常见的应用程序导航错误

这是一个简单的实际问题,当网站和应用程序被缩小到移动屏幕尺寸时,就会出现空间、字体、导航等问题。这只是那些不可避免的生活事实之一。但这并不意味着没有办法让用户体验更好--当然,也有很多机会让用户体验更差!"。

在这里,我们看一下应用程序和网站设计师在移动产品上最常见的一些错误,以及你可以做什么来避免这些错误,并使你的产品对用户来说容易和愉快的。

菜单

菜单一直都是具有挑战性的,要把它做好。令人惊讶的是,唯一的问题并不只是试图塞进太多的东西。显然,由于空间的压力,你需要仔细考虑在你的菜单里放什么--而且不能是你在桌面版上的所有内容。

一个优先考虑的过程需要发生,这应该集中在用户发现自己所处的情况--即在一个小屏幕上使用一个应用程序,试图找到他们的方式来实现一个特定的功能或产品。想象一下自己处于他们的位置--什么是最有用的选项来帮助你浏览应用程序?

试着预测他们的情况和需求,并据此进行设计。但是不要缩减太多,因为选项太少或描述词太多,可能和太多一样糟糕。如果用户不知道下一步该怎么走,或者你的选择会把他们带到哪里去,他们很快就会感到沮丧和幻灭。

总有一种选择是使用所谓的汉堡包选项来隐藏菜单,在屏幕的角落里有一个图标表示一个隐藏的列表,但需要进一步点击来查看。人们对此意见分歧很大,但它确实为用户引入了更多的操作和搜索,这有其问题和挫折感。

公约

还有一种诱惑,就是专门为手机设计导航,以至于你放弃了一些适用于正常桌面搜索的既定规范和惯例。你可能会认为,如果你能代表用户缩短、压缩、合并一些操作,你就是在帮助他们--而且,如果你想出一些真正有创意和省时的东西,你可能会长期实现这个目标。

然而,在短期内,你可能只是给那些不理解你为他们提供的或试图实现的东西的用户造成进一步的困惑和沮丧。最好的办法是把创新留到下一次,或者至少逐步引入,并做好背景介绍,这样用户就有更好的理解机会。

地点

用户需要知道他们在一个应用程序中的位置,而这并不总是从上下文中可以看出来。这是一个很好的提示,可以帮助他们识别他们的位置,例如,在菜单上突出他们所处的选项的图标,或者有非常清晰和明显的部分标题或标识。

身体限制

由于屏幕的大小和人们使用手机的方式,有一些物理上的考虑因素可以发挥作用;例如,人们倾向于使用他们的拇指,所以把主要的导航设备放在屏幕的底部是一个好主意,并使它们相当大,这样它们可以更容易地被击中而不会出现错误。可刷卡和全屏导航等设备也可以通过采用更简单和更广泛的手势使用户体验更容易和更方便。

如果你有兴趣了解更多关于如何使你的移动应用程序更方便用户使用的信息 为什么不拨打我们的电话+44(0)800 024624或给我们发电子邮件 hello@ux247.com。

相关帖子

Common App Navigation Mistakes

It is a matter of simple practicalities that when websites and apps are reduced down to mobile screen size there are going to be issues of space, typeface, navigation and so on. It is just one of those inevitable facts of life. But that doesn’t mean there aren’t ways of making the user experience better – and, of course, lots of opportunities for making it worse!

Here we look at some of the most common errors that app and website designers make on mobile products and what you can do to avoid them and make your offering easy and pleasurable for the user.

Menus

Menus have always been challenging to get right. Surprisingly, it is not just trying to cram too much in that is the only problem. Obviously because of the pressure on space you need to consider carefully what to put in your menus – and it can’t be everything you have on the desktop version.

A process of prioritisation needs to happen and this should focus on the situation the uses find themselves in – ie. using an app on a small screen trying to find their way to a particular function or product. Imagine yourself in their position – what would be the most useful options to help you navigate the app?

Try to anticipate their situation and needs and design accordingly. But don’t pare down too much as too few options or bare descriptors can be as bad as too much. If the user can’t work out where to go next or where your selections might take them they can become frustrated and disillusioned pretty quickly.

There is always the alternative to hide the menu using the so-called hamburger option where an icon in the corner of the screen indicates a hidden list but a further click is required to view. Opinions are very divided on this but it does introduce more actions and searching for the user which has its problems and frustrations.

Conventions

There can also be temptation to design your navigation specifically for mobiles to the extent where you dispose of some of the established norms and conventions applied to normal desktop searching. You might believe you are helping the user if you can shorten, condense, combine some actions on their behalf – and, if you come up with something genuinely creative and time-saving, you might achieve this is the long-run.

In the short-term, however, you could just be causing further confusion and frustration for users who don’t understand what it is you are offering them or trying to achieve. It might be best to leave innovation to another time or at least introduce it gradually and well contextualised so there is a better chance of users understanding.

Location

Users need to know where they are in an app and it is not always evident from the context. It is a good tip to help them identify their location by, for example, highlighting the icon of the option they are in on the menu or having very clear and obvious section titles or identifiers.

Physical limitations

Because of the screen size and the way people use their mobiles there are certain physical considerations that can come into play; for example, people tend to use their thumbs so it is a good idea to put main navigational devices at the bottom the screen and make them pretty big so they can be more easily hit without error. Devices such as swipeable cards and full-screen navigation can also make the user experience easier and more accessible by employing simpler and broader gestures.

If you are interested in finding out more about how to make your mobile apps more user friendly why not ring us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts