预见性设计与用户体验

user experience

什么是预见性设计?

你可能没有听说过''的说法。预测性设计;'但它已经成为在线环境中的下一个重要步骤。回顾过去,电子和在线信息提供的最初目的是给用户提供更多的选择和有关选项的数据,以促进决策,并确保在尽可能最好和最广泛的信息基础上做出决定。这种做法的一个不幸和意外的后果是大量的信息过载,往往导致决策过程被蒙蔽,错误的决定,甚至决策分析,随之而来。

如果你从你自己的角度来考虑这个问题,如果你花了几个小时来浏览屏幕和屏幕上的选项,为你提供各种各样的产品选择,往往在这个过程结束时,你会感到非常疲劳和沮丧,很可能你只是简单地做出一个决定,只是为了让它结束和完成。在这种情况下,更多的选择和信息并没有带来更多的用户体验和终端产品与用户之间更好的配合。这是很常见的情况,任何试图在网上选择假期或购买西装的人都会证明这一点。

背后的理念 预测性的 设计是为了 通过使用数据减少用户的选择和决策 关于他们的信息,以过滤选项,并为决策者提供一个潜在购买的缩减列表。这个过程的工作原理是,系统实际上预测了用户在面对一系列选择时将做出什么样的决定,然后根据这些选择进行操作。不同的服务显然会以不同的方式工作,这取决于它们是如何编程的以及它们能够挖掘哪些信息来源。

预见性设计的应用

潜在的和现有的 应用 使用预期设计方案的数据来源包括。

  • 旅游预订 - 其中,系统可以搜索你的在线日记,以同步航班、酒店安排等。
  • 网上购买 - 如果你正在购买,例如衣服、美容产品或其他个人物品,该程序可以搜索你以前的购买习惯,以确定诸如尺寸、颜色偏好甚至风格的喜欢和不喜欢,从而提供一个个性化的合适产品列表。
  • 食品产品 - 一个程序可以根据你的饮食偏好或健康问题等,为你订购的产品提供建议或建议补充替代产品。这还可以更进一步,向应用程序提供菜单或膳食偏好,让它分析并建议购买。
  • 导航应用程序 - 在许多情况下,这些应用程序已经使用了预测性设计,它知道你的旅程,并注意沿途的潜在或现有的问题,所以它可以向你提供更好的替代路线。这可以通过其他用户的实时输入来加强,以进一步提高智能和用户体验。

虽然在某种程度上,在通过网络给用户提供了大量的选择和多样性之后,系统现在应该再次寻求将其拿走,这似乎是反直觉的;但从用户体验和技术使用的角度来看,计算机已经收集了大量关于客户的数据。这是磨练、定位和使用这些数据的下一步,以加强和简化购买决策,缓解时间压力和在线搜索的挫折感,以及目前存在的太多的选择。

如果你对你的企业网站或产品的预期设计概念感兴趣,为什么不给我们打个电话:+44(0)800 024624,或给我们发个电子邮件? hello@ux247.com 以探索性地谈论这个概念。

相关帖子

留下评论

Anticipatory Design & User Experience

user experience

What is Anticipatory Design?

You might not have heard the term ‘anticipatory design;’ but it is already  becoming the next big step in the online environment. Looking back, the original purpose of electronic and online information provision was to give users a greater amount of choice and data about the options to facilitate decision-making and ensure that decisions were made on the best and widest variety of information possible. An unfortunate and unintended consequence of this has been a massive information overload, often leading to  the decision process being clouded and bad decisions, or even decision-paralysis, ensuing.

If you think about this from your own point of view, if you have spent hours ploughing through screens and screens of options offering you product choices in all sorts of varieties, often by the end of the process you are so fatigued, frustrated that it is likely you simply make a decision just to get it over and done with. In this instance increased choice and information hasn’t led to an enhanced user experience and better fit between end-product and user. This is quite a common scenario as anyone who has tried to select a holiday or buy a suit online will testify!

The idea behind anticipatory design is to reduce choice and decision-making for the user by using data about them to filter options and provide the decision-maker with a scaled-down list of potential buys. The process works by the system actually anticipating what decision the user would make faced with a series of choices and then proceeding based on those selections. Different services will obviously work in different ways dependent on how they are programmed and what sources of information they are able to mine.

Anticipatory Design Applications

Potential and existing applications using data sources for anticipatory design scenarios include;

  • Travel Bookings – where the system can search your online diary to synchronise for flights, hotel arrangements etc;
  • Online Purchases – if you are buying, for example, clothes, beauty products or other personal items the program can search your previous buying habits to establish such things as size, colour preferences even style likes and dislikes to provide a personalised list of suitable products;
  • Food Products – a program could advise on or suggest complementary of alternative products to those you are ordering based on, for example, dietary preferences or health issues. This could be taken even further by providing the application with menus or meal preferences and letting it analyse and suggest purchases simply from this;
  • Navigation Apps – these already use anticipatory design in many cases where the app knows your journey and looks out for potential or existing problems along the way so it can advise you of better alternative routes. This can be enhanced by live inputs from other users to further improve the intelligence and the user experience.

While it might seem to some degree counter-intuitive that after giving users the great amount of choice and variety via the web that  systems should now be looking to take it away again; but looking at a from the point of view of user experience and use of technology, computers have gathered masses of data about your customers. This is the next step in honing, targeting and using that data to enhance and simplify purchasing decisions and ease the time pressures and frustration of online searching and too much choice that currently exists for many.

If you are interested in the concept of anticipatory design for your business website or products, why not give us a ring on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com for an exploratory chat about the concept.

Related Posts

Leave a comment