记住我?持久性的Cookies以获得更好的用户体验

persistent cookies ux

记住我?持久性的cookies以获得更好的用户体验

一个持续的特点是在 可用性测试 是来自用户的评论,他们只在觉得有实际好处的情况下才会预先登录一个网站。但在绝大多数情况下,用户实际上根本没有登录,他们只是被亚马逊和易趣等主要网站使用的 "记住我 "功能捕获并自动登录了。

网站使用的cookies有两种类型:会话cookies和持久性cookies。会话cookie仅在您当前会话期间保留在您的计算机上,并在您关闭浏览器时自动删除。另一方面,持久性cookies嵌入到您的计算机子文件夹中,并将继续留在那里,除非您实际删除它们,或者如果它们有时间限制,您的浏览器会替您删除。这些cookies实际上是在了解您的喜好和兴趣,并利用这一点来改善用户体验,确定您感兴趣的网站领域。

在竞争日益激烈的在线零售世界中,网站需要使用他们所掌握的所有工具来保留访问者并将其转化为客户。用户可能因为任何原因而放弃一个零售网站;它没有提供他们认为有用或有趣的东西;它没有帮助他们选择;它没有提供正确的产品信息;它没有帮助他们在网站上找到提供的各种产品。这些只是一般的抑制因素;当你进入具体的问题,如支付选项、送货、价格、产品范围、结账的便利性、选项的透明度和许多其他可能的因素,都可能导致潜在的客户觉得他们已经受够了,或者只是懒得继续。

虽然使用持久性cookies不能解决所有这些问题,但至少可以确保访问者被带到网站的相关部分,并向他们提供他们可能想要或至少感兴趣的产品/服务和其他选择。Cookies还可以显示访问者如何使用网站,他们访问的区域以及他们退出的地方;因此,他们可能能够提供关于用户体验的信息,说明你的网站到底是什么让他们喜欢或不喜欢。如果你发现大量的潜在买家在结账或送货时退出,那么你就知道你需要对这些地方的界面质量或你实际提供的东西做些什么。

使客户旅程尽可能简单和透明,并尽可能多地收集有关客户需求和行为的信息,是在线零售商在其网站上可以实现的两个最重要的目标。使用持久性cookies至少可以帮助在这两个领域取得一定程度的成功。

如果你想了解更多关于网站可用性方面的信息或建议,为什么不给我们免费打电话0800 0246 247或给我们发电子邮件来了解我们的广泛知识呢? hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Remember me? Persistent Cookies for better User Experience

persistent cookies ux

Remember me? Persistent cookies for better user experience

A continual feature in usability testing is the comment from users that they only log in to a site upfront if they feel there is a tangible benefit to so doing. In the vast majority of cases though the user hasn’t actually logged in at all, they have simply been captured and automatically logged in by the ‘remember me’ function used by major sites like Amazon and ebay.

There are two types of cookies used by websites; session cookies and persistent cookies. Session cookies only remain on your computer for the duration of your current session and are automatically erased when you close your browser. Persistent cookies, on the other hand, embed themselves in your computer’s subfolders and will remain there unless you actually delete them or your browser does it for you if they have a time-limited duration. These cookies in effect learn what your preferences and interests are and use this to improve the user experience and identify areas of the site that will be of interest and use to you.

In the increasingly competitive world of online retailing sites need to use all the tools at their disposal to retain and convert visitors to customers. Users can quit a retailing site for any number of reasons; it isn’t offering them anything they find useful or interesting; it isn’t helping them with options or choices; it isn’t providing the right sort of product information; it isn’t helping them around the site to find the sorts of products on offer. And these are only the general inhibitors; when you move into specifics issues like payment options, delivery, price, range of products, ease of checkout, transparency of options and many other possible factors can cause the potential customer to feel they have had enough or just can’t be bothered to continue.

While using persistent cookies cannot address and solve all of these problems it can at least ensure that visitors are taken to parts of the site that are relevant and offer them products/services and other options that they are likely to want or at least find of interest. Cookies can also give indications of how the visitors are using the website, the areas they visit and where they quit; so they might be able to supply information about the user experience on exactly what it is about your website that turns them on – or off. If you find significant numbers of potential buyers quitting at checkout, or delivery options then you know that you need to do something about either the quality of interfaces at those points, or what you are actually offering.

Making the customer journey as simple and transparent as possible and gathering as much information about customer wants and behaviours are two of the most important objectives an online retailer can aim for with their website. Using persistent cookies can at least help in achieving a measure of success in both these areas.

If you would like more information or advice on this or any other areas of website usability, why not tap into our extensive knowledge by giving us a call free on 0800 0246 247 or dropping us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment