国际用户研究--选择正确的方法

international ux methodology

为国际用户研究选择正确的方法

有一些方法可以用来进行 国际用户研究.你决定使用哪种方法将取决于你正在调查的市场,你试图从这个世界上建立什么,你有什么样的预算可用于研究,以及你有什么样的资源(包括内部和外部)来实现这一目标,例如,如果没有人在当地可以为你运行它,构建一个精心设计的技术调查是没有意义的。

可用的方法是。

专家点评

这是由当地专家根据已知的当地市场测试你的产品。 特质和偏好。这样做的好处是,在进行评估时,既有专家的眼光,又有当地的视角。这也是审查产品或网站的一种相对便宜的方式。

基于实验室的定性研究

这种技术涉及到用户与产品的直接互动,并提供关于哪些是有效的,哪些是无效的即时反馈和情报。有不同的方法来实现这一点,从可用性测试到情景访谈和焦点小组。这种方法确实需要你在你所测试的地点进行实地考察,并且要有当地的设施和可能的当地专家来协助这一过程。这可能会变成一个相当昂贵的活动,所以只有在你有必要的预算并且处于相对先进的发展状态下才可以使用。

定性远程研究(有节制

这种方法可以提供上述方法的一些好处,而没有很多成本和困难。它涉及到通过远程互联网连接进行用户研究,并通过这种媒介收集可能获得的数据和反馈。有主持的版本还包括在客户端有一个主持人,在会议进行过程中指导、帮助、询问和观察。Webex、Skype和GoToMeeting等网络研讨会服务可以促进这种类型的国际用户体验研究。显然,这里有一个权衡,在用户端可能会有技术问题,以及语言和文化障碍,但这些都可以通过使用当地的组织者来主持采访来解决。

定性远程研究(无主持的)。

无主持的技术涉及与上述相同的操作,但没有任何直接干预,所以参与者只是按照练习上的脚本或计算机指令的提示执行任务。他们的按键、互动、鼠标动作,有时还有音频反馈,都可以被收集起来供以后分析。这里极为重要的是,技术和脚本要绝对精确,因为如果参与者误解了,整个测试就会无效,你的钱就会被浪费掉。

定量在线研究

定量的在线国际用户体验研究使用与定性研究相同的技术,但更侧重于收集关于网站如何运作的硬数据,哪些方面是顺畅和透明的,哪些是笨拙的,纳入网站的设备是否按照预期完成销售、推荐、增加导航或通读等工作。

综合方法

如果你的预算和项目证明了这一点,你可以考虑使用所有的主要方法,对问题产生一个全面的、完整的观点。专家评审可以为定性研究提供基础,然后可以对结果进行定量测试。

关于研究策略的更多信息,请访问我们的 关于国际用户研究的报告.

无论你的问题是什么--无论你的预算是多少--在进行国际用户体验研究之前,一定要把基本原则搞清楚。如果你想获得任何方面的建议,为什么不联系我们进行非正式的讨论,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

International user research – selecting the right methodology

international ux methodology

Selecting the right methodology for international user research

There are a number of methodologies available for undertaking international user research. Which you determine to use will be dependent on the market you are surveying, what you are trying to establish from this universe, what sort of budget you have available for the research and what resources (both internal and external) you have at your disposal to make this happen eg there is no point in constructing an elaborate technical survey if there is no-one on the ground who can run it for you.

The methodologies available are:

Expert review

This is where a local expert tests your product against known local market traits and preferences. This has the advantage of having both expert eyes and a local perspective in making an assessment. It is also a relatively cheap way of reviewing a product or site.

Qualitative lab-based research

This technique involves users interacting directly with the product and providing immediate feedback and intelligence about what works and what doesn’t. There are different ways of achieving this from usability tests to contextual interviews and focus groups. This method does require you to be on the ground in the location you are testing and to have available local facilities and probably local expertise to assist in the process. This can turn into quite an expensive activity so should only be used if you have the necessary budget and are in a relatively advanced state of development.

Qualitative remote research (moderated)

This option can provide some of the benefits of the above method without a lot of the cost and difficulties. It involves undertaking user research via a remote internet connection and collecting what data and feedback it is possible to gain through this medium. The moderated version also involves a moderator at the client end directing, helping, interrogating and observing the sessions as they progress. Webinar services such as Webex, Skype and GoToMeeting can facilitate this type of international UX research. Obviously there is a trade-off here in that there can be technical issues at the user end as well as language and cultural obstacles but these could be addressed by using a local organiser to host the interviews.

Qualitative remote research (unmoderated)

The unmoderated technique involves the same operation as above but without any direct intervention so the participants just carry out the tasks as prompted by the script or computer instructions on the exercise. Their keystrokes, interactions, mouse movements and sometimes audio feedback can be gathered for later analysis. It is extremely important here that the technology and the script are absolutely precise as if the participant misunderstands the whole test could be invalidated and your money wasted.

Quantitative online research

Quantitative online international UX research uses the same sort of techniques as its qualitative counterpart but focuses more on the collection of hard data on how a site works, what aspects are smooth and transparent and which are clunky, whether devices incorporated into the site to close sales, refer on, increase navigation or read-through etc work as they were intended.

The combined approach

If you the budget and the project justifies it, you might consider using all the main methodologies to produce a rounded, full perspective on the issues. Expert review could provide the basis for qualitative research and the resultant outcome could then be tested quantitatively.

For more information on research strategies go to our report on International user research.

Whatever your issues – and whatever your budget – it is important to get the basic principles right before undertaking international UX research. If you would like advice on any aspects why not get in touch for an informal discussion on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment