构建可用性测试的筛选器

usability test screener

当你看到这篇文章的标题时,你的第一反应很可能是 "什么是筛选器?筛选器只是一个问题,或一组问题,帮助你排除或选择参与用户体验研究的候选人。 当你在进行一个 可用性测试 招募那些对你正在测试的产品或服务没有知识、兴趣或用途的人没有什么意义;另一方面,你可能不希望只吸引现有的用户,因为你希望扩大你的网,比你的正常客户群更广泛一些。

在这个过程中,清楚地了解你希望在特定的可用性测试中与谁交谈是一个非常有用的起点,用清晰、相关和可识别的术语来定义他们,这样选择和筛选就变得更容易和更透明。如果你的组织使用并构建了客户角色,这将是理想的筛选对象。

因此,这里有一些关于为你的可用性测试准备筛选器的有用提示。

  • 用有可能吸引和留住参与者的那种语言与他们交谈。你把筛选器做得越正式、技术性越强或越复杂,你就越不可能得到你所寻求的结果。
  • 你可以使用三种可能的问题类型:直截了当的 "是 "或 "否";从一个封闭的系列中选择一个答案的多选题;以及用户可以记录对一个问题或陈述的多种回答的复选框。不建议使用 "是 "或 "否 "的问题,因为这些问题往往提供的信息太少,需要后续问题或更多背景来确定回答的背景。它们也可能是引导性的,并吸引用户回答他们认为正确的答案。多选题提供了更明确的信息,但仍有差距,可能无法提供全貌。复选框往往能提供更多的机会,让人在回答问题时更加广泛和全面,但这显然受到所提供的选项的限制,除非包括一个叙述性部分。你正在寻找合适的候选人的最佳机会,同时又不会让他们太容易选择自己。
  • 如果有绝对关键的特征(或完全的破坏者),请确保你在筛选器的早期就得到这些信息,这样你就可以淘汰一些人,而不至于在经历了整个过程后发现他们不符合某些基本标准。
  • 有些人想给你他们认为你想要的答案;其他人可能有理由隐藏他们的真实感受或情况。你提问的目的要明确,不要让人看出你在寻找什么和为什么;要确保你的问题是精心设计的,这样就不会泄露太多关于更广泛的背景和可能的目的和结果。你需要参与的人满足你的要求,而不是他们自己的要求。

筛选器可以为你节省大量浪费的精力和金钱,使你能够将资源集中在可能获得最佳回报的地方。如果你想知道更多关于如何构建和应用筛选器的信息,为什么不给我们发电子邮件呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

评论 (1)

[......]所需的数据,如何发掘和收集这些数据,并将其提交给设计师。这意味着编写可用性筛选器(为项目确定目标用户所需的问题)、讨论指南、数据收集[...] 。

评论已关闭。

Constructing Screeners for Usability Tests

usability test screener

The first thing you thought when you saw the title of this piece might well have been ‘What is a screener?’ A screener is simply a question, or set of questions, that help you to eliminate or select in candidates for participation in a piece of UX research.  When you are conducting a usability test there is little point recruiting people who have no knowledge, interest or use for the product or service you are testing; on the other hand you might not wish to attract only existing users as you wish to expand and cast your net a bit wider than your normal clientele.

It is a very useful starting point in this process to have a clear idea of whom you wish to speak to in a particular usability test and defining them in clear, relevant and identifiable terms so selecting in and screening out becomes an easier and more transparent operation. If your organisation uses and has constructed customer personas these would be ideal or screening against.

So here are some useful hints on preparing a screener for your usability test:

  • Talk to participants in the sort of language that is likely to engage and hold them. The more formal, technical or complex you make the screener, the less likely you are to get the results you are seeking.
  • There are three possible question types you can use; the straightforward yes’ or ‘no’; multiple choice with a single answer from a closed series; and checkboxes where the user can record multiple responses to a question or statement.It is not recommended to use yes or no questions as these tend to provide too little information and require follow-up questions or more background to contextualise the response. They can also be leading and draw users to answering what they perceive to be the right answer.Multiple choice questions provide more definite information but still leave gaps and might not provide the whole picture. Checkboxes tend to provide more opportunity to be expansive and comprehensive in answering though, obviously, this is limited by the options provided unless a narrative section is included. You are looking for the best chance of suitable candidates to be included without making it too easy for them to select themselves in.
  • If there are absolutely critical characteristics (or total dealbreakers) make sure you get this information out early in the screener so you can eliminate people without going through the whole process and then discovering they don’t meet some essential criterion.
  • Some people will want to give you the answers they think you want; others might have reasons for hiding their true feelings or situation. The objective of your questioning needs to be clear without making it obvious what you are looking for and why; make sure your questions are carefully framed so they don’t give away too much about broader context and possible aims and outcomes. You need people involved to meet your requirements and not their own.

Screeners can save you a lot of wasted effort and money and enable you to focus your resources where you are likely to get the best return. If you would like to know more about how to construct and apply them, why not email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts