国际用户研究 - 国家差异

international user research

国际用户研究和国家之间的差异

了解到不同国家有不同的文化、习俗、惯例、期望、法律、宗教等,任何人都不会感到惊讶--这通常适用于民族国家内部以及民族国家之间。任何 国际用户研究 你所做的工作将需要考虑到这些差异,并在构建战略--以及支持这些战略的研究--时明确关注这一信息。

你需要确定的第一件事是你的市场在哪里。瞄准和调查世界上较大的城市或首都比较容易,但它们不一定能代表整个国家的情况。现在,你的产品可能是针对社会上较富裕的人群或某一特定部门或行业;因此,你将寻求研究这些特征占主导地位的地区。

类似的考虑也适用于法律限制。你将需要确定你的产品或服务所针对的国家的法律是什么。一些国家(例如中国)使许多西方的合法企业很难在他们的市场上站稳脚跟。一些反对意见可能是文化或道德方面的,但有时这只是一个通过立法手段保护本国产业免受外国竞争的问题。在投入任何资金进行更详细的研究之前,请检查哪些法律问题可能影响你,以及市场对外部交易者的适应性如何。

技术是规划国际用户研究的另一个重要因素,以期发展到海外市场。并非所有地方都具有与大多数西方国家相同的技术先进性和接入水平。互联网的速度可能很慢,移动通信的覆盖范围充其量是3G,设备可能过时且不可靠;你需要确定技术水平,以及它可能如何影响你为该地区计划的任何活动。

地理和当地因素,如时差和当地假期,也会对你的研究产生深远影响。试想一下,如果你选择一个相当于当地银行假日的时间来进行调查,这时每个人都不上班,也许不在家;你不可能得到很多答复。同样,时差也是如此;对你来说,最方便的时间可能是你所选择的市场中的半夜。还有一些问题,如西班牙裔国家的午睡或穆斯林地区的祈祷。

文化和宗教习俗对于制定有效和有针对性的研究也是至关重要的。如果你不了解一些国家的风俗习惯,就很容易冒犯他们。许多在西方看来完全无伤大雅的事情,在其他国家却是完全被禁止的,例如,在许多阿拉伯国家,女性的肉体被暴露在外;在印度和世界其他地区,围绕特定动物的禁忌;非专业人士不可能知道的特定颜色或词语的内涵。潜在的领域太多了,更不用说具体的例子了--但这确实说明了在构建、进行和解释国际用户体验研究时,当地知识的重要性。

关于研究战略的更多信息,请查阅我们的报告,其中包括 国际用户研究.

如果您想讨论任何特定的海外市场--或者只是一般地讨论国际用户体验研究--为什么不给我们打电话,+44(0)800 0246 247,或者发电子邮件 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

International User Research – Country Differences

international user research

International user research and the differences between countries

It won’t come as a surprise to anyone to learn that different countries have different cultures, customs, conventions, expectations, law, religions and so on – and this often applies within nation states as well as between them. Any international user research that you undertake will need to take these differences into consideration and constructs strategies – and research that supports the strategies – with this information clearly in focus.

The first thing you need to establish is where your market is. It is easier to target and survey the larger or capital cities of the world but they are not necessarily representative of the country as a whole. Now it might be that your product is aimed at the more affluent elements of society or a particular sector or industry; so you will be looking to research areas where these characteristics predominate.

Similar considerations apply to legal constraints. You will need to establish what the laws are in the country you are targeting in relation to your product or service. Some countries (China, for example) make it quite difficult for many legitimate enterprises in the west to gain a foothold in their market. Some of the objections might be cultural or moral but sometimes it is just a question of protecting home industry from foreign competition by legislative means. Check out what legal issues might affect you and how amenable the market is to external traders before investing any money in more detailed research.

Technology is another important factor in planning international user research with a view to developing into an overseas marketplace. Not everywhere has the same levels of technical sophistication and access as most western countries. Internet speed might be slow, mobile coverage could be 3G at best, equipment might by outdated and unreliable; you need to establish the level of technology and how it might affect any activities you plan for that region.

Geographical and local factors such as time differences and local holidays can also have a profound effect on your research. Imagine if you pick the equivalent a local bank holiday when everyone is off work and perhaps away from home to conduct your survey; you would not be likely to get many respondents. Similarly with time differences; the most convenient time for you might be the middle of the night in your chosen market. And there are issues like siesta in Hispanic countries or prayers in Muslim regions.

Cultural and religious mores can also be critical in framing effective and focused research. It is easy to give offence in some countries if you don’t understand the customs and many things that would appear completely inoffensive in the west are totally forbidden in other countries e.g. exposed female flesh in many Arab countries, taboos around particular animals in India and other parts of the world, connotations of particular colours or words which a non-specialist could not know about. There are far too many potential areas, let alone specific examples to cover – but it does illustrate the importance of local knowledge in constructing, conducting and interpreting international UX research.

For more information on research strategies go to our report on International user research.

If you would like to discuss any specific overseas market – or just talk about international UX research generally – why not give us a call on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment