函数 fullHeightRow() { var fullHeight, offsetTop, element = document.getElementsByClassName('vc_row-o-full-height')[0]; 如果(元素) { fullHeight = window.innerHeight; offsetTop = window.pageYOffset + element.getBoundingClientRect().top。 如果(offsetTop < fullHeight) { fullHeight = 100 - offsetTop / (fullHeight / 100); element.style.minHeight = fullHeight + 'vh' 。 } } } fullHeightRow();

纽约的用户研究

在UX24/7,我们进行了大量的 国际用户体验研究.随着时间的推移,随着我们在更多的国家工作,我们继续了解更多关于文化的差异和协调新地区的用户体验项目。

这激发了我们最新的博客系列,我们的团队在其中分享了他们在世界不同国家开展用户研究的经验。

user research New York

纽约的可用性测试--与伦敦的5个区别

每个企业都想打入美国市场--为什么不呢?就货币而言,它仍然是世界上最大的市场,并为任何能够渗透它的人提供巨大的潜力,即使是在有限的程度上。纽约是许多商业、金融和创业活动的焦点,许多业务将向中心地区倾斜,至少在最初。

因此,如果你的目标是美国市场,你很可能发现自己想在大苹果公司对你的产品、网站或应用程序进行用户测试。这只是一个将你的英国程序移植到美国市场的问题吗?毕竟,他们说着同样的语言,有着类似的习俗和期望,生活水平、产品选择和知识等大致相当。 因此,它不应该是一个太大的变化,不是吗?嗯,是,也不是。

我们已经做了 可用性测试 最近在纽约,我再次经历了与英国的程序和惯例的一些差异。说实话,这些差异并不严重,与在印度或中国测试时面临的文化差异和潜在问题完全不同。然而,我们认为与你分享这些问题是有用的;正如我们不断强调的那样,在这些情况下,准备工作是最重要的,而且你不希望意外的费用从树林中跳出来,大大吞噬你的预算。

user research new york

以下是我们学到的五件事,如果你计划在美国进行可用性测试,你可能会觉得很有用。

  1. 你可能不会惊讶,在美国,一切都要收费。例如,我们经常带着自己的笔记本电脑到一个测试设施,但要借用鼠标、键盘和显示器。在英国,这通常是免费的,但在美国,这是按天收费的--所以要确保你带上所有你需要的设备。
  2. 对参与者的奖励较高--在$125左右,而英国则是40英镑。而且奖励不是像英国那样用现金支付,而是用Visa礼品支付,这意味着当你预订一个设施时,你必须预先支付奖励,而不是带着现金,在当天交出。
  3. 一般来说,招聘成本会高一些,所以你最终可能会在每个参与者身上多支付20%左右的费用。
  4. 由于这里是美国,你可以期待一切都会变得更大更好。事实上也是如此。纽约有更多的设施,为研究人员提供了更多的选择,而且这些设施平均来说要大得多,有多个房间和大型观察室。
  5. 餐饮业的成本是非常高的。在这种情况下,预先了解一下情况可以为你节省尴尬或金钱--或者两者都是。例如,如果你向你的客户提供了预算建议,并且他们已经签字同意,然后出现了10个额外的观察员,你可能会面临数百美元的额外账单(而不是像英国那样多了几个三明治和香肠卷)。因此,要么确定数字,要么让你的客户知道,预算只包括名义上的茶点,任何额外的东西都要额外支付。

当然,在进行可用性测试时,还有其他一些事情需要注意,如不同的用词、拼写、技术和品牌名称--但这是另一个领域的问题。

请在下面留言分享您的经验,我们很想听听。

我们在为英国和美国的测试方面拥有丰富的经验。 国际市场.如果你想了解更多关于网站可用性问题的信息或建议,为什么不利用我们广泛的知识,免费给我们打电话? +44(0)800 024624 或向我们发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

评论 (1)

[...] 阅读更多。美国的用户研究 [...] 。

留下评论

User Research in New York

Here at UX24/7, we carry out a large amount of international UX research. Over time, as we work in more countries, we continue to learn more about the differences in culture and coordinating UX projects in new territories.

This has inspired our latest blog series in which our team share their experiences of carrying out user research in various countries around the world.

user research New York

Usability testing in New York – 5 differences to London

Every business wants to break into the American market – and why not? It is still the biggest in the world in monetary terms and offers massive potential to anyone able to penetrate it, even to a limited degree. New York is the focus of a lot of commercial, financial and entrepreneurial activity and a lot of business will gravitate towards the centre, at least initially.

So, if you are targeting the US market, you might well find yourself wanting to user test your product, website or app in the Big Apple. Will it just be a question of transplanting your UK process to the American marketplace? After all, they speak the same language, have similar customs and expectations, approximately equivalent standards of living, product choice and knowledge and so on.  So it shouldn’t be too big a change, should it? Well, yes and no.

We have done usability testing in New York recently and once again experienced some differences to the procedures and conventions in the UK. To be honest, they are not that major and nothing like the cultural differences and potential problems faced when testing in say India or China. Still, we thought it would be useful to share them with you; as we have continually stressed, preparation is all in these situations plus you don’t want unexpected costs jumping out of the woodwork and significantly eating up your budget.

user research new york

Here are five things we learnt that you might find useful if you are planning usability testing in the US.

  1. You might not be surprised to hear that in the US everything is charged for. For example, we often bring our own laptop to a test facility but borrow a mouse, keyboard and monitor. In the UK this is usually done on a complimentary basis but in the US it is charged for per day – so make sure you take all the equipment you need.
  2. Incentives to participants are higher – in the order of $125 vs £40 for the UK. And they are not paid in cash as in the UK but with Visa gifts which means that when you book a facility you have to pay upfront for the incentives rather than take cash with you and hand it over on the day.
  3. Generally recruitment costs are a little higher so you will probably end up paying around 20% more per participant
  4. As this is the USA you can expect everything to be bigger and better. And it actually is. There are significantly more facilities available in New York affording greater choice for researchers and the facilities are, on average, much larger with multiple rooms and big viewing rooms
  5. Catering costs are phenomenally high. This is where a bit of foreknowledge can save you embarrassment or money – or both. For example, if you have provided your client with a budget proposal and they have signed it off and then turn up with 10 additional observers, you could be facing an extra bill of hundreds of dollars (and not a few extra sandwiches and sausage rolls as in the UK). So either establish firm numbers or make your client aware that the budget only includes nominal refreshments and anything additional will be an extra.

Of course there are other things to look out for when running usability testing like different word usages, spellings, technical and brand names – but that is a whole other area for another time.

Leave a comment below sharing your experiences, we would love to hear them.

We have a wealth of experience in testing for UK and international markets. If you would like more information or advice on any website usability issues, why not tap into our extensive knowledge by giving us a call free on +44(0)800 024624 or dropping us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment