可穿戴技术。社会和用户体验

wearable technology ux

可穿戴技术。以牺牲社交为代价的用户体验?

先进的、交互式的可穿戴技术可能曾经看起来只是一个小问题。 星际迷航-这也是我的梦想。然而,幻想似乎正打算成为事实,因为 谷歌眼镜 引领下一代可穿戴技术的发展方向。

用户体验

无论何种设备,良好的用户体验始终是成功的关键因素。为使下一代可穿戴技术起飞,某些可用性因素将需要被考虑和解决。

  • 目标受众 - 这个设备是针对谁的?年龄组、性别、文化差异;都在最终的设计和用户如何与之互动中起着关键作用。
  • 宗旨 - 该设备是用来做什么的?它是否提供了一个具体的解决方案?更重要的是,它是否提供了足够的价值来说服目标用户佩戴它?
  • 实施 - 该技术是如何穿戴的?它覆盖身体的哪个部分?它是否容易安装/佩戴?
  • 设计 - 佩戴时看起来如何?它是否引人注目?它看起来很奇怪吗?会不会引起人们的注意,或者它是否与人体形态完美地结合在一起?从美学角度讲,使用者会乐意佩戴它吗?

为什么会有这种不同呢?

的确,这种或那种形式的可穿戴技术已经存在了一段时间,从自热夹克和蓝牙耳机,一直到不起眼的计步器,都属于这个特定的范畴。总的来说,这些都是单一用途的设备,旨在提供一个特定的解决方案。

谷歌眼镜的不同之处--以及由此产生的任何模仿/创新--在于它旨在将另一种已经被大量满足的体验,即内容消费,推进到下一个层次。

社会经验

可穿戴技术发展的这一最新阶段使我们离将内容直接传送到我们的头脑中又近了一步。就其设计而言,谷歌眼镜消除了内容消费的有形社会方面,将用户置于自己的气泡中,超出了外界的影响。

现在,社交场合已经受到技术的影响,酒吧、俱乐部、餐馆等都充满了沉浸在智能手机屏幕上的人们。不同的是,他们本质上仍然与设备分离,如果他们愿意,可以与朋友或合作伙伴分享经验。

像谷歌眼镜这样的设备使得这种体验对用户来说是独一无二的。这就引出了一个问题:在这个世界上,我们似乎已经退出了社会互动--除非是通过我们自己的技术泡沫--这是否像这些设备背后的亿万富翁公司希望我们相信的那样,是一个令人兴奋的前景?

确保你的产品满足你的客户需求,有 可用性测试. 今天就联系 UX24/7!

相关帖子

留下评论

Wearable Technology: The Social and User Experience

wearable technology ux

Wearable technology: User experience at the expense of social?

Advanced, interactive wearable technology might once have seemed little more than Star Trek-fuelled fantasy. However, it seems fantasy is intent on becoming fact, with Google Glass leading the way for the next generation of wearable tech.

The User Experience

Regardless of device, a good user experience is always a key element to success. For the next generation of wearable technology to take off, certain usability factors  will need to have been considered and addressed:

  • Target audience – Who is the device aimed at? Age group, gender, cultural differences; all play a key part in the final design and how the user interacts with it
  • Purpose – What is the device for? Does it offer a specific solution? More importantly, does it provide enough value to convince the intended user to wear it?
  • Implementation – How is the technology worn? What part of the body does it cover? Is it easy to attach/wear?
  • Design – How does it look when worn? Is it noticeable? Does it look odd? Would attention be drawn to it, or does it integrate seamlessly with the human form? Aesthetically speaking, would a user be happy to wear it?

Why is this different?

True, wearable technology, of one form or another, has been around for a while now, with everything from self-heating jackets and Bluetooth headsets, right down to the humble pedometer, falling under that particular umbrella. By and large, these have all been single purpose devices, designed to provide a specific solution.

Where Google Glass differs – and whatever imitations/innovations stem from it – is that it aims to take another, already massively catered for experience, that of content consumption, and move it on to the next level.

The Social Experience

This latest stage in the evolution of wearable tech moves us a step closer to beaming content directly into our heads. By its very design, Google Glass eliminates the tangible social aspect of content consumption, placing the user in their own bubble, beyond the reach of those outside.

Already, social situations have become compromised by technology, with pubs, clubs, restaurants etc, full of people absorbed in whatever’s happening on the screen of their smartphone. The difference here being they are essentially still detached from the device, and can, if they wish, share the experience with friends, or partners.

A device such as Google Glass makes the experience exclusive to the user. Which begs the question of whether in a world where we already seem to be withdrawing from social interaction – unless its via our own technobubble – is this as exciting a prospect, as the billionaire corporations behind these devices would have us believe?

Ensure your product meets your customers needs, with usability testing. Contact UX24/7 today!

Related Posts

Leave a comment