为什么你必须在国际用户测试之前进行本地化

international user testing

在进行国际用户测试之前,对你的产品进行本地化。

在进行 国际用户测试 我们经常发现,基本问题会干扰用户体验和研究的质量。即使是同一市场的用户测试实际上也是如此,但对于国际项目,投资往往更大,因此对机会成本的影响也更大。

根据我们的经验,公司在处理国际用户测试时最大的不同是他们把它当作一个大爆炸来做。他们的计划就像他们只做一次研究一样,并试图尽可能多地将其纳入其中。通常情况下,特别是与我们合作时,这并不是因为进行研究的实际成本高于国内市场,而是因为在旅行、离开办公室的时间、时差等方面的额外成本要大得多,以至于感觉像是一件大事。

然而,与所有的用户测试项目一样,在测试资产出现在用户面前之前,准备工作并不总是进入测试资产。即使对于我们在英国的客户的用户测试,我们通常会建议对测试资产进行快速的专家审查,以确定在它出现在用户面前之前可以进行的快速修改。改变可以包括以下内容。

  • 数字 - 特别是在原型中,确保数字相加或对购物篮、产品等有意义是很重要的。
  • 拼写 - 用户会在最小的事情上纠结,错别字会对品牌产生不好的影响,并会在他们的脑海中留下印象
  • 表格和字段--确保最佳实践到位,甚至确保原型符合组织内现有的用户体验管理,这意味着我们不会把已经损坏的 "东西 "放在用户面前。

对于国际项目来说,同样的问题可以在上飞机前通过专家审查来解决,但除此之外,我们建议看一下以下内容。

  • 俗语:确保你已经检查过你在国内市场上使用的术语在目标市场上能被理解。这不仅仅是翻译。几年前,我们有一个项目,客户翻译了 "lucky dip "一词。当我们到达澳门时,我们发现没有人知道什么是幸运DIP。
  • 格式。例如,在美国,24小时的时钟被视为军事时间,不被许多消费者认可。
  • 颜色:颜色在不同国家有不同的含义。确保你使用正确的当地颜色,如果它们支持一个行动--例如CTA上的按钮颜色,将避免测试中的混乱。

上面提到的项目都不是需要研究确定的未知因素。增加几天的参与,让像UX24/7这样的人做基本的本地化工作,将使你的研究投资大大增加。

如果你有兴趣了解更多关于国际用户测试的信息,或者正在进入一个新的市场,想知道你推出的产品是否适合当地的消费者,请立即联系我们,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com联系我们.

相关帖子

留下评论

Why You Must Localise Before International User Testing

international user testing

Localise your product before you conduct international user testing

When carrying out international user testing we often find that basic issues interfere with the user experience and quality of the research. This is true even of same market user testing actually but with international projects the investment is often larger and so the impact on the opportunity cost is greater.

In our experience, the biggest difference for companies when they approach international user testing is they do it as a big bang. They plan as if they will only do the research once and try and fit as much into it as they can. Often, particularly when working with us, that is not because the actual cost of running the research is greater than in the home market, but because the additional costs in terms of travel, time out of the office, jet lag etc are so much greater that it feels like a big deal.

However, as with all user testing projects the preparation doesn’t always go into the test asset before it appears in front of users. Even for our UK clients user testing in the UK we will often recommend a quick expert review of the test asset to identify quick changes that can be made before it goes in front of users. Changes can include the following:

  • Numbers – particularly in prototypes ensuring that numbers add up or make sense for shopping baskets, products etc. is important
  • Spelling – users will get hung up on the smallest thing and typos reflect badly on the brand and can stick in their heads
  • Form and fields – ensuring best practice is in place, or even that the prototype is in line with existing UX governance within the organisation means we are not putting already broken ‘stuff’ in front of users

For international projects the same issues can be sorted out before getting on a plane through an expert review but in addition we suggest looking at the following:

  • Colloquial terms: making sure you have checked that terms you use in your home market are understood in the target market. This is not just translation. Years ago we had a project that had the term “lucky dip” translated by the client. When we arrived in Macau we found that no one knew what a lucky dip was.
  • Formats: such as time can be different. for example in the USA the 24 hour clock is seen as military time and not recognised by many consumers.
  • Colour: colours have different meaning between countries. Making sure you are using the correct local colours if they are supporting an action – such as button colour on a CTA will avoid confusion in testing.

None of the items mentioned above are unknown elements that need to be researched to be identified. Adding a couple of days to the engagement to get someone like UX24/7 to do the basic localisation will make far more of the research investment you are making.

If you are interested in learning more about international user testing or are entering a new market and want to know what you are launching works for the local consumers please contact us today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com or contact us.

Related Posts

Leave a comment