我们什么时候才能回到可用性实验室?

Photo of usability testing lab from the viewing room

距离我们上次进行的调查已经超过了12个月。 设计研究 由于正在进行的全球大流行病,我们在可用性实验室设施中进行了研究。在这次大流行之前,我们的研究大约有20%是远程运行的,大部分的平衡都是在实验室里进行的--还有一些实地的背景研究。即使我们对远程研究很在行,但由于一直在做远程研究,我们已经变得更好了。

很多东西都变了。

  • 我们使用的技术平台
  • 我们如何处理报价和剪辑
  • 我们如何要求参与者加入
  • 我们的系统和流程
  • 我们对GDPR的处理
  • 我们支付奖励的方式

我可以继续说下去。有了我们所学到的这一切,还有什么理由再回到实验室吗?

我们通过走远程获得了什么?

由于设计研究是在网上进行的,因此获得了许多重要的优势。这些好处对客户和研究人员都有好处,我认为主要有以下几点。

  • 不需要旅行。
  • 不受实验室会议时间的限制。
  • 参与者在自己的家中/工作场所加入,所以他们更加放松。
  • 参与者使用他们自己的设备,他们a)熟悉和b)代表他们的真实世界。
  • 更少的不出现,发生时更容易重新安排时间。
  • 成本较低--没有实验室和餐饮费。
  • 更容易招募到难以接触的人 参与者 概况。

还有更多,但我认为这些代表了最大的好处。

不在可用性实验室里,我们失去了什么?

有几件我们认为会失去的东西,我们并没有失去。看到并记录参与者的面部表情。 手机 设备是一个真正的问题。但是 通过封锁进行创新 已经为我们提供了完全有效的缓解这种情况的新方法。

有两个大的损失,我认为这将确保实验室在某种程度上回归。这两个是。

观察室里的团队合作。 我知道有些客户没有在大流行期间进行研究,因为他们非常重视在实验室和市场中的经验。还有一些客户已经进行了研究,但他们迫不及待地想让团队在办公室以外的地方合作一天,讨论他们在研究中看到的东西。在大流行期间,我们有一个客户在远程做得相当好,但只有一个。这将是返回实验室的一个关键原因。

研究高度敏感或机密的原型。 很多时候,客户需要控制他们的方式和地点。 原型 在研究过程中被使用。如果它是一个特别创新的解决方案或包括机密信息,就会出现这种情况。 即使有可能用这些类型的资产进行远程研究(这可能是非常困难的),但缺乏控制可能不会让客户满意。只有一个实验室,他们可以要求我们使用他们的设备,从而控制资产的分配,才足以减轻他们的担忧。

更广泛的风险是什么?

我认为远程研究存在更广泛的风险,这与我们在测试平台出现后看到的情况相似(如 淘宝网).这些平台提供了方便的测试途径,在过去十年中,其使用量不断增加。它们的工作非常出色,我们自己也在使用它们,经常代表客户使用。

经常有客户要求我们查看他们正在使用的在线测试平台的情况。他们这样问是因为他们对工具的使用方式和他们基于数据的决定有顾虑。很多时候,事实上几乎总是这样,我们发现它没有被正确使用:垃圾进=垃圾出。

我认为,远程研究同样存在着不能正确进行的风险。如果在进行移动研究时,你不能看到参与者,只能看到界面,那么会议就可能沦为基本的问答--而不是观察。如果问题没有被很好地组织起来,那么结果(不是洞察力)就没有价值。

我认为我们会做多少可用性实验室研究?

我不认为我们会回到大流行之前的可用性实验室研究的比例,但我确实认为它会回来。我的猜测是,我们将在实验室里做大约30-40%的研究,其余的在远程或实地进行。这种分裂可能是由于UX24/7是一个全球性的设计研究机构,我们所做的很大一部分是多市场研究。由于各种原因,这些研究适合于远程研究,其中主要是成本问题。

如果你想了解更多关于实验室或远程用户研究的信息,请致电我们。 +44(0)800 0246247 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

When will we return to the usability lab?

Photo of usability testing lab from the viewing room

It has been more than 12 months since we last conducted design research in a lab facility due to the ongoing global pandemic. Prior to the pandemic about 20% of our research was run remotely with the majority of the balance lab-based – there was some contextual research in the field. Even thought we were pretty good at remote research we have become much better as a result of doing it all the time.

Plenty has changed:

  • The technology platforms we use
  • How we handle quotes and clips
  • How we ask participants to join
  • Our systems and processes
  • Our handling of GDPR
  • The way we pay incentives

I could go on. With all that we have learnt, is there any reason to go back to the lab?

What have we gained by going remote?

There are a number of significant advantages that have been gained as a result of design research being delivered online. The benefits are for both customers and researchers and I think the main ones are:

  • No need to travel.
  • Not being constrained by lab session hours.
  • Participants joining from their own home/workplace so they are more relaxed.
  • Participants using their own devices, that they are a) familiar with and b) represent their real world.
  • Fewer no-shows and easier to reschedule when it occurs.
  • Lower cost – no lab and catering fees.
  • Easier to recruit hard to reach participant profiles.

There are more but I think these represent the biggest benefits.

What have we lost by not being in the lab?

There are a couple of things we thought we would lose that we haven’t. Seeing and recording facial expressions when participants are on a mobile device was a real problem. But innovation through lockdown has given us new ways to mitigate this that are entirely effective.

There are two big losses that I think will ensure labs return to some degree. These are:

Team collaboration in the viewing room: I know some clients that have not carried out research during the pandemic because they value the experience of being in the lab, in market so greatly. Others that have but can’t wait to be able to have the team together for a day collaborating away from the office on what they are seeing in the research. We have had one client during the pandemic who did this quite well remotely, but only one. This will be a key reason for returning to labs.

Researching highly sensitive or confidential prototypes: Quite often the client needs to control how and where their prototype is being used during the research. This can be if it is a particularly innovative solution or includes confidential information.  Even though it is possible to run research remotely with these types of assets (it can be very hard) the lack of control may not be satisfactory to the client. Only a lab, where they can ask us to use their device and thereby control the distribution of the asset is sufficient to alleviate their concerns.

What are the wider risks?

I think there are wider risks with remote research that are similar to what we have seen since the emergence of test platforms (like Usertesting.com). These platforms provide easy access to testing and over the past decade have grown in use. They are brilliant at what they do and we use them ourselves, often on behalf of customers.

Frequently, clients ask us to look at what they are doing with an online testing platform. They ask because they have concerns over the way the tool is being used and the decisions they are basing on the data. Very often, almost always in fact, what we find is that it isn’t being used properly: rubbish in = rubbish out.

I think there is a risk that remote research is similarly easy to not carry out properly. If conducting mobile research and you can’t see the participant, only the interface, sessions could descend into a basic Q&A – not observation. If the questions are not then structured well, the results (not insight) are worthless.

How much lab research do I think we will do?

I don’t think we will get back to the proportion of lab research we did before the pandemic, but I do think it will return. My guess is we will do about 30-40% of research in the lab with the balance remote or in the field. This split could be driven by UX24/7 being a global design research agency where a large part of what we do is multi-market studies. These lend themselves to remote research for all sorts of reasons with cost being chief among them.

If you would like to know more about either lab-based or remote user research, ring us on +44(0)800 0246247 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts