Was ist der Preis für fehlende Usability-Tests?

business case usability testing

Sparen Sie Geld durch Verzicht auf Usability-Tests? Hier erfahren Sie, warum Sie am Ende mehr zahlen werden

Es gibt eine Reihe von Gründen, warum eine Organisation auf Folgendes verzichten könnte Gebrauchstauglichkeitsprüfung und ihre Website oder App in die freie Wildbahn entlassen, völlig unvorbereitet, um mit der höher entwickelten Spezies zu konkurrieren, die die UX-Stunden investiert hat.

Diese Gründe können von einem mangelnden Verständnis dafür reichen, was Gebrauchstauglichkeitsprüfung is, to an assumption that the product doesn’t require any form of UX audit, right through to a belief that usability testing is prohibitively expensive. Another way that organisations rationale their lack of testing, and one we hear time and again, is that the website was created by a ‘UX Designer’ with the user in mind. In this instance, the designer, being an ‘expert’ in user experience, becomes a proxy for whoever the site is intended for, second guessing how they would approach, engage and interact with it.

Was auch immer der Grund sein mag, das Ergebnis ist fast immer dasselbe: ein minderwertiges Produkt, das die Erwartungen der Beteiligten, sowohl auf Unternehmens- als auch auf Verbraucherseite, nicht erfüllt.

Heirate in Eile, bereue in Ruhe. So sagte der weise Mann, und seine Worte können hier angewendet werden, wobei die Ehe als Metapher für die Entscheidung dient, sich nicht auf Usability-Tests einzulassen. Wenn die Leads, die Aufträge und die Verkäufe ausbleiben, ist noch genügend Zeit, um es zu bereuen.

Wenn Ihre Website oder App vor der Markteinführung nicht von einem Querschnitt der vorgesehenen Nutzer auf Herz und Nieren geprüft wurde, werden Sie am Ende unweigerlich dafür bezahlen müssen:

  • Schlechte Nutzererfahrung - Wenn die Benutzererfahrung auf der Website durch schlechte Benutzerfreundlichkeit beeinträchtigt oder frustriert ist, werden sie keine Zeit verlieren und sich woanders umsehen. Möglicherweise zu einem direkten Konkurrenten, der sich die Zeit genommen hat, Usability-Tests durchzuführen.
  • Verlust von treuen Kunden - Es sind nicht nur die potenziellen Kunden, die in die Flucht geschlagen werden. Auch die Geduld und das Vertrauen bestehender und treuer Kunden werden bald schwinden, wenn sie ihre Ziele nicht mehr mit relativer Leichtigkeit erreichen können.
  • Mangel an wiederkehrenden Kunden - Diejenigen, die sich die Mühe gemacht haben und es schließlich geschafft haben, das zu erreichen, was sie sich auf Ihrer Website vorgenommen haben, werden es wahrscheinlich nicht eilig haben, sich diese Erfahrung noch einmal zuzumuten.
  • Mundpropaganda - Soziale Medien und Bewertungsportale wie Trustpilot sind heute die Hauptakteure, die über die Online-Präsenz von großen und kleinen Unternehmen entscheiden. Wenn sich erst einmal herumgesprochen hat, dass Ihre Website oder App nicht benutzbar ist, werden diejenigen, die sich vielleicht für Ihr Angebot interessiert hätten, es bald nicht mehr tun.

Um es nicht zu sehr auf die Spitze zu treiben: Das Geld, das Sie eingespart haben, weil Sie die Website nicht auf ihre Benutzerfreundlichkeit hin getestet haben, ist auf lange Sicht nur ein Tropfen auf den heißen Stein im Vergleich zu dem, was Sie verlieren werden, sowohl in finanzieller Hinsicht als auch in Bezug auf Ihren Ruf.

Das sind die wahren Kosten der Ablehnung von Usability-Tests.

Um mehr darüber zu erfahren, wie Usability-Tests die Rentabilität Ihrer Website verbessern können, rufen Sie uns an unter +44(0)800 024624 oder senden Sie uns eine E-Mail an hello@ux247.com.

Verwandte Beiträge

Hinterlasse einen Kommentar

What’s the Cost of Not Usability Testing?

business case usability testing

Saving money by not usability testing? Here’s why you’ll end up paying more

There are a variety reasons why an organisation might forgo usability testing and release their website or app into the wild, totally unprepared to compete with the higher evolved species that have put the UX hours in.

These reasons can range from a lack of understanding as to what usability testing is, to an assumption that the product doesn’t require any form of UX audit, right through to a belief that usability testing is prohibitively expensive. Another way that organisations rationale their lack of testing, and one we hear time and again, is that the website was created by a ‘UX Designer’ with the user in mind. In this instance, the designer, being an ‘expert’ in user experience, becomes a proxy for whoever the site is intended for, second guessing how they would approach, engage and interact with it.

Whatever the reason, the outcome is almost always the same: an inferior product that doesn’t perform to the expectations of its stakeholders, both business and consumer-side.

Marry in haste, repent at leisure. So the wise man said and his words can be applied here, with marriage serving as a metaphor for the decision not to commit to usability testing. There will be plenty of time to repent when the leads, orders and sales fail to materialise.

If your website or app hasn’t been put through its paces by a cross-section of its intended users prior to market, then you’ll inevitably end up paying for it via:

  • Poor user experience – If the user’s experience of the site is damaged or frustrated by poor usability, they are going to waste no time in looking elsewhere. Possibly to a direct competitor who has taken the time to conduct usability testing.
  • Loss of loyal customers – It isn’t just prospects who’ll be sent fleeing to the hills. The patience, along with the trust, of existing and loyal customers will soon wither when they find themselves unable to achieve their goals with relative ease.
  • Lack of returning customers – Those who’ve put in the effort and eventually managed to accomplish what they set out to do on your site, probably aren’t going to be in any sort of hurry to put themselves through the experience again.
  • Word of mouth – Social media and review sites such as Trustpilot are now key players in making or breaking the online presence of organisations large and small. Once word gets out that your website or app is a usability vacuum, those who might’ve been interested in your offering soon won’t be.

Not to put too fine a point on it, the money you saved by not usability testing the website will, in the long run, be small beer compared with what you stand to lose, both from a financial and reputational standpoint.

That is the true cost of rejecting usability tests.

To find out more about how usability testing will improve the profitability of your website,, ring us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment