用外语进行用户测试的视频

利用外国语言的用户测试视频

用户测试的关键成果之一是画中画视频,它捕捉到的是 参与者 和屏幕互动的研究会议。但是,如果主持人和参与者都用外语讲话,你该怎么办呢?在我们的项目中,这种情况经常发生,所以这里是我们如何解决这个问题的。

一般来说,如果你在不同的国家和不同的语言的研究机构中观看用户测试,我们会提供一名翻译,实时转述研究室中所说的内容,这就是同声翻译。这一点很关键(如果你不想花更多的钱去做视频配音),因为这是你需要添加到正在拍摄的视频中的评论。而有几种方法可以做到这一点。

拍摄的视频将包括主持人和参与者的音频资料。你要保留这个,以备以后需要参考,听听到底说了什么。翻译是好的,但他们可能很难跟上,所以一些细微的地方可能会丢失。如果你认为你以后可能需要检查实际说了什么,把视频保存为不同的版本或在视频编辑软件中的项目。

大多数视频编辑软件将允许你删除音频,并以另一种方式取代它,虽然我建议在删除旧的音频文件之前添加新的音频文件。即使是基本的windows movie maker也允许你这样做,因此从翻译器中添加音频文件是一个相对简单的工作。然而,视频是一个有点困难的工作,所以你可能会发现你的电脑崩溃,如果它不够强大,所以我建议使用你所拥有的最强大的机器。

现在的挑战是时间戳。你需要确保你添加的音频文件与用户测试的视频同步。鉴于它们是不同的语言,如果你把原件留在那里,你很可能不知道如何同步。这就是快门板可以帮助的地方--就像电影中使用的那样。每次会议开始时,在研究室创建一个倒计时并触发声音,这将被所有的音源所接收。然后你可以用它来使音频与视频同步。很简单!

如果你有兴趣了解更多关于国际用户测试的信息,或者正在进入一个新的市场,想知道你推出的产品是否适合当地消费者,请联系我们,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com联系我们.

相关帖子

留下评论

Videos from User Testing in a Foreign Language

Making use of videos from user testing in a foreign Language

One of the key deliverables from user testing is the picture in picture videos that capture the participant and screen interactions during the study session. But what do you do if they moderator and participant are both speaking in a foreign language? This happens quite a bit in projects we run so here is how we get around it.

Generally in the situation where you are viewing user testing in a research facility in a different country and a different language we would provide a translator to relate what is being said in the research room in real time – this is simultaneous translation. This is crucial (if you don’t want to spend more money having the video overdubbed) because it is the commentary you need to add to the videos that are being captured. And there are a couple of ways of doing this.

The video captured will include the audio feed with the moderator and participant. You want to keep this just in case you need to refer to it later and hear what was actually said. Translators are good but they can struggle to keep up and so some of the finer points and nuances may be lost. If you think you might need to check what was actually said later, save the video as a different version or project in your video editing software.

Most video editing software will allow you to remove the audio and replace it with another, although I recommend adding the new audio file before removing the old. Even the basic windows movie maker will allow you to do this and so it is a relatively simple job to add the audio file from the translator. However, video is a bit difficult to work with and so you may find your pc crashes if it isn’t powerful enough so I recommend using the most powerful machine you have at your disposal.

The challenge now is time stamping. You need to make sure that the audio file you have added is in sync with the user testing video. Given they are in different languages, if you have left the original in that is, you may well not know how to sync it. This is where a shutter board can help – like the use in the movies. Create a count down and trigger sound in the research room each time a session begins and this will be picked up on all audio sources. You can then use this to synchronise the audio to the video. Simples!

If you are interested in learning more about international user testing or are entering a new market and want to know what you are launching works for the local consumers please contact us on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com or contact us.

Related Posts

Leave a comment