在家庭中进行可用性测试的5个提示

usability testing home

可用性测试 随着实验室测试的人工环境越来越不适合用户与技术和网络的综合和多样化的交互方式,在人们的家中进行研究正成为可用性研究中一种越来越普遍的技术。然而,居家研究确实有其自身的困难--从干预的潜在侵入性到它不可避免的对空间和时间的限制,研究者在研究过程之前和期间都需要解决一些问题。下面是进行这种类型的可用性研究的五个提示。

  1. 让受试者感到舒适和安全:让陌生人在你的家里监视你的一举一动可能会让人不安和困难。你需要尽一切可能让你的主人对这个过程感到舒适。这可以包括研究前的访问或与团队的接触,这样受试者就会觉得在可用性研究的密集部分之前了解他们;利用男女两人的团队来保护团队成员和家庭,并让参与者提前充分了解将要发生的事情和对他们的期望,这样就不会出现不愉快的意外或尴尬的情况。
  2. 要专业和有组织:不要迟到和明显没有准备。确保所有的事情都是事先确定和商定的,你对你要做什么和如何做有一个很好的想法。决定你要使用什么设备和技术,并计划和练习如何工作,以使可用性测试的经验尽可能顺利和不受干扰。在工作允许的情况下,要尽可能地简约和封闭。
  3. 意识到你是客人始终牢记你们是别人家的客人,并据此行事。做事要得到许可,设置设备,四处走动等。在你开始之前,检查他们对你要做的各种事情和你想去的地方是否满意。如果你要录音,确保他们觉得舒服,给他们一段时间来适应这个想法。在工作允许的范围内,尊重人们的空间和隐私。
  4. 对个人要敏感 动态性采访:每个情况和家庭都是不同的,因此,虽然计划很重要,但适应性和敏感性也很重要。如果你对这些人产生真正的共鸣和兴趣,而不是仅仅将其视为另一项工作,你将从拍摄对象那里得到更多的自然反应,并从整个过程中得到更多的东西。 可用性测试研究.一个更有同情心的方法很可能是发现那些罕见的、有价值的可用性洞察力的关键,这使得这个过程如此有用和相关。
  5. 利用既定机构进行招聘这样做的主要好处是,你可以接触到那些已经准备好的对象,而且据推测,他们对这一过程感到很舒服,你还可以获得与一个知名的、受人尊敬的组织相关的经验和魅力,这对于建立证书和初步的关系是很有用的。

如果你对家庭用户研究感兴趣,为什么不和专家谈谈?请拨打0800 0246247给我们打电话。

相关帖子

留下评论

5 Tips for Usability Testing in the Home

usability testing home

Usability testing in people homes is becoming a more common technique in usability research as the artificial environment of lab testing becomes less suited to the integrated and diverse ways that users interact with technology and the web. In-home research does, however, pose difficulties of its own – from the potentially intrusive nature of the intervention to the restrictions on space and time that it inevitably dictates, there are issues the researcher needs to address both before and during the process. Here are five tips on undertaking this type of usability study:

  1. Make the subjects feel comfortable and safe: having strangers in your home watching your every move can be unsettling and difficult. You need to do everything you can to make your hosts feel comfortable about the process. This can include pre-research visits or contact with the team so the subjects feel they know them before the intensive part of the usability study; utilising two-person male/female teams to protect both the team members and the family and giving the participants plenty of advance notice of what is going to happen and what is expected of them, so there are no unpleasant surprises or awkward situations.
  2. Be professional and organised: don’t turn up late and apparently unprepared. Make sure everything is determined and agreed beforehand and you have a good idea of what you are going to do and how. Decide what equipment and techniques you are going to use and plan and practise how this is going to work to make the usability testing experience as smooth and non-disruptive as possible. Be as minimalist and contained as the job allows.
  3. Be aware that you are guests: always try to bear in mind that you are guests in someone’s home and act accordingly. Get permission to do things, set up equipment, move around etc. Check before you start that they are happy with the sorts of things you are going to be doing and places you want to go. If you are recording make sure they feel comfortable with it and give them a while to get used to the idea. Respect people’s space and privacy as much as the work allows you to.
  4. Be sensitive to the individual dynamics: every situation and family will be different so, while planning is important, so is adaptability and sensitivity. You will get more natural responses from the subjects and more out of the process generally if you develop a genuine empathy with, and interest in, the people rather than just regarding it as another piece of usability testing research. A more empathic approach might well be the key to turning up those rare and valuable usability insights that makes the process so useful and relevant.
  5. Use established agencies for recruitment: the main benefit of this is that you gain access to subjects who are already primed and, presumably, comfortable with the process and you get the experience and cache associated with a known and respected organisation which can be useful in establishing credentials and initial rapport.

If you are interested in home user research why not talk to an expert? Give us a ring on 0800 0246247.

Related Posts

Leave a comment