数字用户的文化层面

international ux

数字设计的互动和文化层面

文化维度可以对数字用户以及他们与数字设计的互动方式产生非常大的影响。理解这些因素可以意味着以一种有意义的和有效的方式与一种文化进行接触和交流,或者在你描绘的内容和描绘的方式上显得无关紧要(甚至是侮辱性的)。

上一篇 博客作品 在本系列文章中,我们已经讨论了文化差异的分类;这篇文章将探讨这些文化维度如何具体影响对数字设计的反应,以及你如何利用这些知识为你所用。

权力距离因素。

这对设计产生的最明显的影响是在你的网站上对人的描写。在低层阶级被认为没有什么影响力或相关性的情况下,使用描绘这一阶层的图像可能会对高层和低层阶级产生反作用。高层人士可能会对他们与低层人士归为一类的暗示感到不快,并且不希望与他们使用的产品联系在一起;低层人士可能渴望成为像高层一样的人,看到他们自己的群体被代表并不符合他们的愿望或期望。

权力距离比率较高的社会中,这可能是重要的,包括拉丁美洲、非洲和许多亚洲国家(尽管不是日本)。北美和西欧国家的权力距离得分往往较低。

不确定性的回避。

这类活动的后果可能是,数字用户对那些在他们接受的背景下是斜的或意外的设计图形感到不舒服。高不确定性规避社会更喜欢网站的简单性和透明度,这样他们就会知道任何行动的后果,并容易理解网站的元素和如何浏览它们。他们也会在一个反映他们自己的价值观、期望、周围环境的环境中更加自在,而且不会显得陌生或有挑战性。低不确定性规避者会在他们的设计中容忍更多的复杂性和直觉,并对不寻常或意外的情况有更多的准备。德国和日本是高不确定性规避的社会,拉丁国家也是如此,但英国、北欧和中国的文化在不确定性规避的量表上倾向于低。

个人主义对集体主义。

一个社会倾向于个人主义的程度会影响数字用户对传达奖励或激励感的图像的反应,这取决于接受者是由群体需求还是他们自己的需求所驱动。因此,反映社会或共享利益的图像在集体主义社会中会发挥得更好,而在集体主义社会中,也许更多的物质目标和结果会吸引以个人为基础的文化。隐私和个人因素对个人文化也可能更有价值。集体主义通常在欠发达的经济体、远东和东欧更为盛行。

男性气质/女性气质。

这对设计有明显的影响,特别是在那些妇女不能影响决策,甚至被劝阻不要出现在公众面前的社会,例如在一些穆斯林世界。在这种情况下,如何描绘妇女(如果有的话)需要非常小心地处理。

如果你想更多地了解这个复杂但迷人的主题,或者对评估其对一个国家的影响感兴趣,那么,你可以在这里找到。 特定国际市场请免费拨打0800 0246 247,或给我们发送电子邮件。 hello@ux247.com 来讨论你的需求。

相关帖子

留下评论

Cultural dimensions of the digital user

international ux

Digital design interaction and cultural dimensions

Cultural dimensions can have a very significant impact on digital users and how they interact with digital design. Understanding these factors can mean the difference between engaging and communicating with a culture in a meaningful and effective way or appearing irrelevant (or even insulting) in what you portray and the way you portray it.

Previous blog pieces in this series have dealt with the categorisation of cultural differences; this article will look at how these cultural dimensions specifically influence responses to digital design and how you can use this knowledge to your advantage.

Power distance factors:

The most obvious effect this has on design is the depiction of people on your website. Where the lower classes are perceived as having little influence or relevance using images that portray this stratum can be counter-productive to both higher and lower echelons. The higher grade people might be offended at the suggestion that they are grouped with lower classes and wouldn’t wish to associate with products they use; the lower stratum might aspire to be like the upper tier and seeing their own group represented does not meet their aspiration or expectation.

Societies that have high power distance ratios where this might be significant include Latin America, African and many Asian countries (though not Japan). North American and western European countries tend to have low power distance scores.

Uncertainty avoidance:

The consequence of this sort of activity might be that digital users are uncomfortable with design graphics that are oblique or unexpected in the context they are receiving them. High uncertainty avoidance societies would prefer simplicity and transparency in a website so they would know the consequences of any action and easily understand the elements of the site and how to navigate them. They would also be more at home in an environment that reflected their own values, expectations, surroundings and didn’t appear alien or challenging. Low uncertainty avoiders would tolerate more complexity and intuition in their design and be more prepared for the unusual or unexpected. Germany and Japan are high uncertainty avoidance societies as are Latin countries but Anglo, Nordic and Chinese cultures tend to be low on the uncertainty avoidance scale.

Individualism v collectivism:

The degree to which a society tends towards individualism can affect digital user reaction to images that convey a sense of reward or motivation depending on whether the recipient is actuated by the group needs or their own. So images reflecting societal or shared benefits would play better in a collectivist society where perhaps, more material objectives and outcomes would appeal to individual-based cultures. Privacy and personal factors can also be more valuable to individual cultures. Collectivism is generally more prevalent in the less developed economies, the Far East and eastern Europe.

Masculinity/femininity:

This has obvious implications for design especially in societies where women do not influence decision-making or are even dissuaded from appearing in public, such as in some of the Muslim world. How women are portrayed (if at all) needs to be handled extremely carefully in these circumstances.

If you would like to know more about this complex but fascinating subject or are interested in assessing its impact on a specific international market, call us free on 0800 0246 247 or drop us an email at: hello@ux247.com to discuss your needs.

Related Posts

Leave a comment