英国用户研究的地区差异

uk user research

我们是否应该关注英国用户研究中的地区差异?

英国大量的用户体验(和其他)用户研究都集中在伦敦和英格兰东南部地区。这有很多原因。

  1. 伦敦是首都和最大的城市。
  2. 大多数大机构都设在伦敦。
  3. 伦敦的人口众多且多样化,使得采样和调查更加集中和经济。
  4. 机构知道并了解如何建立研究并使之在那里发挥作用。

可能还有其他的,但我想你会明白的。伦敦已经被研究得差不多了。但是,在那里进行的用户研究是否能给我们提供最平衡、全面、可靠和准确的潜在用户市场的情况?

快速的答案可能是否定的--而且有各种原因。

比如说。

  1. 伦敦的人口能代表整个英国的人口吗?这个问题的答案几乎可以肯定是 "不"。我们都知道,调查是经过加权和设计的,以捕捉具有特定特征的受访者;但普通的伦敦居民是否与该国其他地区的同行有着相同的信仰、态度、地位、财务状况?
  2. 虽然许多企业的总部在伦敦,而且在伦敦的知名度可能高于英国其他地区,但他们可能希望在更广泛的全国范围内做出判断,以伦敦为中心的用户研究可能无法提供这种广度和多样性,也无法提供获得360度视野所需的距离和角度。
  3. 城市和乡村居民的生活方式可能存在根本性的差异--交通、媒体、互联网的可用性、就业的类型和种类,所有这些都会促成不同的观点和价值观。
  4. 从用户体验的角度来看,大都市以外的用户与互联网的互动很可能与那些集中在郊区的用户不同,因为他们无法获得服务和产品,对互联网提供的服务和用途有不同的看法,或者是不同的生活方式,也许有更多的时间,但更少的选择和金钱,或者是消费模式和优先事项的差异。(例如,伦敦的消费者把大量的收入花在住宿、交通和娱乐上)。)

在委托进行用户研究时,可能值得考虑受众的潜在差异,特别是如果你正在试验扩张或创新的技术或发展。接受和使用的速度--甚至可能是人们使用网站和系统的方式和情况,都可能比你想象的或以资本为中心的测试所暗示的要多。

如果你正在考虑区域化用户体验研究--或任何其他形式的用户体验研究--那么,请通过电话联系我们 +44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件  hello@ux247.com 来讨论你的要求,以及我们如何能将我们的特殊品牌的专业知识用于你的问题。

相关帖子

留下评论

Regional Variation in UK User Research

uk user research

Should we be concerned with regional variation in UK user research?

A good deal of UK UX (and other) user research is focused around London and the south east area of England. There are a number of reasons for this;

  1. London is the capital and largest city;
  2. Most of the big agencies are based in London;
  3. London has a large and diverse population making sampling and surveying more concentrated and economic;
  4. Agencies know and understand how research can be set up and made to work there.

There are probably others but I think you get the picture. London is pretty well researched to death. But does user research undertaken there give us the best balanced, comprehensive, reliable and accurate picture of potential user markets?

The quick answer is probably no – and for all sorts of reasons.

For example;

  1. Is the population of London representative of the population of the UK as a whole? The answer to this is almost certainly ‘no’. We all know that surveys are weighted and designed to capture respondents with particular characteristics; but does the average London resident share the same beliefs, attitudes, status, financial situation with their counterparts in other regions of the country?
  2. While many businesses have their HQ in London and probably have a higher profile in the city than in other parts of the UK, they might be wanting to make judgements on a wider, national scale and a London-centric user research might not give this breadth and variety nor provide the distance and angle required to get a 360 degree view.
  3. There can be fundamental differences in lifestyles between city and country dwellers – transport, media, internet availability, types and variety of employment and all these can contribute to different perspectives and values.
  4. From a UX viewpoint, users outside of a large metropolitan area might well interact with the internet differently to those in concentrated conurbations due to inaccessibility of services and products, a differing perception of what the internet provides and what its uses are or different lifestyles with perhaps more time but less choice and money or variance in spending patterns and priorities. (London consumers spend a good deal of their income on accommodation, transport and entertainment, for example.)

It is probably worth considering the potential differences in the audiences when commissioning user research, especially if you are trialling expansionist or innovative technologies or developments. The rate of acceptance and use – possibly even the manner and circumstances of people using the site and systems might well differ more than you imagine or a capital-centric test might imply.

If you are thinking about regionalised UX research – or any other form of UX research – then please, get in touch by phone on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email  hello@ux247.com to discuss your requirements and how we can bring our particular brand of expertise to your problem.

Related Posts

Leave a comment