不要让我点击--平板电脑用户体验

tablet user experience

优化平板电脑的用户体验应该意味着更多的轻扫和更少的点击

目前,我们正在与许多品牌合作或交谈,有一个反复出现的主题,那就是对平板电脑用户体验的短期优化。像大多数机构一样,他们报告的增长来自 手机 他们的网站流量中,平板电脑所占比例高于智能手机。他们还看到,平板电脑的转换率远远低于笔记本电脑或台式电脑。

由于智能手机的屏幕尺寸小得多,许多机构准备忍受较低的转换率,因为没有一个在小屏幕上运行良好的网站。许多人(似乎是大多数人)正在努力实现响应式设计的网站,但这还需要一些时间,因此需要临时的解决方案。随着许多人对糟糕的智能手机体验感到不满,他们的注意力转向了平板电脑,目标是使平板电脑的转换率达到其台式机和笔记本电脑的水平。

更大的似乎被认为是更好的,这是事实。较大的按钮允许手指与之互动,而不是由鼠标引导光标,这是有道理的,而且确实提高了可用性--我们在实验室里看到了这一点。 可用性测试 经常如此。但是,如果你真的想提高平板电脑的用户体验,优化必须发生在利用设备功能的领域。平板电脑的主要功能是 "轻扫 "而不是 "点击 "的能力。

史蒂夫-克鲁格写了一本关于用户体验的书,名为"不要让我想",它向设计者提出了一个案例,以使用户的事情更容易,减少 认知性 负载。我敦促设计师和网站所有者更努力地考虑平板电脑的用户体验,在等待全面重新设计的同时调整体验,利用现有的功能。作为一个平板电脑用户,我请求你们--"不要让我点击"。

如果你想了解更多关于增强客户的平板电脑用户体验的信息,请给我们打一个免费电话 0800 0246 247 或给我们发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

Don’t make me Click–Tablet User Experience

tablet user experience

Optimising for tablet user experience should mean more swipe and less click

There is a recurring theme running with many of the brands we are working or speaking with at the moment and that is short term optimisation of the tablet user experience. Like most organisations, they report growth from mobile traffic to their websites with tablet PC’s taking a larger proportion than Smartphone. And what they also see is conversion rates on tablet PC well below that of laptop or desktop PC.

Because of the far smaller screen size associated with smartphones, many organisations are prepared to put up with lower conversion rates in the absence of a website that works well on small screens. Many (most it would seem) are working toward a responsively designed website but that is some way off and so interim solutions are required. With many resigned to the poor smartphone experience their attention turns to tablet and the objective is to get tablet conversion rates up to the levels of their desktop and laptop siblings.

Bigger seems to be considered better and that is true. Larger buttons that allow fingers to interact with them rather than a mouse directed cursor make sense and do improve the usability – we have seen it in the lab usability testing frequently. But if you really want to enhance the tablet user experience, optimisation must take place in areas that leverage the devices functionality. The primary function being with a tablet PC the ability to ‘swipe’ rather than ‘click’.

Steve Krug wrote a book about user experience called “Don’t make me think” which presents a case to designers to make things easier for users and reduce the cognitive load. I urge designers and website owners to think harder about the tablet user experience and when tweaking the experience whilst waiting for a full blown redesign, to utilise the functionality available. As a tablet user myself I ask you – “don’t make me click”.

If you would like to find out more about enhancing the tablet user experience your customers receive on give us a call free on 0800 0246 247 or drop us an email at hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment