用户测试。种瓜得瓜,种豆得豆

user testing

数字开发周期中的用户测试

用户测试 是数字开发过程中的一个重要部分。这是绝对确定你所开发的界面对其设计的用户确实有效的唯一方法。任何低于实际用户测试的东西都会导致次优性能,这就是为什么即使是我们的专家评审服务,其方法也允许用户视频会议被纳入。

随着数字技术的发展,越来越多的风险是,设计决定不经过用户的测试,因为人们认为设计师知道他们在做什么。只要他们坚持最佳实践,这就是一个合理的假设。当然,当我们对网站进行用户测试时,我们发现的大多数问题都是由于偏离了最佳实践。

即使客户指定他们想要一个符合最佳实践的网站,他们能确定这对他们的用户群是有效的吗?我们最近测试了一个英国零售商的网站,尽管许多用户表现出相当高的互联网技能,但他们没有一个人知道客户的标志是一个到主页的链接。这种发现很难让人相信,这就是为什么用户测试如此重要--它挑战了我们的假设。

尽管数字化渗透到我们生活的方方面面,但它仍然是一个处于起步阶段的行业。网络和人们行为的演变是迅速的,因此尽管 "所谓的 "良好和最佳做法正在发展,但没有人可以拥有完整的知识。比如说。

  • iPad是在三年半前才推出的
  • 在用户行为转变方面,我们现在经常看到,ipad是最快和最有利可图的用户群体之一--老年人用来连接互联网的第一个设备。
  • 有谁完全了解这群人是如何在网上互动的吗?
  • 对这个小组进行了多少次用户测试?

把最佳实践放在一边,如果设计师想更有创意一点呢?或者客户需要一些创新的东西来使他们的数字财产从人群中脱颖而出?考虑到许多部门(零售、旅游、金融服务等)的网站设计都是虚无缥缈的,同时需要创造一种与众不同的体验,这不是一个不合理的要求。

用户测试比你想象的更实惠

委托用户测试的主要障碍之一是价格问题。在21世纪初,被要求为一套完整的用户测试课程支付超过15,000英镑的费用是很常见的。每个用户类型至少需要8个参与者,对于不同的受众,这可能意味着数天的用户测试和数万英镑的开发预算。毫不奇怪,当需要使用红笔时,用户测试被削减了。

随着时间的推移,我们发现,我们可以从只有5个参与者的用户测试中学习到大量的知识。或者通过增加用户视频会议或关键任务来交叉检查我们的专家评审假设。这两种方法使我们能够以远低于5000英镑的价格进行用户测试,并将其纳入许多项目的范围。

用户测试是一项重要的活动,可以了解一个数字界面是否适用于它的设计对象。要了解更多关于将用户测试引入你的开发计划的方法 今天就联系 UX24/7

相关帖子

留下评论

User testing: You reap what you sow

user testing

User testing in the digital development cycle

User testing is an important part of the digital development process. It is the only way to be absolutely certain that the interface you have developed actually works for the users it was designed for. Anything less than actual user testing will result in sub-optimal performance which is why even for our expert review service the methodology allows user video sessions to be incorporated.

As digital skills develop there is an increasing risk that design decisions will go untested with users because the perception is that the designer knows what they are doing. Providing they stick with best practice that is a reasonable assumption to make. Certainly when we are user testing websites the majority of the issues we identify are due to deviation from best practice.

Even if a client specifies that they want a website that complies with best practice can they be certain that is will work for their user population? We recently tested a website for a UK retailer and despite many of the users displaying quite advanced internet skills none of them knew that the client logo was a link to the Homepage. That kind of finding is hard to believe and it is why user testing is so important – it challenges our assumptions.

Despite digital permeating every aspect of our lives it is an industry still in its infancy. The evolution of the web and of people’s behaviours has been rapid and so despite ‘so called’ good and best practice developing no one can have complete knowledge. For example:

  • the iPad was launch only 3 ½ years ago
  • in terms of user behaviour shift we now regularly see that the ipad is the first device used to connect to the internet for one of the fastest and most lucrative user groups – old people.
  • Does anyone completely understand how this group of people interact online?
  • How much user testing with this group has there even been?

And putting best practice aside for a moment, what if the designer wants to be a little more creative? Or the client is calling for something innovative to make their digital property stand out from the crowd? Given the vanilla design of many sites within sectors (retail, travel, financial services etc.) alongside the need to create a differentiating experience this would not be an unreasonable request.

User testing is more affordable than you think

One of the major barriers to commissioning user testing has been the price. It was not uncommon in the early 2000’s to be asked to pay upwards of £15,000 for a fully specified set of user testing sessions. A minimum of 8 participants per user type was required and for diverse audiences this could mean days of user testing and tens of thousands of pounds out of the development budget. It is no surprise that when the red pen was required, user testing got cut.

What we have discovered over time is that we can learn a significant amount form user testing with just 5 participants. Or from cross-checking our expert review assumptions by adding user video sessions or key tasks. These two approaches allow us to carry out user testing for well under £5,000 and brings it into the scope of many projects.

User testing is a crucial activity toward understanding whether a digital interface works for the people it was designed to be used by. To learn more about the ways you can bring user testing into your development programme contact UX24/7 today

Related Posts

Leave a comment