项目经验 - 在中国进行可用性测试

usability testing china

中国北京的可用性测试

上周星期一,我从北京飞回来,之前我为一个即将进入中国市场的新零售客户进行了两天的可用性测试。和往常一样,在进行这种类型的研究时,我们可以收集到很多迷人的见解,我想我可以分享一些,再加上一些关于当地购买行为和运行这种类型项目的后勤问题的更新。

值得提醒的是,来自英国和欧洲的用户体验人员,中国的时差是很大的。我从英国飞来,在进行可用性测试的前一天晚上降落,当我在晚上11点左右睡觉的时候,英国时间是早上6点。时差影响注意力的最低点是在下午2点左右--当然是在午饭后,那时一切都在密谋着让你睡觉。在下午的大部分时间里,客户和我都是站着的,所以值得带上舒适的鞋子。

另一个注意力集中的方面是,除非你能说流利的普通话,否则你会像我一样,通过翻译来听可用性测试会议。尽管他们可以做得很好,(我们每天都有不同的翻译,而且都很出色),但当同一个声音和相对单调的对话双方都在说话时,就会失去一些东西。集中注意力是很重要的,因为语言上的细微差别会让你认为是来自一个人的关心,而实际上是另一个人在说话。由于同声传译器不是即时的,所以即使我们设置了多个摄像头来捕捉智能手机屏幕、手部动作和面部表情,有时我们听到的内容也与当前的互动无关。

我很快会写更多关于这个项目的其他方面,但在我走之前,最后一点是给那些喜欢在观察室度过的日子里啃一些零星的饼干和甜食的人(我们)的。正如照片中所示,中国提供的食物与我们在欧洲和美国研究机构中所习惯的不同。尽管如此,在午餐时间,我们几乎要用身体来限制他们为我们点汉堡和披萨。我们想尝试一下当地的食物,而我们的主人对我们没有达到西方人的刻板印象感到非常惊讶。

img_2719

我们得到了很好的照顾,他们为我们做了很多事情,你应该期望在中国的任何研究机构得到良好的服务--当然,我去过的所有研究机构都很好。设施本身的质量无法与英国和美国的设施相提并论,但它们一般都很实用,所有东西都能正常工作,即使是厕所设施有点像未知的航行。

如果你想在中国或其他外部市场进行任何国际可用性测试,并希望得到一些帮助或服务支持,请立即与我们联系,电话是 +44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com.我们在单个或多个国家进行国际可用性测试研究方面有丰富的经验,并愿意帮助你。

相关帖子

评论 (1)

[...]我在上一篇文章中说,我将与大家分享一些更多的提醒,以及从我们最近的可用性测试中学习到的东西 [...] 。

留下评论

Project Experience – Usability Testing in China

usability testing china

Usability Testing in Beijing, China

On Monday last week I flew back from Beijing following two days of usability testing for a new retail client who is entering the Chinese market. As always there are fascinating insights to be gathered when conducting this type of research and I thought I’d share some plus an update on some local buying behaviours and logistical issues with running this type of project.

It is worth reminding UX’ers from the UK and Europe that the time difference in China is significant. I flew from the UK and landed the night before the usability testing took place and as I went to bed at around 11pm it was 6am UK time. The low point at which the time difference seemed to hamper attention spans was around 2 in the afternoon – after lunch of course, when everything seems to conspire to send you off to sleep. Both the client and I were standing for most of the afternoons sessions so worth packing comfortable shoes!

Another attention span aspect is that unless you speak fluent Mandarin you will, like me, be listening to the usability testing sessions through a translator. As good as they can be, (we had a different one each day and both were excellent)  there is something lost when the same voice and relative monotone is talking both sides of the conversation. It is important to concentrate because the subtle differences in language can leave you believing points care coming from one person when actually it is the other that is speaking. There is also a lag behind activity because the simultaneous translator is not instantaneous and so even though we had multiple cameras set up capturing smartphone screen, hand movements and facial expressions sometime what we were hearing didn’t relate to the current interaction.

I’ll write more about other aspects of the project soon but before I go the final point is for those of you [us] that like to nibble on the odd biscuit and sweet during days spent in the viewing room. As shown in the photo the treats put out in China are different to what we are used to in European and US research facilities. With that said, at lunchtime we had to almost physically restrain them from ordering burgers and pizza for us. We wanted to try local food and our hosts were very surprised that we didn’t live up to the western stereotype.

img_2719

We were looked after very well and they couldn’t do enough for us and you should expect good service in any research facility in China – certainly all that I have been to have been excellent. The quality of the facility itself doesn’t stack up against UK and US facilities but they are generally functional and everything normally works, even if the toilet facilities are a bit of a voyage into the unknown.

If you are looking to carry out any international usability testing in China or any other external market and would like some help or services support please contact us today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com. We have a wealth of experience in running international usability testing research in single or multiple countries and would love to help you.

Related Posts

Leave a comment