专家评论--采纳批评意见

expert review

专家评审--你是在寻找挑战还是批准?

之前,我们提到了一个多样化的用户体验团队如何能带来红利,当选择一个机构来进行可用性研究时,你应该寻找一个有广泛想法并愿意让你负责的机构。

我们今天想进一步探讨的是后一点,即设计师难以接受反馈的情况。再说一遍,这并不是所有网页设计师的情况--有些设计师非常愿意看到他们的努力被挑剔和批评,因为他们知道这将改善用户的网站体验--但是我们遇到过那些要求专家评审的人,当他们得到评审结果时,基本上忽略了里面的建议。这表明他们实际上对改善他们产品的可用性并不感兴趣,而只是对他们所做的设计决定进行验证。

正如我们之前所说的,应该欢迎挑战,而专家评审的好处在于,它是向设计灌输新想法和最佳实践思维的一种廉价方式,在进行更密集的可用性测试之前,可以消除明显的问题。

这一点的另一面是,专家评审是如何进行论证的。评审员需要明白,设计者很可能在他们的设计中投入了大量的时间和工作,如果简单地把它拆开,不管问题有多么合理或根深蒂固,都不会赢得他们的支持。这毕竟不是对人物的暗杀。

进行专家审查的人在写报告时应遵循的一些硬性规则,包括。

  • 避免将批评个人化 - 设计是关键,而不是设计师
  • 把个人意见留在门外 - 报告是关于用户如何接近和参与设计的,而不是专家。在进行审查时,要坚持以角色为中心,并对所有的批评、负面的 积极的
  • 保持公正 - 网站或应用程序的存在是为了服务于一个特定的目的,并实现预先定义的业务目标。专家不应该让对这两者的个人感情影响他们的判断。
  • 要有技巧 - 设计师或设计团队也是人;他们并不是要创造一个像砖头一样的东西,让用户跑向防空洞。专家评审在提出批评时应始终考虑他们可能的感受。

接受挑战是好事。它使你能够接受你以前可能没有考虑过的想法。这就是专家评审的全部意义所在。实施这些想法将改善用户的可用性和整体体验,这在一天结束时才是最重要的。

如果你需要改善你的网站或应用程序的可用性,专家的审查可以让你的工作顺利进行。欲了解更多信息,请今天就联系我们,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Expert Reviews – Taking Criticism on Board

expert review

Expert reviews – Are you looking for challenge or ratification?

Previously, we mentioned how a diverse UX team can pay dividends and that when choosing an agency to undertake usability research, you should look for one that has a broad range of ideas and is willing to hold you to account.

It is the latter point we wish to delve into further today, namely the instance of designers who have difficulty accepting feedback. Once again, this isn’t the case for all web designers – some of who are more than willing to see their efforts picked apart and critiqued, secure in the knowledge that it will improve the website experience for the user – but we have come across those who request an expert review and, when delivered, largely ignore the proposals within. This suggests they aren’t actually interested in improving the usability of their product, but only in getting validation for the design decisions they’ve made.

As we’ve stated previously, challenges should be welcomed and the beauty of an expert review is that it is a cheap way of instilling new ideas and best practice thinking into designs, ironing out the obvious issues before undertaking a more intensive programme of usability testing.

The flip side to this comes with how the expert review makes its case. The reviewer needs to understand that the designer has probably put a lot of time and work into their design and to simply dismantle it in a manner that takes few prisoners – no matter how justified or deeply rooted the problems may be – isn’t going to win them over. It isn’t a character assassination, after all.

Some hard and fast rules that the person carrying out the expert review should follow when writing up their report, include:

  • Avoid personalising the criticism – The design is key, not the designer
  • Leave personal opinions at the door – The report is about how the user(s) would approach and engage with the design, not the expert. Stick to the personas when conducting the review and qualify all criticism, negative and positive
  • Remain impartial – The website or app is there to serve a specific purpose and achieve a pre-defined business goal. The expert shouldn’t allow personal feelings toward either of these cloud their judgement
  • Be tactful – The designer or design team are human; they didn’t set out to create something that handles like a brick and sends users running for the air raid shelter. An expert review should always consider how they might feel when delivering criticism.

Being challenged is good. It allows you to take on ideas you might not previously have considered. That is the whole point of an expert review. Implementing them will improve the usability and overall experience for the user, which, at the end of day, is what counts.

If you need to improve the usability of your website or app, an expert review can set the ball rolling. For more information, contact us  today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment