不进行可用性测试的代价是什么?

business case usability testing

通过不进行可用性测试来省钱?这就是为什么你最终会付出更多的代价

一个组织可能放弃的原因有很多 可用性测试 并将他们的网站或应用程序发布到野外,完全没有准备好与那些已经投入用户体验时间的高级进化物种竞争。

这些原因可能包括缺乏对什么的理解,也可能是对什么的不理解。 可用性测试 is, to an assumption that the product doesn’t require any form of UX audit, right through to a belief that usability testing is prohibitively expensive. Another way that organisations rationale their lack of testing, and one we hear time and again, is that the website was created by a ‘UX Designer’ with the user in mind. In this instance, the designer, being an ‘expert’ in user experience, becomes a proxy for whoever the site is intended for, second guessing how they would approach, engage and interact with it.

不管是什么原因,结果几乎总是一样的:一个劣质的产品,其性能达不到其利益相关者的期望,包括企业和消费者方面。

匆匆结婚,悠悠悔悟。这位智者说过,他的话也可以用在这里,用婚姻来比喻不致力于可用性测试的决定。当线索、订单和销售没有实现的时候,我们会有足够的时间来忏悔。

如果你的网站或应用程序在上市前没有经过其目标用户的横断面测试,那么你将不可避免地通过支付它。

  • 用户体验不佳 -- 如果用户对网站的体验因可用性差而受损或受挫,他们就会毫不迟疑地去寻找其他地方。可能是去找那些花时间进行可用性测试的直接竞争对手。
  • 忠诚客户的流失 - 不仅仅是潜在客户会被送到山上去。当现有的忠实客户发现自己无法相对容易地实现他们的目标时,他们的耐心和信任将很快枯竭。
  • 缺少回头客 - 那些已经付出努力并最终设法完成他们在你的网站上所设定的任务的人,可能不会急于让自己再次经历这种经历。
  • 口耳相传 - 社会媒体和评论网站,如Trustpilot,现在是决定大大小小组织的在线存在的关键角色。一旦传出你的网站或应用程序是一个可用性真空,那些可能对你的产品感兴趣的人很快就不会感兴趣了。

不要说得太细,从长远来看,你不对网站进行可用性测试所省下的钱与你的损失相比只是小巫见大巫,无论从财务还是声誉的角度来看都是如此。

这就是拒绝可用性测试的真正代价。

想了解更多关于可用性测试将如何提高你的网站的盈利能力,请致电我们 +44(0)800 024624 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

What’s the Cost of Not Usability Testing?

business case usability testing

Saving money by not usability testing? Here’s why you’ll end up paying more

There are a variety reasons why an organisation might forgo usability testing and release their website or app into the wild, totally unprepared to compete with the higher evolved species that have put the UX hours in.

These reasons can range from a lack of understanding as to what usability testing is, to an assumption that the product doesn’t require any form of UX audit, right through to a belief that usability testing is prohibitively expensive. Another way that organisations rationale their lack of testing, and one we hear time and again, is that the website was created by a ‘UX Designer’ with the user in mind. In this instance, the designer, being an ‘expert’ in user experience, becomes a proxy for whoever the site is intended for, second guessing how they would approach, engage and interact with it.

Whatever the reason, the outcome is almost always the same: an inferior product that doesn’t perform to the expectations of its stakeholders, both business and consumer-side.

Marry in haste, repent at leisure. So the wise man said and his words can be applied here, with marriage serving as a metaphor for the decision not to commit to usability testing. There will be plenty of time to repent when the leads, orders and sales fail to materialise.

If your website or app hasn’t been put through its paces by a cross-section of its intended users prior to market, then you’ll inevitably end up paying for it via:

  • Poor user experience – If the user’s experience of the site is damaged or frustrated by poor usability, they are going to waste no time in looking elsewhere. Possibly to a direct competitor who has taken the time to conduct usability testing.
  • Loss of loyal customers – It isn’t just prospects who’ll be sent fleeing to the hills. The patience, along with the trust, of existing and loyal customers will soon wither when they find themselves unable to achieve their goals with relative ease.
  • Lack of returning customers – Those who’ve put in the effort and eventually managed to accomplish what they set out to do on your site, probably aren’t going to be in any sort of hurry to put themselves through the experience again.
  • Word of mouth – Social media and review sites such as Trustpilot are now key players in making or breaking the online presence of organisations large and small. Once word gets out that your website or app is a usability vacuum, those who might’ve been interested in your offering soon won’t be.

Not to put too fine a point on it, the money you saved by not usability testing the website will, in the long run, be small beer compared with what you stand to lose, both from a financial and reputational standpoint.

That is the true cost of rejecting usability tests.

To find out more about how usability testing will improve the profitability of your website,, ring us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment