网上行为的文化差异

culture online

文化差异如何影响在线行为

以前的读者 这个博客 我们将对网上的文化差异有一个简单的介绍。 世界各地的行为.任何这种长度的作品都只能是对问题的表面处理,但有一些基本的分类和项目有助于以更具体的形式定义问题,并为你构建自己的文化多样性和分散的市场研究项目提供有用的元素和指标。

也许关于文化差异的最有用的见解来自于以下人士的工作 Geert Hofstede (荷兰心理学家/人类学家和管理专家)主要在20世纪70年代和80年代。他认为,一个社会的文化方面大致分为四类。

  • 电源距离 - 这是一种文化中低层和贫穷成员接受该社会中不平等现象的程度。
  • 不确定性的回避 - 这是衡量一个社会在多大程度上使其成员避免不确定性和模糊性以及可能产生这些状态的情况的程序。
  • 个人主义对集体主义 - 这是指个人被期望照顾和关心自己及其直系亲属的程度,而不是融入更广泛的家庭群体或社会结构,以提供保护和归属感及忠诚度。
  • 男性气质对女性气质 - 简单地说,这涉及到在社会中出生为特定性别的意义和影响以及对个人的影响。

这些被认为是决定价值观和态度的主要因素,而价值观和态度又将强烈影响行为和行动。另外还增加了两个维度;它们是 长期取向 纵容VS克制.在实践中,这些都涉及到一个社会对传统规则和结构的遵守,以及它对照一套规则或准则看待快乐和道德的方式。

还有其他一些被认为是文化差异决定因素的特征,这些特征可能被证明对界定和构建研究项目是有用的。美国人类学家E.T.Hall的模型是建立在一个围绕感知和社会风俗的更多交织的结构之上的。他的四个维度是

高和低的背景。

在这种情况下,传递信息所需的细节数量由已经存在的社会背景的程度和深度决定。例如,法国人有一种高背景文化,几乎不需要解释意图。

单声道时间与多声道时间。

这涉及到一次处理多个问题的能力,并以结构化的方式快速推进。美国人倾向于单调,喜欢专注于眼前的事情,并把它完成;而法国人则会更加放松和灵活。

高领地性对低领地性。

这是社会对空间和所有权的重视程度。例如,原住民文化没有任何真正的土地所有权概念,所有人都在一起分享和工作。西方文化倾向于高度的领土和空间意识。日本人(可能是出于非常实际的原因)对个人空间的认识要少得多。

快速对慢速的信息传递。

以不同形式和媒体传播的信息将根据不同的方法被快速或缓慢地传达。报纸头条或广告牌是一个快速的信息;书籍或学术论文则慢得多。许多文化更习惯于一种形式而不是另一种形式;西方文化已经成为越来越多的快速信息的消费者,以至于像书籍和诗歌这样的慢速信息的载体的重要性已经下降,特别是对年轻一代。这个因素也与上面提到的多时空和高/低语境因素有关。

如果你想就这一复杂但迷人的主题与人交谈,或对评估其对特定国际市场的影响感兴趣,请联系我们。 +44(0)800 024624 或给我们发电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Cultural Differences in Online Behaviour

culture online

How cultural difference impact behaviour online

Previous readers of this blog will have had something of a brief introduction to cultural differences in online behaviour around the world. Any piece of this sort of length can only ever scratch the surface of the problem, but there  are some basic classifications and projects that have helped to define the problem in more concrete forms and provide useful elements and indicators in constructing your own research projects for culturally diverse and dispersed markets.

Perhaps the most single useful insight on cultural differences came from the work of Geert Hofstede (the Dutch psychologist/anthropologist and management expert) mainly in the 1970s and 80s. He predicated that the cultural aspects of a society broke down broadly into four categories;

  • Power distance – this is the extent to which the lower and poorer members of a culture accept the inequalities in that society.
  • Uncertainty avoidance – this is measure of how far a society has programmed its members to avoid uncertainty and ambiguity and situations which might create these states.
  • Individualism v collectivism – this is the degree to which individuals are expected to look after and be concerned about themselves and their immediate family rather than being integrated into a wider family group or social structure which provides protection and a sense of belonging and loyalty.
  • Masculinity v femininity – simply this relates to the significance and impact of being born into a particular gender within a society and the consequences for the individuals.

These are suggested as the main factors which determine values and attitudes which, in turn, will strongly influence behaviour and actions. Two further dimensions have been added; these are long-term orientation and indulgence v restraint. In practical terms these relate to a society’s adherence to traditional rules and structures and the way it views pleasure and morality against a set of rules or a code.

There are other sets of characteristics that have been identified as determinants of cultural difference which might prove useful in defining and constructing research projects. The American anthropologist, E.T.Hall’s model is based on a more interwoven structure based around perceptions and social mores. His four dimensions were:

High and low context:

Where the amount of detail required to get a message over is determined by the degree and depth of social context that already exists. The French, for example, have a high context culture where little explanation of intent is needed.

Monochronic v polychronic time:

This relates to the ability to deal with more than one issue at a time and progress it quickly in a structured way. The Americans tend to be monochronic and like to focus on what is in front of them and get it done; the French will be much more relaxed and flexible.

High v low territoriality:

This is the extent to which societies value space and ownership of it Aboriginial cultures for example do not have any real concept of land ownership with all sharing and working together. Westernised cultures tend to be highly territorial and space aware. The Japanese (probably for very practical reasons) are much less aware of personal space.

Fast v slow messaging:

Messages transmitted in different forms and media will be conveyed fast or slow depending on the method. A newspaper headline or billboard is a fast message; a book or an academic treatise much slower. Many cultures are more used to one form over another; Western cultures have become bigger and bigger consumers of fast messages to the degree that carriers of slow messages like books and poetry have diminished in importance especially for younger generations. This factor also relates to the polychronic time and high/low context elements referred to above.

If you would like to talk to someone about this complex but fascinating subject or are interested in assessing its impact on a specific international market, contct us on +44(0)800 024624 or email us at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment