单页可用性测试

可用性测试

你能只对一个页面进行可用性测试吗?

当然,你可以对任何你喜欢的东西进行用户测试,只要你准备为此付费 - 但真正的问题是,这是否值得花费和麻烦? 可用性测试 只有一个页面?你可能认为这个问题的明显答案是'不'--但事实并非如此简单。

例如,主页是许多网站中最重要的一个。它是你的大多数访问者登陆的地方;它是许多人的起飞点和主要的导航帮助。它往往是他们中的一些人看到的唯一页面,所以你必须使它具有影响力,并为你工作得特别努力。

但是,主页并不是唯一重要的页面;可用性测试可以关注产品列表页、详情页、结账页等。你自己的研究和反馈可能会指出你的网站最重要的区域,以及你需要集中测试努力以获得最佳回报。

有几种方法来处理这类任务。自动方法可以根据鼠标移动、眼球跟踪和用户点击以及与页面的一般互动提供相当快速和粗糙的结果。然而,这只能为你提供关于网站基本机制的信息;如果你想要更多的定性的、可能更有用的、可操作的反馈,你需要进行交互式可用性测试。

在你的测试中,太过指令性的做法并不总是一个好主意。规定参与者必须做什么并直接引导他们去做,往往会掩盖你的网站在可访问性、理解和导航便利性方面的其他问题。然而,如果你对这些其他问题不感兴趣,或者非常确定你已经掌握了你的网站在这些方面的缺点,你就有理由在测试中更加直接。

如果你正在测试一个非常具体的功能,一个新的页面或一个现有页面的全新布局,你可能希望用户直接进入该页面,而不是浪费时间让他们在网站上导航来找到它。(而且,他们总是有可能找不到或者去别的地方!)。)

为了从这种可用性测试中获得最大的利益,你需要确保你有非常明确的目标,以及反映并直接有助于实现该目标的程序和问题集。例如,如果你要测试你的主页,你要决定你希望主页为你做什么,它对你的业务及其产品和服务有什么描述,它把用户指向哪里,以及如何把他们带到那里。你可以测试它在实现这些目标方面的效果如何,以及它到底在哪里起作用,在哪里落下。同样,对于其他页面,你可以单独进行测试;如果你清楚地知道它们的功能是什么,以及你期望用户如何与它们互动,你将有更好的机会来确定它们的表现如何,以及具体的问题是什么。

仔细构建一个特别关注重要领域的测试,是获得有价值、可用结果的关键。

如果你正在考虑对你的网站的单个页面或方面进行可用性测试,或者只是一般的可用性测试,请今天就联系我们。 +44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com 来讨论你的需求,以及我们如何帮助制定和实施一个有益的计划。

相关帖子

留下评论

Single Page Usability Testing

usability testing

Can you usability test just one page?

Well, of course, you can user test anything you like providing you are prepared to pay for it – but the real question is would it be worth the expense and trouble for usability testing just one page? You might think the obvious answer to this is ‘no’ – but it is not quite so straightforward.

For example the homepage is the most important one on many websites. It is where most of your visitors will land; it is the take-off point and main navigation aid for many. It will often be the only page some of them see, so you have to make it impactful and work especially hard for you.

But the homepage is not the only important page; usability testing can focus on product listing pages, detail pages, checkout pages and so on. your own research and feedback might point to the most important areas of your site and where you need to concentrate your testing efforts to get the best payback.

There are several ways to approach this sort of task. Automated methods can provide fairly quick and rough results based on mouse movements, eye tracking and user click-throughs and general interactions with the page. This, however, will only provide you with information on the basic mechanics of the site; if you want more qualitative and probably more useful, actionable feedback you need to conduct interactive usability testing.

It is not always a good idea to be too directive in your testing. Prescribing what a participant has to do and guiding them straight to it can often mask other problems with your site in terms of accessibility, understanding and navigation ease. However if you are not interested in these other issues or are pretty sure you already have a handle on the shortcomings of your site in those respects you can, justifiably, be more direct in your test.

If you are usability testing a very specific function, a new page or a completely new layout of an existing page you will probably want the user to go straight to the page rather than waste time in them navigating the site to find it. (And there is always the chance they won’t get to it or go somewhere else!)

To get the maximum benefit from this sort of usability testing you need to make sure you have very clear objectives and a routine and question set that reflect and contribute directly to achieving that goal. If you are testing your home page, for example, decide what you want the home page to do for you, what it says about your business and its products and services, where it points users to and how it takes them there. You can test how effective it is in achieving these goals and exactly where it works and where it falls down. Similarly with other pages you might test singly; if you have a clear idea of what their function is and how you expect the user to interact with them you will have a better chance of determining how well they are performing and what, specifically, the problems are.

Carefully constructing a test that particularly focuses on the vital areas is the key to worthwhile, usable results.

If you are thinking about usability testing for single pages or aspects of your site, or just usability testing in general, contact us today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com to discuss your needs and how we might help in framing and delivering a beneficial programme.

Related Posts

Leave a comment