德国的用户体验研究

在UX24/7,我们进行了大量的 国际用户体验研究.随着时间的推移,随着我们在更多的国家工作,我们继续了解更多关于文化的差异和协调新地区的用户体验项目。

这激发了我们最新的博客系列,我们的团队在其中分享了他们在世界不同国家开展用户研究的经验。

UX247 User Research Germany

对于一个相对较小的城市来说,科隆(Köln)是在德国进行用户体验研究的好地方。机场在城市范围内,因此到中央车站的火车只需2.9欧元,离我使用的研究设施不远,只需15分钟。车站和市中心附近有很多酒店,大多数酒店都在大教堂的阴影下。

我所参与的研究是在以下地点进行的 配额点 它位于主要购物街的附近,靠近大教堂。从阳台上可以看到大教堂(见图),阳台上有一个大的甲板区,我想在夏天是很完美的。如果你有时间,值得爬上500级台阶,欣赏莱茵河和城市的美景。

ux research germany

对于这个项目,我们正在进行90分钟的课程,因为它涉及寻找、选择和安装 手机 杀毒软件,以及使用免费和高级功能。即使有90分钟,我们的时间也很紧张,在70%的会议中已经超过了。尽管如此,他们并不觉得时间长,只是有很多东西需要完成。

德国的激励措施比许多其他国家低,对于这项研究,我们提供50欧元。招聘方想提供40欧元,即使是90分钟的课程,但我们把他们推得更高,以试图确保更大的质量。在16名参与者中,我们只有一个人没有来,但他们准备在其他时间来。有趣的是,它是 法律 在德国,名字必须表明性别,因此,当一个人的名字 参与者 列表中的性别栏是不需要的。

德语是非常精确的,所有的东西都有一个词,没有什么是可以推断的。这可能会导致一些非常长的单词,这对手机的可用性是一个挑战。即使字数很低,长的文本块也很常见。翻译,或者更重要的是本地化,是一个真正的挑战,将正确的德语单词与它的母语替代词相匹配。

我们要求参与者在我们使用的安卓手机上添加他们的指纹,因为在防病毒软件中,有许多功能可以使用指纹,例如锁定一个应用程序。几乎没有任何参与者使用同一个手指来保存作为他们的指纹。我们有不同的参与者使用各种不同的手指,没有一致性。

这个项目对安卓设备的要求非常高,在两次会议之间需要完全重置。这需要为每个参与者建立一个单独的身份,必须安装在手机上,然后在两次会议之间完全删除。我们还必须删除保存的生物识别数据,清除浏览器历史记录,清除Playstore历史记录,清除桌面历史记录,清除Gmail--这个清单是无穷的。所有这些都要从德语切换到英语,然后再切换回来,这样我就可以在我们的认证执业医师休息的时候进行更改。

我们收集的见解正是客户想要的,我现在正期待着对报告进行质量保证并与客户分享。

请在下面留言分享您的经验,我们很想听听。

如果你想在国际上开展用户研究,请致电我们 +44(0)800 024624 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

评论 (1)

[...] 下周:德国的用户体验研究 [...]

评论已关闭。

UX Research in Germany

Here at UX24/7, we carry out a large amount of international UX research. Over time, as we work in more countries, we continue to learn more about the differences in culture and coordinating UX projects in new territories.

This has inspired our latest blog series in which our team share their experiences of carrying out user research in various countries around the world.

UX247 User Research Germany

For a relatively small city, Cologne, or Köln is a great place to conduct UX research in Germany. The airport is within the city boundary and so the train to the central station, just a short walk from the research facility I’m using, is just €2.90 and takes only 15 minutes. There are plenty of hotels close to the station and city centre and most lay in the shadow of the cathedral.

The research I’m involved with is being run at Quota Point and is perfectly located off one of the main shopping streets and close to the Cathedral. From the balcony, which has a large decked area and I imagine is perfect in the summer, you can see the Cathedral (see picture). If you have a break it is worth climbing the 500 ish steps to enjoy the view across the Rhine River and the city.

ux research germany

For this project we are running 90 minute sessions as it involves finding, selecting and installing mobile antivirus software as well as using the free and premium features. Even with 90 minutes we are tight on time and have run over in 70% of the sessions. That said, they don’t feel long, there is simply a lot to get through.

Incentives in Germany are lower than many other countries and for this research we are offering €50. The recruiter wanted to offer €40, even for 90 minute sessions, but we pushed them higher to try and ensure greater quality. Out of 16 participants we only had one no-show but they were prepared to come at another time. Interestingly it is the law in Germany that a first name must indicate gender and so when a participant list arrives the gender column is not required.

The German language is very precise and there is literally a word for everything, nothing is inferred. That can make for some very long words which are a challenge for mobile usability. Long blocks of text are common even if the word count is quite low. Translation, or more importantly localisation, is a real challenge matching the correct German word to its native alternative.

We have asked participants to add their fingerprint to the Android phone we are using as there are a number of features in the anti-virus software that can be used with the finger print, such as locking an app. Barely any participant has used the same finger to save as their fingerprint. We have had every different finger used by different participants and no consistency.

The project has been very demanding with a complete reset of the android device required between session. That has required a separate identity for every participant that has to be installed on the phone and then entirely removed between sessions. We also have to remove saved biometric data, clear browser history, clear playstore history, clear desktop history, clear the gmail – the list is endless. All this and switch from German to English language and back again so I can do the change while our Accredited Practitioner gets a rest.

The insight we gathered has been exactly what the client wanted and I am now looking forward to QA’ing the report and sharing it with the clients.

Leave a comment below sharing your experiences, we would love to hear them.

If you would like to carry out user research internationally, ring us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts