市场研究和用户体验研究之间的区别

difference market research user research

市场研究与用户体验研究

组织中的大多数人都熟悉 "市场研究 "这个术语,并在某种程度上理解它是什么以及它被用来做什么。用户体验研究是一种不同的动物,虽然有一些共同点和重叠,但它的使用通常有很大的不同--业务经理和高管对它的理解较少。

市场研究主要对数字感兴趣--通常是大量的数字--并用于验证对特定受众的商业假设。这些假设通常是新产品、服务、网站、广告或其他一些与市场有关的关键界面,可以通过相对简单的问题在大量的消费者中进行测试。它主要集中在获得科学有效和准确的预测,即消费者可能以积极的方式回应、购买或访问什么。这些数据使高级管理人员能够对新产品开发、进入新市场和其他关键的商业决策做出深思熟虑的评估。

市场研究的主要特点。

  • 关注数字和人口统计学
  • 旨在预测购买行为
  • 用于量化市场容量
  • 使用相对简单的命题
  • 科学的控制和明确的参数
  • 远程、间接的数据收集

用户体验(UX)研究采用了非常不同的技术,具有不同类型的目标。用户体验研究用于企业想了解一个人如何或为什么使用一个特定的产品或服务,是什么促使他们,他们对产品或品牌的感觉,他们如何做出决定,什么特征吸引或排斥他们。这是一个更加主观的过程,因为它试图捕捉个人的、深刻的或感觉到的反应和信念。

为了实现这一点,研究必须在一个更直接、面对面的环境中进行,可以对回答进行探究和询问,以提供更深刻的见解和信息。这意味着样本量要小得多,对参与者的询问时间要长得多,内容要详细。因此,所得到的数据并不具有科学性或可扩展性;但它并不打算这样做。调查的情感性质更多的是涉及到产品开发或广告的细微差别和微妙的方面,确定是什么推动了消费者的按钮并促使他们做出具体的反应和行动。

用户体验研究的主要特点。

  • 专注于感受和个人反应
  • 较小的样本量
  • 亲自管理,通常是面对面的
  • 不具有科学性或预测性
  • 能够探究复杂、精密的问题

这两种技术没有必要相互排斥;事实上,为了从任何研究主导的项目中获得最佳结果,将这两种方法结合起来是有很大好处的。这两个过程如何相互作用的例子是。

  • 利用用户体验研究来确定应在更广泛的受众中测试的因素,以验证市场潜力
  • 市场研究可以广泛表明未满足的需求 用户体验研究可以提供关于产品功能和用途的更详细的数据
  • 市场研究可以提供市场中广泛的机会或问题的迹象,用户体验研究可以探究并将其巩固为具体行动。
  • 用户体验研究可以为市场研究提出新的或经过调整的建议,以便在更大范围内进行测试。

这是一个广泛而丰富的潜在领域。如果你想了解更多,或有你想解决的具体问题或难题。 为什么不立即与我们联系?  D请向我们发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com。

相关帖子

留下评论

The Difference Between Market Research and User Experience Research

difference market research user research

Market Research Vs User Experience Research

Most people in organisations will be familiar with the term ‘market research’ and understand, to some degree, what it is and what it is used for. User experience research is a different animal and, although there is some commonality and overlap, its use is usually significantly different – and less understood by business managers and executives.

Market research is mostly interested in numbers – often large numbers – and is used to validate commercial hypotheses on particular audiences. These hypotheses are usually new products, services, websites, advertising or some other critical interface with a marketplace that can be tested with relatively simple questioning across a wide volume of consumers. It is largely focused on getting scientifically valid and accurate predictions of what consumers are likely to respond to, buy or access in a positive way. The data enables senior managers to make considered assessments about new product development, entering new markets and other crucial business decisions.

Main features of market research:

  • Numbers and demographics focused
  • Aimed at predicting purchasing behaviour
  • Used for quantifying market volumes
  • Uses relatively simple propositions
  • Scientific control and clear parameters
  • Remote, indirect data gathering

User experience (UX) research employs very different technique and has a different type of objective. UX research is used where the business wants to understand how or why an individual uses a particular product or service, what motivates them, their feelings towards the product or brand, how they make their decisions and what features attract or repel them. It is a much more subjective process as it attempts to capture personal, deeply held or felt responses and beliefs.

In order to achieve this, the research has to be conducted in a more direct, face-to-face environment where responses can be probed and interrogated to provide deeper insights and information. This means much much smaller sample sizes and much longer and more detailed questioning of participants. The resulting data is therefore not scientifically valid or scaleable; but it is not intended to be. The emotive nature of the survey is more involved with the nuances and subtle aspects or product development or advertising, identifying what pushes consumers’ buttons and prompts specific responses and actions.

Main features of user experience research:

  • Focused on feelings and personal responses
  • Smaller sample sizes
  • Administered personally, usually face-to-face
  • Not scientific or predictive
  • Can probe complex, sophisticated issues

There is no need for the two techniques to be mutually exclusive; indeed there is a good deal of merit in combining both approaches to get the optimum results from any research-led project. Examples of how the two processes can interact are:

  • Using user experience research to determine the factors that should be tested on wider audiences to verify the market potential
  • Market research can give broad indications of unmet demand for User experience research to provide more detailed data on product features and uses
  • Market research can give indications of broad opportunities or problems in markets which UX research can probe and solidify into concrete actions
  • User experience research can throw up new or adapted propositions for market research to test on a wider scale.

This is a wide and rich area of potential. If you would like to know more or have specific issues or problems you would like to address, why not get in touch with us right away?  Drop us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment