail-order catalogue, although TV had offered some opportunities for experimentation. The rise in pace of technological development and the advent of the World Wide Web changed everything.

The web offered not only a new potential outlet and mass exposure to new customers; it actually held out the possibility of a complete new world for retailers where bricks and mortar stores and direct, physical contact with the customer were no longer seen as essential to making sales. And your customer needn’t be in the same town, area or even country. As the hypermarket had shifted the concept of physical shopping from town centres with lots of small specialist shops to out-of-town locations with a wide range of goods under one roof, so the Internet shifted the concept away from physical marketplaces altogether.

Up till now the traffic had been pretty much one way with many famous names such as Littlewoods and Woolworths becoming online only stores after their high street businesses had failed. But now it seems the tide may be turning a little with some of the big names in online retailing, such as Amazon and Asos, considering opening high street locations. There is a growing conviction among both retail and property analysts that this is a trend that will be followed by other major online retailers and could herald something of a resurrection of high-street retailing and renewed interest in multichannel retail.

To some extent the Argos chain has shown the way in this area. Argos was a catalogue retailer at the time catalogue retailing was not fashionable but managed to combine the concepts of a high-street  presence with catalogue retailing and then with online when the Internet opened up further avenues. It has continued to manage the three strands of its business as the Internet has grown and high-street outlets have dwindled, without any obvious major damage to its brand or business.

This counterrevolution might be more appropriate for some sectors than others; for example fashion and high-value jewellery retailers often benefit from the ability to physically view, handle and wear the items. Having said that Argos offers a pretty diversified range of products, albeit with restricted facilities for viewing and handling in their high-street sites.

Some analysts believe that this inverse reintegration, known as clicks to bricks or etail to retail is actually the future for the sector with the reintegration of physical premises into online businesses to provide the complete shopping experience for customers. The basics of the concept would be something like buyers using the Internet to identify the goods they want but then visiting the high-street outlets to actually view, try and purchase the products. The underlying premise is that the individual channels complement each other and are not in competition or separate so an item ordered or bought from one strand can be collected, returned or exchanged through another. The hope is that this will combine the convenience and universality of the Internet with the individuality and personal pleasure that high-street shopping offers.

We have a wealth of experience in multichannel retail experience, and many other areas. If you would like more information or advice on any website usability issues, why not tap into our extensive knowledge by giving us a call free on 0800 0246 247 or dropping us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment