国际用户研究的资源配置

international user research

如何为国际用户研究项目提供资源

资源配置 国际用户研究 项目的最终成功的关键。无论你是使用自己的员工,还是聘请英国的顾问来管理或开展研究,或者由海外代理代表你在当地管理研究,他们的知识和投入对项目的框架和交付都至关重要,因此,对项目的最终成就也至关重要。

你在这一领域的一些决定可能是为你做出的;例如,如果你没有必要的内部员工专业知识水平或人数,你就必须寻求外部援助;或者如果你不能找到关于预期市场的足够的英国知识,你可能被迫寻求海外帮助。

在为国际用户体验研究项目提供资源方面,可供选择的组合有以下几种。

你自己的团队

虽然这是最有成本效益的选择,但也可能是最有局限性的。你拥有熟悉你希望测试的所有国际市场、了解其文化和语言并知道所有可能出现的问题的员工的可能性相当低。然而,如果你正在管理一个项目,而你的内部确实拥有相当数量的所需专业知识,并且可以很容易地获得和管理其余的专业知识,那么这可能是一个高效和有效的选择。它还提供了对整个过程的控制和直接影响。

用户体验联盟

这是一个覆盖全球的机构网络,可以与你一起工作,为你的国际用户体验研究项目提供支持、信息和交付。就质量、知识和覆盖面而言,这里面有一些大的未知数,在一头扎进重大研究之前,也许值得用一个小任务来试水。

一个由你管理的机构项目的集合

这提供了类似于用户体验联盟的服务,但这些机构是由你亲自挑选和控制的,所以你在时间、方法、操作人员等方面有更多的发言权。缺点是,你必须花时间招聘和审查工作人员,这可能很费时和昂贵--而且可能非常费力,如果你在这种活动中没有经验,最终会有缺陷。

自由职业者

这可能是一个昂贵的选择,但是,如果你确实找到了合适的人,这也可能是成功的一个关键因素。招聘工作在这里至关重要,你不仅需要注意专业知识、专业技能和对目标市场的熟悉程度,还需要注意个人因素,如可管理性、与团队的关系、接受指导的能力、沟通技巧等。

一家国际用户体验研究机构

虽然这种选择显然是有成本的,但这必须与增加的成功机会进行权衡。雇用一个机构可能会确保对你的项目有更大的控制和一致性,并且在进度和方向上更容易沟通。该机构可能有值得信赖的、可靠的渠道进入所需的市场,并有经验处理他们可能出现的实际困难。

关于研究策略的更多信息,请访问我们的 关于国际用户研究的报告.

无论你最终选择哪种方案,重要的是你要确定你的需求,并了解每种途径的局限性和可能出现的问题。如果你想就你的组织要求和选择进行非正式的讨论,请致电+44(0)800 0246 247,或发电子邮件给我们。 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Resourcing International User Research

international user research

How to resource an international user research project

Resourcing an international user research project is key to the ultimate success of the exercise. Whether you are using your own staff, UK consultants hired in to manage or carry out the research or overseas agents to manage the research on the ground on your behalf, their knowledge and input will be critical to how the project is framed and delivered – and, therefore, to its ultimate level of achievement.

Some of your decisions in this area might be made for you; for example if you don’t have the necessary level of internal staff expertise or numbers you are obliged to seek outside assistance; or if you can’t find sufficient UK knowledge about the intended market you could be forced to look for overseas help.

The combination of options available in resourcing an international UX research project are these:

Your own team

While this is the most cost-effective option it is also probably the most limiting. The chances of you having staff who are familiar with all of the international markets you wish to test, knowledgeable about their culture and language and aware of all the likely issues to arise, are fairly low. However, this can be an efficient and effective choice if you are managing a project where you do have a fair amount of the required expertise in-house and can acquire and manage the rest easily. It also provides control and direct influence on the whole process.

UX Alliance

This is a network of agencies covering the globe that can work together with you to provide support, information and delivery of your international UX research project. There are some big unknowns in this in terms of quality, knowledge, coverage and it might be worth testing the waters with a smaller task before pitching headlong into major research.

A collection of agencies project managed by you

This provides a similar service to the UX alliance but the agencies are hand-picked and controlled by you so you have more say in timing, methods, operatives etc. The downside is that you have to spend the time recruiting and vetting the staff which can be time-consuming and expensive – and possibly very taxing and, ultimately flawed, if you are not experienced in this sort of activity.

Freelancers

This can be an expensive option but, if you do hit on the right person, it can also be a key factor in success. Recruitment is vital here and you need to be aware not only of specialist knowledge, expertise and familiarity with the intended marketplace but also personal factors such as manageability, relationships with your team, ability to take direction, communication skills etc.

An international UX research agency

While there is, obviously a cost to this option, this has to be weighed against the increased chances of success. Employing one agency is likely to ensure greater control and consistency in your project and easier lines of communication on progress and direction. The agency is likely to have trusted, reliable access to the markets required and experience in dealing with the practical difficulties they might throw up.

For more information on research strategies go to our report on International user research.

Whichever of these options you ultimately plump for, it is important that you define your needs and understand the limitations and likely problems of each path. If you would like an informal discussion on your organisational requirements and options why not ring us on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment