响应式网页设计的可用性测试

responsive design

在多个平台上进行可用性测试

可用性测试 响应式网页设计(RWD)意味着在不同的领域进行测试。 多平台往往同时或同时进行。这并不总是容易或负担得起的,所以你可能不得不在项目的一开始就做出一些艰难的决定。

例如,如果你的预算不能扩展到所有平台的测试,你应该排除哪些平台?这是一个相对简单的答案;在大多数情况下,平板电脑格式几乎是桌面的缩小版,但智能手机屏幕的有限空间是一个更困难的挑战。因此,如果你要放弃一种媒介,那么最有可能的就是平板电脑。桌面和智能手机仍然占互联网访问量的80%(尽管平板电脑的使用正在上升),而且其他两个平台的很多发现都可能在平板电脑上有一些交叉阅读。

在做 实用的可用性测试 在你的设计中,你需要为你的测试人员提供在各种格式之间转换的能力,甚至将它们结合在一起使用。这就提供了更有价值的信息,让我们了解不同格式的可用性是如何变化的,以及什么在一种格式中有效而在另一种格式中无效。它还模拟了现实世界的做法,即用户在访问、浏览和使用网站时经常在不同的媒体之间转换。

观察用户如何与各种格式进行互动,可能最好的办法是 拍摄 他们的互动。有一些软件不仅允许你记录,而且还可以实时在线编辑和评论,这在功能、时间和成本方面提供了巨大的提升。

在对RWD进行跨平台的可用性测试时,需要注意的特别特征是。

  1. 字体大小和可读性 - 在桌面上有效且可以接受的东西,在较小的格式上很可能太小或占用太多宝贵的空间;所以要简明、相关且切中要害。
  2. 使用设计装置和功能 - 你可能必须以更明显的方式传达信息和指示,所以考虑使用按钮、彩色面板和盒子、超链接等,把用户带到他们想去的地方,或识别信息的状态和类型。
  3. 传递重要的公司和产品信息 - 确保你的用户通过使用标志、制服颜色、任务声明、营销口号和其他任何能在你的活动和专业领域中标明你的地方和他们正在看的东西,立即明白他们在哪里。
  4. 集团的重要标识符 和信息在页面的顶部附近,因此它在较小的格式中出现在折叠上方。
  5. 考虑 重新定义任务 所以他们工作起来更顺畅,更适合小屏幕区域的空间和背景--所以要考虑用不同的设备或功能来实现结果。

当跨平台设计时,响应式设计是一个巨大的好处,但它确实带来了它自己的一系列问题。不要因此而放弃,因为它的优点远远超过了缺点。

如果你想了解更多关于RWD的信息,了解它是如何工作的,以及它能给你的企业带来什么好处,不妨致电+44(0)800 0246 24,或发送电子邮件给我们。 hello@ux247.com联系我们.我们将非常乐意讨论您的网站要求的任何方面。

相关帖子

留下评论

Usability Testing of Responsive Web Design

responsive design

Usability Testing on Multiple Platforms

Usability testing responsive web design (RWD) means testing across multiple platforms, often simultaneously or in tandem. This is not always easy or affordable so you might have to make some tough decisions right at the outset of the project .

For example if your budget doesn’t stretch to testing on all platforms, which should you exclude? This is a relatively simple one to answer; the tablet format is pretty much a shrunken version of desktop in most cases but the limited real estate of the smartphone screen is a much more difficult challenge. So, if you are going to drop one medium it should, most likely, be the tablet. Desktop and smartphones still account for over 80% of internet access (though tablet use is on the rise) and a lot of the findings from both other platforms are likely to have some read-across to tablet anyway.

When doing the practical usability tests on your design, you need to provide your testers with the ability to transfer between the various formats and even use them in conjunction with one another. This provides more valuable information about how usability varies between the formats and what works in one and not in another. It also emulates real-world practice where users often transfer between media when accessing, navigating and using sites.

Observing how users interact with the various formats is probably best done by filming their interactions. There is software available that not only allows you to record but also to edit and comment online in real-time which provides a huge boost in terms of functionality, time and cost.

Particular features to look out for when usability testing RWD across platforms are:

  1. Font size and legibility – what works and is acceptable on desktop might well be too small or take up too much valuable space on smaller formats; so be concise, relevant and to the point;
  2. Use of design devices and functions – you will probably have to convey information and instructions in a more obvious way so consider the use of buttons, colour panels and boxes, hyperlinks etc to take users where they want to go or identify the status and type of information;
  3. Conveyance of vital corporate and product information – make sure your users understand where they are and what they are looking at instantly by the use of logo, livery colours, mission statements, marketing straplines and anything else which marks you out in your field of activity and expertise;
  4. Group important identifiers and information near the top of the page so it appears above the fold in smaller formats;
  5. Consider redefining tasks so they work more smoothly and fit more into the space and context of smaller screen areas – so think about achieving outcomes with different devices or functionality.

Responsive design is a massive benefit when designing across platforms but it does introduce its own set of problems. Don’t let this put you off as the advantages far outweigh the downside.

If you would like more information on RWD, how it works and how it could benefit your business, why not ring us on +44(0)800 0246 24, or email hello@ux247.com or contact us. We would be more than happy to discuss any aspects of your website requirements.

Related Posts

Leave a comment