增强现实技术的潜在隐患

augmented reality

AR的用户体验问题

我们以前曾研究过以下的巨大潜力 扩增实境 (AR)为高街的零售业务提供了便利 - 但在开发和测试过程中,企业需要对其使用所涉及的风险和主要问题做出考虑。

像所有的新技术一样,AR为那些早期进入市场的人提供了机会,但这也意味着先驱者必须面对挑战,因为他们缺乏经验和信息,不知道该技术如何运作以及在哪里应用最好。

围绕使用AR的主要问题分为四个方面。

  • 技术和使用 - 设备的复杂性和使用的方便性是需要特别注意的两个方面。如果设备难以使用,不能立即解释自己,它的作用,如何操作等,用户很可能会很快放弃它。你没有很长的时间来抓住人们的心,人们通常对他们不熟悉或不理解的东西有抵触情绪。要确保你的技术能鼓励用户拿起它,并帮助他们很容易地解决它的作用和方法。否则,就要为早期淘汰做准备。
  • 满足用户的期望 - 一旦你创造了一个期望,你的技术就必须实现。如果你承诺的是复制现实生活的用户体验,你就必须给他们这样的体验,而不是一个模糊的、不现实的或不恰当的表现。在这一点上失败,可能会对你的业务产生全面的负面影响。扩增必须与产品和环境相关,而不仅仅是一个技术上的噱头,最初可能会吸引人们的注意力,但在真正的、实际的方面并不能帮助用户。它也不应该让用户感到自觉或公开显眼,或要求他们做可能不安全的事情(如戴着面罩走动)。
  • 保持信息的更新和R相关 - 确保通过你的AR提供的数据和体验目前对你的商店和产品范围是准确的,并且在产品和访问技术之间有一个无缝的互动,所以用户不必不断重启他们的手机或调整3D耳机等等。如果顾客花了时间尝试产品,却发现没有他们想要的款式、颜色、尺寸或其他什么东西,他们就不会很宽容了。
  • 以其他方式无法实现的方式增强用户体验 - 这比它最初看起来更重要。如果你的AR仅仅是对用户在自己家里可以使用的东西的改编,或者是对技术的巧妙运用,显得创新和奇特,那么它不会吸引或打动用户很久。消费者在你的商店里--你必须给他们提供他们在其他地方无法得到的用户体验,让他们觉得--"哇,这很有用/很有创意/很准确...... "要有想象力;想想如果你是他们的位置,你会想要什么,并被什么所征服。要有创造性--考虑哪种类型的应用会显示你的产品对客户的最大利益和作用。

AR为零售商提供了一个很好的机会,但它必须是相关的和经过深思熟虑的。如果你有兴趣了解更多关于在零售场所使用增强现实技术的信息,为什么不给我们打个电话:+44(0)800 024624或给我们发个电子邮件? hello@ux247.com。

相关帖子

留下评论

Potential Pitfalls for Augmented Reality

augmented reality

User Experience Issues with AR

We have previously looked at the great potential that Augmented Reality (AR) offers to high street retailing operations – but there are risks and major issues involved with its use that businesses need to make allowance for, in developing and testing.

Like all new technologies, AR offers opportunities for those who get into the market early but this also means that pioneers have to face challenges due to the lack of experience and information on how the technology works and where it is best applied.

The main issues surrounding the use of AR fall under four headings:

  • Technology and Usage – Complexity of equipment and ease of use are two areas that need particular attention. If the kit is difficult to use and doesn’t immediately explain itself, what it does, how to operate it etc it is likely that users will abandon it pretty quickly. You don’t have long to capture hearts and minds on this and people ae generally resistant to things they are not familiar with or don’t understand. Make sure your technology encourages the user to pick it up and try and helps them to work it what it does and how, pretty readily. Otherwise prepare for early obsolescence.
  • Meeting User Expectations – once you have created an expectation your technology has to deliver. If you promise a user experience that replicates real-life you have to give them that and not a blurry, unrealistic or unflattering representation of it. Fail on this and it could have an overall negative impact on your business. The augmentation has to be relevant to the product and environment and not just a technical gimmick that might engage the attention initially but doesn’t help the user in real, practical terms. It also shouldn’t make the user feel self-conscious or publicly conspicuous or require them to do things that might be unsafe (such as walking around wearing a visor).
  • Keeping Information Up-to-date and Relevant – make sure that the data and experiences available through your AR are currently accurate for your store and product range and that there is a seamless interaction between product and access technology so the user doesn’t have to keep rebooting their phone or adjusting a 3D headset and so on. Customers won’t be very tolerant if they have spent time virtually trying products only to find they are not available in the style, colour, size or whatever they are seeking.
  • Enhancing User Experience in ways not otherwise achievable – this is more important than it perhaps first appears. If your AR is just an adaptation of something available to users in their own home or a smart use of technology that appears innovative and whizzy, it won’t engage or impress users for very long. You have the consumer in your store – you have to give them a user experience that they could not get anywhere else and that makes them think – ‘Wow that was useful/creative/accurate…’ Be imaginative; think what you would want, and be won over by, if you were in their place. Be creative – consider what type of application would show your products to the greatest benefit and usefulness to the customer.

AR offers a great opportunity to retailers but it has to be relevant and thought-through. If you are interested in finding out more about using Augmented Reality in a retail location, why not give us a ring on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment