如何在用户体验设计中使用图标

用户体验设计图标

图标可以是用户体验设计中快速识别功能的非常有用的设备,但是你需要小心你使用的内容和使用方式,因为如果人们不再信任或理解它们,它们会很快变得混乱,甚至成为使用的阻力。

图标可以分为三类。

  1. 通用顾名思义,这些符号是广泛的、容易识别的、明确的;不幸的是,这样的符号非常少(主页符号和搜索的放大镜就是两个明显的例子)。
  2. 独特的 图标是为某一特定地点的特定用途而开发的。虽然不容易辨认,但这些图标有一个好处,即如果广泛使用,游客将很快熟悉其目的和名称。
  3. 矛盾的图标这种情况发生在同一图标在不同的网站上被用于不同的事情。这种类型的例子可能是钢笔图标,它可能意味着给我们写信,或填写一个表格或盒子;反转的箭头可能意味着撤销或返回。

图标可以通过使用描述其作用的文本标签来解释;虽然这在某种程度上违背了目的,但它有助于建立一种关系和联系,如果使用得充分,图标可能会在用户心中得到一些牵引。如果你正在为你网站上的功能设计新的图标,那么你必须记住,在图标和功能之间需要有一些关联,以便人们能够联系和记住;研究其他网站上类似功能的图标总是有用的。如果你能制作一些建议使用的东西,并与用户已经看到使用的其他类型联系起来,那么你的图标就有更大的机会被嵌入。

在将图标纳入你的用户体验设计时,需要考虑的图标的其他重要特征是。

  • 确保目标区域足够大,让人们能够击中;没有什么比多次点击一个按钮,然后最终不得不放大它更令人沮丧的了另外,在图标之间留出足够的空间,这样用户就不会不断地点击错误的图标--这也是另一个不断产生挫败感的原因。
  • 如果你使用文本标签,请确保图标在文本的左边,并且足够接近,以便与文本直接相关,而不是作为一个潜在的替代方案令人困惑。
  • 效果好的图标是简单的,没有很大的细节或修饰,但对代表物的形状和性质有强烈的暗示。
  • 在以前没有接触过的人身上测试你的图标总是值得的。这可以提供很多关于关联性、尺寸、定位、可见度和期望值的信息,并帮助你开发在各个层面都有效的图标。

图标可以成为你的网站用户体验设计的重要资产,特别是当你在有限的空间内工作时,如移动应用程序。如果你想了解更多关于他们的发展和使用,为什么不联系我们呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

ux design icons

Icons can be very useful devices for quick identification of functions in UX design but you need to be careful about what you use and how you use them as they can quickly become confusing and even a deterrent to use if people cease to trust or understand them.

Icons can be classified in three categories;

  1. Universal, which as the name suggests are widely and readily recognisable and unambiguous; unfortunately there are very few of these (the home symbol and the magnifying glass for search being two clear examples).
  2. Unique where an icon has been developed for a particular use on a particular site. While not readily recognisable these do have the benefit that, if used extensively, visitors will quickly become familiar with the purpose and designation.
  3. Conflicting icons; this happens where the same icon is used for different things on different sites. Examples of this type might be the pen icon which could mean write to us, or fill in a form or box; a reversing arrow which might mean undo or go back.

Icons can be explained with the use of text labels describing what they do; while this, to some extent, defeats the purpose it can be helpful in establishing a relationship and association and, if used sufficiently, the icon might get some traction in users minds. If you are designing new icons for functions on your site it is extremely important that you keep in mind that there needs to be some correlation between the icon and function that people can link and remember; it is always useful to research icons for similar functions on other sites. If you can produce something that suggests the use and connects with other types that users have already seen used there is a greater chance of yours becoming embedded.

Other important features of icons to consider when incorporating them into your UX design are:

  • Make sure the target area is big enough for people to hit; there is nothing more frustrating than having multiple stabs at a button and then eventually having to enlarge it anyway! Also leave sufficient space between icons so that users aren’t continually hitting the wrong one – another constant source of frustration.
  • If you do use text labels make sure the icon is to the left of the text and close enough to be directly associated with it and not confusing as a potential alternative.
  • Icons that work well are simple with no great detail or embellishment but a strong suggestion of the shape and  nature of the representative object.
  • It is always worthwhile testing your icons on people who haven’t previously been exposed to them. This can provide a lot of information about relatability, size, positioning, visibility and expectation and help you to develop icons that work on all levels.

Icons can be a great asset in your site’s UX design, especially if you are working with limited space such as with mobile apps. If you would like to learn more about their development and use, why not ring get in touch at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts