在可用性测试中使用一个额外的参与者

research participants

试用可用性测试

可用性测试可能是一项昂贵的业务,所以你需要确保一切都尽可能地集中,这样你就能从你的会议中获得最大的收益。 可用的、相关的 数据.

一种方法是通过 试验性测试.这可以通过几种方式进行,有些是昂贵的,有些是简单而便宜的。一般来说,便宜的选择会给你提供更多有限的、肤浅的信息,而复杂的选择则会给你更深的看法。如果条件允许,有一些方法和情况可以很容易地获得非常有用的洞察力。

可用性测试 试用方法

作为试验运行第一次测试

在主体测试前的几个小时甚至一天进行第一次测试,可以指出任何明显的问题或需要更明确的领域。这是一个快速而肮脏的方法,但却能揭示出一些根本性的错误,这些错误可能会使整个可用性测试产生缺陷。这并没有给你太多的时间来纠正,所以你可能不得不重新安排其他参与者的参与,但这总比冒着对所有用户进行无用测试的风险要好。

预测试脚本

这些是解释任务的脚本,帮助用户理解所需要的东西,是测试功能的一个重要部分。为了确保这些脚本是有效的,并且足够清晰,你可以事先在测试组中对它们进行测试。这可能涉及到一个小型的测试或与有代表性的用户一起进行的测试,但它可以突出潜在的问题领域或可能减缓执行的因素,甚至否定可用性测试结果的有用性。

乾坤大挪移 

事先进行跟踪可以确保参与者清楚地了解整个过程,并确保活动中的每个人都得到适当的介绍,以提供最佳的测试结果。如果出现任何混乱的地方,你需要快速有效地处理它们,这样你的主动可用性测试就会被尽可能地打断。

分离式试验

这些可能是最 详细贵的 有效地进行测试的方式。分割试验包括运行一组试验,作为主要可用性测试的前奏,并包括对未来活动的任何见解,以改善结果。这意味着实际上要进行两次测试,所以可能会增加你的成本。

这样做的好处是,你可以得到一个近乎完美的测试运行图;缺点是成本和时间。然而,这些结果总是可以与整个测试的结果一起使用,并与未来的测试结合起来进行分析,这样就不会浪费活动了。它也可能表明你原来的结构和内容是好的,你并不真正需要重大或广泛的后续行动。

如果你想了解更多关于预试验或任何形式的试验的信息,请立即联系我们,就你的要求进行非正式的交谈,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com联系我们.

相关帖子

留下评论

Using an Extra Participant in Usability Testing

research participants

Trialling Usability Testing

Usability testing can be an expensive business so you need to make sure that everything is as focused as possible so that you get the most from your sessions in terms of usable, relevant data.

One way of doing this is by trialling the test. This can be done in several ways, some expensive and others simple and cheap. Generally, the cheap options will give you more restricted, superficial information and the sophisticated ones a deeper view. There are ways and circumstances in which very useful insights can be obtained easily if the conditions permit.

Usability Testing Trialling Methods

Running the first test as a trial

Conducting the first test as a solo run either a few hours or even a day before the main body will indicate any obvious problems or areas that need more clarity. This is a quick and dirty method, but reveals fundamental faults which can flaw a whole usability test. This does not give you much time for correction so you might have to rearrange other participants’ involvement but it is better than risking conducting a useless test across all users.

Pre-testing scripts

These are scripts explaining the tasks and helping the user to understand what is required and is an important part of the test functionality. To make sure these are working and sufficiently clear you would test them out of the subject group beforehand. This could involve a mini-test or a run-through with representative users but it can highlight potential problem areas or factors which might slow the execution or even negate the usefulness of findings from usability testing

Dry Run 

Running the trail beforehand can ensure that the process is clear for participants and ensures that everyone in the activity is properly briefed to deliver the best test outcome. If any areas of confusion do arise you need them to be dealt with quickly and efficiently so your active usability testing is disrupted as little as possible.

Split Trials

These can be the most detailed and expensive way of effectively trialling the test. Split trials involve running one set of trials as a pre-cursor to the main usability testing and include any insights into a future block of activity to improve the results. This means running two tests, in effect, so it is likely to increase your costs.

The advantage of this is that you get a near-perfect picture of how the test will run; the downside is the cost and time. However, these results can always be used alongside that of the overall test and combined and analysed with future tests so that the activity is not wasted. It might also indicate that your original structure and content are fine and you don’t really need significant or extensive follow-up.

If you would like to know more about pre-testing or any form of trialling please contact us today for an informal chat on your requirements on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com or contact us.

Related Posts

Leave a comment