专家评论不会告诉你的事

expert review

为什么专家评审不能取代可用性测试?

专家评审为预算有限的机构提供了一个具有成本效益的用户体验解决方案。它们是一种快速而简单的方法,可以让你的设计被检查出可用性问题,而不像全面的可用性测试那样有时费用高昂。

 

什么是专家评审?

简单地说,专家评审是指你聘请一位可用性专家对你的网站或应用程序进行专业审查。然后,他们会像一个典型的用户一样去检查,找到影响体验的问题,报告这些问题并提出如何解决的建议。

专家审查的结果可以用来改善你的网站的可用性,使用户的旅程不再充满挫折和放弃,确保体验胜过没有可用性输入的竞争对手的网站。

如果预算允许,专家审查也是为你的网站进行更深入的研究做准备的一个很好的方法,比如说测试,在可用性测试解决更深层次的问题之前,首先消除更明显的问题。

专家评论不能告诉你的东西

说了这么多,重要的是要明白专家评审的范围是有限的。无论你的网站是由一位专家审核,还是由一个小团体审核,事实是它不能取代你从实际用户的可用性测试中得到的丰富的洞察力。

关键的区别在于,无论专家有多少经验和知识,他们在一天结束时,只是猜测。用户行为是那些不可预测的变量之一,它习惯于在你最不期望的时候给工作带来麻烦,而且专家十有八九不属于网站的目标群体,他们仍然可能错过一些事情,或者发现一个真正的用户/测试参与者不会发现的问题。反之亦然。

事实是,经验数据每次都能击败简单的预测。它还可以衡量对用户界面的情感反应--这对用户的交互方式有影响--这是在专家评审的范围之外的事情。通过观察、倾听和实验所能发现的东西将导致更好的设计决策和一个更以用户为中心的网站。

正如我们已经说过的,专家评审有其用武之地。当时间尺度不能延伸到更广泛的审查时,他们是负担得起的,而且是理想的。他们也是在进行深入的定性研究之前消除明显的设计错误的一个好方法。只是不要期望它能够全面地替代真正的可用性测试。

如果你想改善你的网站的可用性,但你的手被时间和预算束缚,专家审查可能是答案。想了解更多,请今天就联系我们 +44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

What an Expert Review Won’t Tell You

expert review

Why Expert Reviews are not a replacement for usability testing

Expert reviews offer a cost-effective UX solution for organisations on a budget. They are a quick and easy way of getting your designs checked over for usability issues, without the sometimes prohibitive costs of full scale usability testing.

 

What is an Expert Review?

Put simply, an expert review is when you engage the services of a usability professional to cast an expert eye over your website or app. They will then go through it as though they were a typical user, finding issues that detract from the experience, reporting them and making recommendations of how they can be fixed.

The findings of an expert review can then be used to improve your website’s usability, making the user journey less fraught with frustration and abandonment, ensuring an experience which trumps that of a rival site with zero usability input.

If the budget will stretch, an expert review is also an excellent way of preparing your site for more intensive research, such as testing, eliminating the more obvious problems first, before usability tests tackle the deeper issues.

What an Expert Review can’t tell you

With all that said, it is important to understand that expert reviews are limited in their scope. Whether your website is audited by one expert, or by a small group, the fact is it can’t replace the richness of insight you get from usability testing with actual users.

The key difference is that no matter how much experience and knowhow the expert has under his or her belt, they are, at the end of the day, just guessing. User behaviour is one of those unpredictable variables that has a habit of throwing a spanner into the works when you least expect it and with the expert nine times out of ten not belonging to the group at which the website is targeted, they can still miss things, or find an issue where a real user/test participant wouldn’t. And vice versa.

The fact is empirical data beats simple prediction hands down every time. It can also gauge emotional responses to a UI – which can have a bearing on how a user interacts – something outside the remit of an expert review. What can be discovered by observing, listening and experimenting will lead to better design decisions and a more user-centric website.

As we’ve already said, expert reviews have a place. They are affordable and ideal when the timescale won’t stretch to more extensive scrutiny. They are also a great way to remove obvious design mistakes prior to in-depth, qualitative research. Just don’t expect it to be a comprehensive substitute for real usability testing.

If you are want to improve the usability of your website, but your hands are tied by time and budget, an expert review could be the answer. To find out more, contact us today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment