用户体验研究的入门指南

An illustration of a hand holding a phone during UX Research

用户体验研究出现在我们的博客中。你会发现几乎所有与用户体验研究有关的东西,包括:采访指南、策略、报告、创建合作、建立团队,以及两者之间的一切。

当然,你应该这样做,这毕竟是我们的工作。但是,对于那些在这个领域没有经验的人,或者想对用户体验研究的内容有一个合理的概述--看看它是否适合你的设计发展--这里有我们简单的指南,涵盖了我们认为你需要知道的基本知识。

用户体验研究的定义

"UX研究(用户体验)是对目标用户的系统研究,发现与设计过程相关的问题和见解"。

用简单的语言来说,用户体验研究有助于确定使你的产品尽可能高效和愉快的元素。它需要满足公司利益相关者的需求,并为其用户提供一个尽可能简单和理想的旅程,或体验。

什么是用户体验研究?

用户体验研究是以各种方式进行的,使用各种不同的方法。我们将在后面看一下这些方法的选择,但所有这些研究的原因是收集事实和信息,以便设计师用来为那些需要的人提供更好的产品。

为什么我们需要用户体验研究数据?

人类被设计用来做假设,被称为 无意识的偏见为了使我们的日常工作更容易、更不复杂。然而,这些无意识的偏见涉及太多的猜测,所以为了限制那些导致错误选择的假设,最好是收集将使用你的产品的人的意见和行为,以准确决定我们需要做什么。

什么是用户体验研究员?

用户体验研究人员制定计划,对所需的数据有明确的目标,如何发现和收集数据,并将其提交给设计师。这意味着写 可用性筛选器 (准确定位项目的目标用户所需的问题),讨论指南,数据收集计划,分析信息,并将他们的发现以适当的媒介呈现给设计师。这涉及到大量的战略思考和操作。

用户体验研究员的角色因公司而异。归根结底,他们是处理数据和分析、人类行为的专家。 行为经济学-还有一些人类学、社会学和心理学的内容。

用户体验研究方法论

UX24/7使用的方法来提供一个 全面的设计周期服务 看起来像这样。

  1. 第一阶段确定开发中的产品或功能的问题和机会。分析一个项目以确定其需求,起初可能看起来很简单,但这正是那些无意识的偏见发挥作用的地方。一个好的研究者会把所有预先存在的想法和思路从他们的脑海中抹去,从一块完全空白的石板开始。
  2. 我们将发现阶段的研究结果转化为设计师用来改善产品性能的信息。
  3. 随着下一阶段的设计,我们提供 '评价性研究.通常情况下,这表现为 '可用性测试 但也可以用其他各种方法来进行。
  4. 一旦上线,产品将使用以下方法进行优化 '质性研究.

各种做法决定了通过这四个阶段为每个独特的项目收集特定数据集的最佳手段。

为一个项目选择最佳方案是用户体验研究员发挥作用的地方。他们利用自己丰富的经验和对这些系统的理解,建立计划和战略,他们提供什么,以及他们如何影响结果。

发现 方法和活动实例。

  • 实地研究
  • 用户访谈
  • 利益相关者访谈
  • 日记研究
  • 确定用户体验指标
  • 找到相关的数据来源

生成性 方法和活动实例。

  • 任务分析
  • 设计审查
  • 角色构建
  • 旅程图谱
  • 编写用户故事
  • 卡片分类
  • 设计多样性探索
  • 竞争分析

评价性的 方法和活动实例。

  • 定性的可用性测试
  • 无障碍评估
  • 基准测试
  • 用户组的推广
  • 随着时间的推移,对可用性的跟踪

优化 方法和活动实例。

  • 可用性错误审查
  • 反馈审查
  • 搜索日志分析
  • 调查
  • 常见问题回顾
  • 分析回顾

定性和定量研究 - 有什么区别?

用户体验研究有两个子集:定性和定量。其中一个主要是处理事实和数字,更容易编入目录,而另一个则提供对以下方面的洞察力 '为什么 用户的行为是他们的行为。

定性研究

这种类型的研究收集的信息来自于访谈和人种学实地研究(发生在产品存在于真实世界的地方)。这就是我们的研究人员如何深入了解 为什么 用户的行为方式。

研究人员可以 采访 用户关于他们为什么错过了一个链接或行动呼吁,或者他们对产品的操作、演示或导航有什么感觉,以收集定性数据。

或者说。 可用性测试 监测每个用户在使用该产品时的压力反应。

另一种定性的研究方法。 用户的影子。 在用户体验研究中,你可以在使用产品时观察参与者,发现他们的快乐和沮丧,积极和消极的反应,以及他们对每个功能的反应。

尽管这些数据往往是非数字性的,而且汇编起来有点麻烦,但用户行为背后的意见、动机和感受经常提供改变产品的信息。

量化研究

定量研究方法更加结构化,通常更容易分类和处理。来自调查、问卷等的数据提供了关于用户行动的数据,检验了从其他研究方法得出的假设。这些数据揭示了模式,使设计师能够为他们的目标用户简化和个性化项目。

通过利用定性和定量研究,用户体验研究人员可以对用户行为、行动和产品性能进行更全面的描述。

diary

如何组织一个用户体验研究项目

在这里,我们解释了用户体验研究项目的一些步骤,而不是为你提供一个完整的用户体验研究 "如何 "指南。如前所述,每个项目都会有具体和适当的做法。然而,为了建立对用户体验研究过程的理解,对于那些新的实践,这里有一些关于关键步骤和如何处理它们的建议。

1.界定问题陈述

你的研究计划从一个 问题陈述.这澄清了你想从研究中获得什么。它包括利用利益相关者访谈、团队会议和任何现有的、相关的数据分析来收集细节。问题陈述准确解释了项目的内容,包括界定研究需要实现的目标的任何背景信息。

2.确定研究目标

问题陈述阐明了研究需要实现的目标,而目标则进一步详细说明如何实现,以及你为什么选择这些方法。你的目标还将列出你期望发现的东西。

由于有如此多的信息渠道可供探索,因此,不要被过程所淹没,保持对最终结果的关注至关重要;毕竟,用户体验研究是为了提供更好的产品。

问问你自己。

  • 我们为谁设计?
  • 他们需要什么?
  • 他们面临什么问题?
  • 产品的痛点是什么?
  • 为什么目标市场可能避免使用该产品?
  • 我们要如何积累信息?
  • 它将如何影响设计?
  • 我们将如何利用这些新信息?

3.明确最佳用户体验研究方法

我们在前面看了用户体验研究方法的一个样本。每个阶段都会有特定的目标,这将更适合于特定类型的研究。在选择这些方法时,你必须考虑过程、限制条件、交付的数据、你的资源,当然还有你的预算和时间表。

明确定义目标将指导你为你所需要的结果制定最佳程序。

4.招募用户体验研究参与者

在确定目标的同时,你已经讨论了你的目标用户是什么样子的,这应该指导你的研究和调查谁是合适的。你需要多少人,以提供一个完整市场的准确代表?你是否有一个你可以利用的用户库,或者你将不得不雇用外部参与者来发现你的理想数据?

你必须确保他们与产品相适应,无论他们来自哪里,都能代表你的目标用户角色。

5.创建一个简报

在确定了目标和方法之后,下一步就是为每个研究环节起草一份指南。这将概述你的采访、实地研究和面对面的活动将如何进行。该指南将使你专注于你需要实现的目标,以及你需要问哪些问题来揭示基本数据。

一份简报需要一个 介绍,在 研究问题,和一个 发出的声明讲座中的介绍会让参与者了解对会议的期待,而发出的信息将概述接下来会发生什么。这也是一个感谢他们的时间和努力的好机会。

6.时间线

时间表是由利益相关者的期望以及收集参与者和开展每项研究活动的现实性来确定的。尽管这听起来难以预测,但一个合理的估计可以让每一方为产品的设计和交付的其他部分制定计划。

7.介绍

有了所有这些新的数据,你要确保用最好的方法来传递你所发现的东西。你的研究结果是设计者所需要的,清楚而简洁地展示关键的细节是至关重要的。

你还必须决定你的演讲频率,让合作伙伴了解你的最新进展。演讲在每个阶段都有价值。无论是面对面的管理,还是使用文件和数字传递,它们都是所有各方学习和对你的用户体验研究做出反应的机会。

总结一下...

有大量的用户体验研究资源可用,并且适用于行业中的每种方法和技术。例如,通过我们的博客看一下。我们涵盖各种信息丰富的主题,帮助我们的客户了解我们运作的每个角落的影响。

如果你找不到你要找的东西,我们在这里,很高兴能提供帮助。请给我们留言或打电话,我们会在任何可能的情况下为你提供你所需要的。我们甚至可能写一篇关于它的博客!

如果你想了解更多关于用户体验研究或设计研究的信息,请发邮件给我们 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

A Beginners Guide To UX Research

An illustration of a hand holding a phone during UX Research

UX Research appears throughout our blog. You’ll spot almost everything there is to do with UX Research including: interview guides, strategies, reporting, creating collaborations, building teams, and everything in between.

And, of course, you should—that’s what we do after all. But for those who aren’t experienced in the field or trying to get a sensible overview of what UX Research involves—to see if it’s a good fit for your design development—here’s our stripped out simple guide, covering the basics we think you need to know.

UX Research Definition

“UX Research (user experience) is a systematic study of target users that uncovers issues and insights relevant to the design process.”

In simple language, UX Research helps to identify the elements that make your product as efficient and enjoyable as it can be. It needs to satisfy the needs of the company stakeholders and provide a journey, or experience, that’s as simple and as desirable as possible for its users.

What Is UX Research?

UX Research is carried out in a variety of ways, using all sorts of different methods. We’ll look at a selection of those later on, but the reason for all that research is to gather facts and information that designers use to deliver a better product for those who need it.

Why Do We Need UX Research Data?

Humans are designed to make assumptions, known as unconscious biases, to make getting through our daily routines easier and less complicated. However, those unconscious biases involve far too much guesswork, so to limit those assumptions that lead to bad choices, it’s better to gather the opinions and behaviours of the people who will use your products to decide precisely what we need to do.

What Is A UX Researcher?

UX Researchers develop plans with clear objectives into the data required, how to uncover and collect it, and present it to the designers. That means writing usability screeners (questions required to pinpoint target users for the project), discussion guides, data collection plans, analysing information, and presenting their findings to designers in an appropriate medium. It involves a great deal of strategic thinking and operation.

A UX Researcher’s role differs from company to company. Ultimately, they’re experts in handling data and analytics, human behaviour, and behavioural economics—with a little anthropology, sociology, and psychology thrown in to boot!

UX Research Methodologies

The methodology UX24/7 uses to deliver a full-service design cycle looks like this:

  1. The first stage identifies the problems and opportunities of the product or feature in development. Analysing a project to determine its needs might seem simple at first, but this is where those unconscious biases come into play. A good researcher will wipe all pre-existing ideas and thoughts out of their mind to start with a completely blank slate.
  2. We translate the outcomes of the discovery stage research into information that designers use to improve the product’s performance.
  3. With the next stage of designs, we provide ‘evaluative research’. Typically, this presents as ‘usability testing’ but can be carried out using various other methods.
  4. Once live, the product is optimised using ‘qualitative research’.

Various practices determine the best means of gathering specific datasets for each unique project through these four stages.

Choosing the best options for a project is where the UX Researcher comes into their own. They build the plan and strategy using their vast experience and understanding of those systems, what they deliver, and how they affect outcomes.

Discovery methods and activities examples:

  • Field studies
  • User interviews
  • Stakeholder interviews
  • Diary studies
  • Determine UX metrics
  • Locate relevant data sources

Generative methods and activities examples:

  • Task analysis
  • Design review
  • Persona building
  • Journey mapping
  • Writing user stories
  • Card sorting
  • Design diversity exploration
  • Competitive analysis

Evaluative methods and activities examples:

  • Qualitative usability testing
  • Accessibility evaluations
  • Benchmark testing
  • User group outreach
  • Usability tracking over time

Optimisation methods and activities examples:

  • Usability bug review
  • Feedback review
  • Search-log analysis
  • Surveys
  • FAQ review
  • Analytics review

Qualitative And Quantitative Research – What’s The Difference?

There are two subsets of UX Research: qualitative and quantitative. One deals predominantly in facts and figures that are easier to catalogue, where the other provides insights into ‘why’ users behave as they do.

Qualitative Research

The information gathered by this type of research comes from interviews and ethnographic field studies (happening where the product exists in the real world). This is how our researchers get an in-depth understanding of why users act how they do.

Researchers can interview users about why they missed a link or call to action or how they feel about the product’s operation, presentation, or navigation to gather qualitative data.

Alternatively, usability testing monitors each user’s stress responses while using the product.

Another qualitative research method, user shadowing, in UX Research allows you to observe participants while using the product, uncovering their joys and frustrations, positive and negative reactions, and how they react to each feature.

Even though the data tends to be non-numeric and a little trickier to compile, the opinions, motivations, and feelings behind user behaviour regularly provide information that transforms the product.

Quantitative Research

Quantitative research methods are more structured and generally easier to categorise and process. The data from surveys, questionnaires, etc., provide data on user actions, testing the assumptions drawn from other research methods. This data reveals patterns, allowing designers to streamline and personalise the project for their target user.

By utilising both qualitative and quantitative research, UX Researchers can paint a more complete picture of user behaviour, action, and product performance.

diary

How To Organise A UX Research Project

Here, we explain some of the steps involved in a UX Research project as opposed to providing you with a complete UX Research ‘how to’ guide. As mentioned previously, each project will lend itself to specific and appropriate practices. However, for the sake of building understanding into the UX Research process, for those new to the practice, here are a few suggestions into the key steps and how to approach them.

1. Defining the problem statement

Your research plan starts with a problem statement. This clarifies what you’re trying to achieve from the research. It includes gathering details using stakeholder interviews, team sessions, and any existing, relevant data analysis. The problem statement explains precisely what the project is about, including any background information that defines the objectives the research needs to deliver.

2. Determine research objectives

With the problem statement clarifying what the research needs to achieve, the objectives further detail how that will happen and why you chose those methods. Your objectives will also set out what you expect to uncover.

With so many avenues of information to explore, it’s essential not to get swept up in the process and to retain focus on the end result; UX Research is there to deliver a better product, after all.

Ask yourself,

  • Who are we designing for?
  • What do they need?
  • What problems do they face?
  • What are the pain points of the product?
  • Why might the target market avoid using the product?
  • How are we going to accrue the information?
  • How will it affect the design?
  • How will we utilise the new information?

3. Clarifying the optimum UX research methods

We looked at a sample of the UX Research methods earlier. Each stage will have specific goals, which will be better suited to a particular type of research. When choosing them, you’ll have to consider the process, the constraints, the data delivered, your resources, and of course, your budget and timeline.

Clearly defining objectives will guide you towards the best process for the outcome you need.

4. Recruiting UX research participants

You’ve discussed what your target user looks like while determining your objectives, which should guide you into who’s a good fit for your research and investigation. How many will you need to provide an accurate representation of a complete market? Do you have a pool of users you can tap into, or will you have to hire external participants to uncover your ideal data?

You must make sure that they’re appropriate to the product and represent your target user persona wherever they come from.

5. Creating a brief

With objectives outlined and methods decided, the next step is to draw up a guide for each research session. This will outline how your interviews, field studies, and face-to-face activities will operate. The brief will keep you focussed on what you need to achieve and which questions you need to ask to reveal the essential data.

A brief needs an introduction, the research questions, and an outgoing statement; the introduction informs participants of what to expect from the session, and the outgoing message will outline what happens next. It’s also a great opportunity to thank them for their time and efforts.

6. The timeline

The timeline is defined by the stakeholders’ expectations and the realistic nature of gathering participants and carrying out each research activity. As unpredictable as that sounds to pinpoint, a reasonable estimation allows each party to make plans for other parts of the product’s design and delivery.

7. Presentation

With all that new data, you want to ensure the best methods to deliver what you’ve found. The results of your research are what designers need, and presenting the crucial details clearly and concisely is essential.

You also have to decide how often you’ll present, keeping partners up-to-date and informed of your progress. Presentations hold value at every stage. Whether managed face-to-face or using documents and digital delivery, they are opportunities for all parties to learn and react to your UX Research.

Summing up…

There are plenty of UX Research resources available and for every method and technology in the industry. Take a look through our blog, for example. We cover all kinds of information-rich topics, helping our clients understand the impact of every corner of our operation.

And if you can’t find what you’re looking for, we’re here and happy to help. Drop us a line or give us a call, and we’ll give you what you need, wherever we can. We might even write a blog about it!

If you would like to know more about UX Research or Design Research, email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts