基于任务的研究--网站可用性的发展方向

task based usability test

软件、系统以及网站的最终目标是有用和可用的。如果用户不能理解复杂而优雅的软件和系统解决方案,或者它们需要太多的技术知识,或者仅仅是太多的互动来产生结果,那就没有什么好处。

没有纳入这种本能的可用性的网站很快就会发现自己被所有的人抛弃,除了最积极的访问者。你能承受因为你的网站太难理解或导航而失去大量的访问者吗?即使是最成功的网站也会对这个问题回答 "不"--而这正是它们成功的部分原因。

什么是基于任务的可用性研究?

基于任务的研究围绕着定义用户在你的网站上可能执行的离散任务,观察他们为实现这一目标所要经历的步骤,同时确定一般的互动,如在网站上移动,使用功能和指示等。然后对用户的互动进行分析,看他们发现任务有多难,他们与网站的互动有多本能,任务是否可以简化或浓缩以使其更容易或更快,是否可以提供更好或更多的信息或功能来帮助用户。

可以观察和测试哪些通用元素的可用性?

了解网络用户一般是如何与网络互动的是非常有用的,这样你就可以在你自己的设计中提供最有效的、可识别的路线。你可以考虑的一些通用任务是:。

  • 人们如何使用信息:他们对提供的选项做了什么,如保存、打印等。
  • 人们如何 l在页面上显示元素:他们如何确定他们想要查看和访问的内容。
  • 用户如何 转到页面:他们如何使用浏览器来访问一个特定的页面--URL、超链接等
  • 用户如何向网站提供个人信息:他们是否使用自动填表,是否手动填表等。 

将基于任务的可用性研究纳入网页设计中

很少有网站在设计过程中把基于任务的建模作为一个组成部分。许多网站是以设计或功能为导向的,可用性只是在这些问题之后才被考虑,如果有的话。但是,使用基于任务的方法可以在早期发现与设计和功能元素不一致的可用性问题,并使你免于昂贵的改造。它甚至可以阻止你犯一个关键性的错误,即实施一个阻碍和阻止用户的网站,不管它看起来有多大的企业或美学上的好处。

定义可能对你的网页设计至关重要的任务--包括一般的和具体的--并不总是容易的。这就是为什么在开发的早期阶段,基于任务的研究的迭代方案会有所帮助。如何构建这种类型的 研究 可能最好由在通用测试领域有很多经验的专家来决定,他们也了解具体的可用性和交互性问题,并能将其与你的企业设计和功能需求相结合。

如果你想与能在所有这些方面提供帮助的人交谈,请免费拨打08000 246 247或 联系我们.我们可以帮助你实现一个改善网站可用性的网站,为你省钱并吸引更多的业务。

相关帖子

留下评论

Task Based Research –The Way Forward for Website Usability

task based usability test

The ultimate goal of software, systems – and by extension, websites – is to be useful and usable. Sophisticated and elegant software and system solutions are not much good if users can’t fathom them or they require too much technical knowledge or simply too many interactions to produce results.

Websites that don’t incorporate this sort of instinctive usability will soon find themselves abandoned by all except the most motivated visitors. Can you afford to lose significant numbers of visitors to your site because it was too difficult to understand or navigate? Even the most successful websites will answer ‘no’ to this question – and that is part of the reason they are successful.

What is task-based usability research?

Task-based research revolves around defining discrete tasks that a user might perform on your website, observing the steps they would go through to achieve this and also identifying generic interactions such as moving around the site, using functions and instructions etc. The user’s interaction is then analysed to see how difficult they found the task, how instinctive their interaction with the site was, whether the task could be simplified or condensed to make it easier or quicker, whether better or more information or functionality could be provided to aid the user.

What generic elements might be observed and tested for usability?

It is useful to know how web users interact generally with the web so you can provide the most efficient and recognisable routes in your own design. Some of the generic tasks you might consider are:

  • How people use information: what they did with options offered such as save, print etc;
  • How people locate elements on the page: how they identify what they want to view and access it;
  • How users go to pages: how they use the browser to access a particular page – URL, hyperlinks etc
  • How users provide personal information to a site: whether they use auto-fill, fill in a manual form etc 

Incorporating task based usability research into web design

Few websites are designed with task-based modelling as an integral part of the process. Many are design- or function-driven and usability is only considered after these issues, if at all. But using a task-based approach can provide considerable benefits in identifying usability issues early on that are at odds with the design and function elements and save you from expensive remodelling. It might even stop you making the critical error of implementing a site that obstructs and discourages users however corporate or aesthetically pleasing it might appear.

Defining the tasks – both generic and specific – that could be crucial to your web design is not always easy. This is why an iterative programme of task-based research can help in early phases of development. How to structure this type of research is probably best decided by experts who have a lot of experience in the field of generic testing and also understand specific usability and interaction issues and can integrate them with your corporate design and functional needs.

If you would like to talk to someone who can help in all of these respects please call us free on 08000 246 247 or contact us. We can help you achieve a site with improved website usability, that saves you money and attracts more business.

Related Posts

Leave a comment