国际网站本土化

international website localisation

网站本地化:你说西红柿,我说西红柿--但我的意思是苹果!

语言和文化可能是有趣的事情。我们都知道格什温的那首歌,强调了英国人和美国人之间的发音差异--他们共用同一种语言(尽管丘吉尔认为我们是被共同语言分开的一个民族!)。

英语已经成为一种通用语言,因此人们很容易认为,网站本地化只是意味着用英语编写所有的网页材料,而且几乎每个人都能理解它。事实是,即使是其他英语国家的人也可能发现一些单词或结构难以理解,甚至可能被某些单词或图像所冒犯。印度人和非洲人--他们中的许多人以英语为主要语言--对于什么是可接受的以及单词、短语和概念的含义和重要性会有非常不同的看法。

网站本地化需要考虑的重要因素是,当你为一个特定的国家或文化设计网站时,你需要了解该文化,并根据其需求和期望进行编写和设计。当我在这里说 "你 "时,我不是指字面上的你。大多数网站的所有者、管理者和设计师都不会对其他国家的传统和惯例有太多的了解--也不应该期望他们了解。为了制作一个与国内版本一样有效的网站,知识的深度和沉浸感必须非常深刻。

网站本地化绝不是简单地把你的网站翻译成字面意思,然后把它留在那里。首先,经常有一些词和短语不能从字面上翻译成其他语言--或者翻译成不同的意思,有时甚至是禁忌或冒犯的性质。我记得20世纪70年代有一个叫Trophy的英国巧克力棒改变了它的名字,因为它听起来太像一个法语的脏话了!我想这是一个很好的例子。你需要关注的不仅仅是语言;不同种族和文化的人被不同的东西所激励和吸引。在西方的环境中,地位、经济上的成功或性吸引可能是强有力的动机,而在许多亚洲国家,诸如友谊、家庭和个人荣誉及诚信等因素会更强烈。任何与性行为(尤其是女性的性行为)直接相关的东西都会被视为禁忌,例如在穆斯林国家会受到严厉的反对。

在翻译和改编网站本地化时,还有一些纯粹的机械问题需要考虑。例如,许多语言翻译成比英语长得多的文字,这必须在你使用的设计中加以考虑。你目前的设计可能会发现,如果文案不合适,就很难应付特殊形状和尺寸的盒子和按钮。如果你必须翻译成不同的字母,如中文、日文或阿拉伯文,这又增加了一个复杂的层面。

如果你弄错了,搜索引擎优化(SEO)是另一个潜在的破坏性领域。你不能只翻译最流行的英语术语,并期望这将适用于所有市场。这是不可能的。不同的文化会使用不同的词汇和术语来寻找你的产品或服务,你需要了解和理解这其中的细微差别,以确保你的搜索引擎优化是有效的。

最后,各国之间存在监管差异,你在一个地区做(或不做)的事情在另一个地区可能在法律上不被接受。这可能包括文化和字面的参考,但也包括金融和航运活动,例如。你将需要确保你的本地化网站不违反任何 法律 或导致用户在不知不觉中违反了当地的法规和守则。

这是一个可能充满陷阱的领域,与不熟悉的地区打交道意味着你不知道你不知道的东西--所以通常最好是找到知道的人。我们与许多海外地区打交道,熟悉这些市场和它们的要求。如果你正在考虑移居海外并 国际用户研究 并希望讨论对你的网站的影响,那么,请与我们联系 关于 +44(0)800 024624 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

International Website Localisation

international website localisation

Website localisation: you say tomato and I say tomato – but I meant apple!

Language and culture can be funny things. We all know the Gershwin song highlighting the differences in pronunciation between the English and Americans – and they share the same tongue (despite Churchill’s opinion that we are one people separated by a common language!).

English has become such a universal language that it is tempting to think that website localisation just means framing all your web material in English and pretty well everyone will understand it. The truth is that even other English-speaking nation’s might find some words or constructions difficult to follow – and could even be offended by certain words or imagery. Indians and Africans – many of whom have English as a primary language – will have very differing views on what is acceptable and the meaning and import of words, phrases and concepts.

The important factor to take on board for website localisation is that when you are designing a website for a particular country or culture you need to understand that culture and write and design to its needs and expectations. When I say ‘you’ here I don’t literally mean you. Most site owners, managers and designers will not know much about other nations’ traditions and conventions – nor should they be expected to. The depth of knowledge and immersion has to be extremely deep in order to produce a site that is anywhere near as effective as the home version.

Website localisation is never simply a question of literally translating your site and leaving it there. To begin with there are often words and phrases that don’t literally translate into other languages – or translate to a different meaning, sometimes even taboo or offensive in nature. I recall a British chocolate bar of the 1970s called Trophy changing its name because it sounded too much like a French swear word! And it is not only language that you need to concern yourself with; people of different races and cultures are motivated and engaged by different things. Whereas status, financial success or sexual attraction might be strong motivators in a westernised environment, elements such as friendship, family and personal honour and integrity will be stronger in many Asian countries. And anything pertaining directly to sexuality (especially female sexuality) will be considered taboo and severely frowned upon in Muslim countries, for example.

There are also purely mechanical issues to consider when translating and adapting for website localisation. For example many languages translate into much longer text than English and this has to be accommodated within the design you use. Your current design might find it difficult to cope with boxes and buttons of particular shapes and sizes if the copy doesn’t fit. And if you have to translate into different alphabets such as Chinese, Japanese or Arabic this adds just another complicating dimension.

Search engine optimisation (SEO) is another potentially damaging area if you get it wrong. You cannot just translate the most popular English terms and expect that this will serve for all markets. It won’t. Different cultures will use different words and terms to look for your product or service and you need to understand and appreciate the nuances of this to ensure your SEO is effective.

Finally there are regulatory differences between countries and something that you do (or don’t do) in one area might not be legally acceptable in another. This can include cultural and literal references but also financial and shipping activities, for example. You will need to make sure your localised website doesn’t break any laws or cause users to unwittingly transgress their local statutes and codes.

This is an area that can be fraught with pitfalls and dealing with unfamiliar areas means you don’t know what you don’t know – so it is usually best to find someone who does. We deal with many overseas locations and are familiar with the markets and their requirements. If you are considering a move overseas and international user research and would like to discuss the implications for your website, then please, get in touch on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment