博登 - 中国的用户研究

boden logo

中国的用户研究为零售商Boden提供了洞察力

boden usability testing

背景介绍

自1991年推出以来,Boden已经走过了漫长的道路。当时,Boden是一家邮购企业,只有8种男装产品,专门面向英国市场销售。在这期间,Boden增加了女装、童装,加入了数字革命,进入了美国和德国等地。 它现在是它所经营的市场中最知名的高端时尚在线品牌之一。

作为其国际战略的一部分,目前正在审查进入中国市场的问题,在过去的18个月里,中国对Boden品牌的需求完全是通过口碑有机增长的,Boden通过英国网站收到的中国客户的订单数量也越来越多。

简介

为了更好地服务中国本土市场,Boden希望探索消费者与当前Boden英国网站的互动方式。此外,他们与电子商务合作伙伴Global-e采取的本地化措施是否符合当地用户的期望。最后,是否有必要建立一个专门的、本地化的Boden中文网站是关键问题。

国际发展部主管Mark Batty解释了这一挑战。"由于这是我们第一次在中国进行用户测试,我们需要一个既有经验又有实地联系的机构"。他开始寻找一个合适的合作伙伴,并找到了UX24/7。"UX24/7展示了他们的经验和当地的团队"。

UX24/7的任务是组织在北京进行的用户研究,以适应马克的繁忙日程。

方法论

该项目组织涉及创建一个招聘筛选器,将英国和理解的市场细分转化为中国本地市场。例如,使用中产阶级收入水平进行选择是筛选器的要求,重要的是UX24/7了解中国的家庭收入范围意味着什么。

对UX24/7来说,组织当地的用户体验能力是相对容易的,因为他们在全球范围内运作。 认可的从业人员方案.在该机构工作的每个人,无论是全职、兼职还是自由职业者,都要根据认证标准进行评估,而且都是资深和有经验的用户体验研究人员。UX24/7在中国已经有认可的从业人员,因此该团队是根据适合性和可用性来选择的,并为项目的顺利运行带来了必要的本地知识。

实际的研究包括在两天内对移动和桌面设备上的12个单独会议进行调控,然后进行分析和报告。来自Boden的Mark和UX24/7的CEO Paul Blunden出席了这两天的研究。同声翻译使他们能够跟踪研究室中的对话和反馈,并获得第一手的见解。

简要事实

  • 在北京进行的用户研究
  • 网上购物行为和可用性
  • 具有本地知识的当地团队
  • 在移动和桌面上有12次一对一的会议

结果

其范围超过了可用性测试,包括更深入的研究。这一切都被囊括在一份详细的报告中,该报告是根据Boden的具体需求制定的,包括市场洞察力和用户体验洞察力。

主要结论包括。

  • 中国消费者如何与国际品牌互动
  • 电子商务的本地化挑战以及需要做什么来促进销售和推动转换
  • 中国消费者利用哪些渠道来了解品牌、购买产品并与朋友和同事分享信息
  • 中国消费者在国际网站网购时遇到的配送难题

UX24/7的中国本地团队对这些问题和其他问题进行了详细分析,并提出了与中国市场相关的具体建议。

"在中国进行的2天的用户研究所产生的洞察力绝对是非常宝贵的,超过了我们的预期。如果你想找人支持你深入了解你的国际客户的网上购物情况,请联系我们。 行为 和经验,我会毫不犹豫地推荐UX24/7"

马克-巴蒂
  博登公司国际发展部负责人

相关帖子

留下评论

boden logo

eCommerce User Research in China

User research in China provides the insight for retailer Boden

boden usability testing

Background

Boden has come a long way since its launch in 1991. Back then, Boden was a mail order business with just 8 menswear products selling exclusively to the UK market. During the intervening period Boden has added womenswear, childrenswear, joined the digital revolution, entered America, Germany and more.  It is now one of the most recognised brands for premium fashion online in the markets it operates.

As part of its international strategy, entry into the Chinese market is now being reviewed, with demand for the Boden brand in China having grown entirely organically, through word of mouth and Boden receiving increasing quantities of orders via the UK website from Chinese customers in the last 18 months.

Brief

In order to better serve the local Chinese market, Boden wished to explore how consumers interact with the current Boden UK website. Also, whether the localisation steps they have taken with ecommerce partner Global-e were meeting the expectations of local users. Finally, the question of whether there was a requirement for a dedicated and localised Chinese Boden website was key.

Mark Batty, Head of International Development, explains the challenge. “As this was our first-time user-testing in China we needed an agency with both the experience and the contacts on the ground”. He set about looking for a suitable partner and found UX24/7. “UX24/7 demonstrated they had experience and a local team in place”.

UX24/7 was tasked with organising the user research to take place in Beijing and to fit around Mark’s busy schedule.

Methodology

The project organisation involved creating a recruitment screener that translated UK and understood market segments into the local Chinese market. For example, selection using middle class income levels was a requirement for the screener and it was important that UX24/7 understood what household income range that meant for China.

Organising the local UX capability was relatively easy for UX24/7 as they operate a global Accredited Practitioner programme. Everyone who works for the agency, whether full time, part time or freelance is evaluated against the accreditation criteria and all are senior and experienced UX researchers. UX24/7 already had accredited practitioners in China and so the team was selected based on suitability and availability and brought the essential local knowledge required for the smooth running of the project.

The actual research involved the moderation of twelve individual sessions over two days on both mobile and desktop devices, followed by analysis and reporting. Mark from Boden was present for both days of the research together with UX24/7 CEO Paul Blunden. A simultaneous translator enabled them to follow the conversation and feedback in the research room and gain insight first hand.

QUICK FACTS

  • User research conducted in Beijing
  • Online shopping behaviour and usability
  • Local team with local knowledge
  • 12 one to one sessions on mobile and desktop

Results

The scope went beyond usability testing and included more in depth research. This was all encapsulated into a detailed report structured to Boden’s specific needs and including market insight together with user experience insight.

Key findings included:

  • How Chinese consumers interact with international brands
  • The localisation challenges for eCommerce and what needs to be done to facilitate the sale and drive conversion
  • The channels Chinese consumers utilise to learn about brands, buy products and share information with friends and colleagues
  • The delivery challenges Chinese consumers experience when buying online from international websites

UX24/7’s local Chinese team provided detailed analysis of these issues and others together with recommendations that were relevant and specific to the Chinese market.

“The insight generated from 2 days’ user research in China was absolutely invaluable and more than we expected. If you’re looking for someone to support you gaining insight into your international customers’ online shopping behaviour and experiences I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend UX24/7

Mark Batty
  Head of International Development, Boden

Related Posts

Leave a comment