可用性测试的隐藏成本

cost usability testing

可用性测试时的财务提醒

让我们从一开始就说实话,彻底和有效的可用性测试并不是免费的。然而,如果你做错了,另一种选择,即用一个未经测试的网站、栏目、新的页面设置等上线,可能会付出很大的代价。但是,当你开始这样一个项目的时候,你还是要知道你让自己处于什么境地--以及你的钱会得到什么。(一些关于如何控制成本的提示可能也不会有错!)

无论你是招聘一个机构来代表你,还是指定一个员工团队来执行可用性测试,你都需要在制定预算之前了解其他潜在的成本。

下面是一些与可用性工作有关的可能是计划外或意外费用的例子。

  • 旅行如果你必须在工作期间呆在外面,酒店和其他旅行和生活费用可能很快就会变得很重要。如果有可能将工作本地化,这可以节省大量开支,而且更方便,更容易控制和管理。
  • 餐饮业如果你只提供一些三明治和饮料,你可能会想 "这得花多少钱?"但是请记住,这种供应通常是以高昂的价格收取的(例如,1.20英镑的软饮料,5英镑的三明治)。如果你有几个测试者在几天内每隔几小时就去抢冰箱,那么很快就会有很多人去抢。如果可以的话,你最好还是自己囤积物资。
  • 开发原型的费用这可能意味着不仅仅是建立一个标准的原型,因为可能需要更多的细节和额外的功能来促进测试并获得最好的结果。在建立原型时特别考虑到测试问题通常是个好主意,这样你就不必在以后进行大量的(可能是昂贵的)修改。
  • 与实施变革有关的费用测试:你从测试过程中发现的东西很可能会导致你对你的网站进行修改,而且可能是根本性的修改。这不可避免地要付出代价--在开发过程中,可用性测试进行得越晚,修改的范围就越大,代价就越高。因此,为了尽可能地保证产品的正确性和控制成本,早期的测试是可取的。

在委托或发起一个可用性测试项目之前,从专业人士那里获得建议会有所帮助。他们可能会指出一些你可以合理化或节约的领域,或者一些你现在可以采取的行动,以节省未来的开支。

如果你正在考虑进行可用性测试,并希望与有经验的从业人员进行无偿交流,请立即联系我们:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com.

相关帖子

留下评论

The Hidden Cost of Usability Testing

cost usability testing

Financial reminders when Usability Testing

Let’s be honest right from the outset; thorough and effective usability testing isn’t free. However, the alternative i.e. going live with an untested site, section, new page set etc. can be very costly if you get it wrong. But it still pays to know what you are letting yourself in for when you embark on such a project – and what you are getting for your money. (Some tips on how to control the cost probably wouldn’t go amiss either!)

Whether you recruit an agency to act on your behalf or designate a staff team to execute the usability testing, you need to be aware of the other potential costs before you set a budget.

Here are a few examples of what could be unplanned or unexpected costs in relation to a usability exercise:

  • Travel: if you have to stay away for the duration of the exercise, hotel and other travel and subsistence costs can quickly become significant. If it is possible to localise the work this could save considerable expenditure and be more convenient and easier to control and manage.
  • Catering: you might think ‘How much could this cost?’ if you are only providing a few sandwiches and drinks; but bear in mind that this provision is often charged at exorbitant rates (eg £1.20 for a soft drink, £5 for a sandwich). If you have a few testers raiding the fridge every few hours for a couple of days it can soon mount up. You might be better stocking up supplies yourself if that is an available option.
  • Costs of developing the prototype: this can mean more than just building a standard prototype as more levels of detail and additional features will probably be needed to facilitate the testing and get the best possible outcomes. It is often a good idea to build your prototype with testing specifically in mind so you don’t have to go through extensive (and potentially costly) modification later.
  • Costs relating to the implementation of change: what you discover from the testing process is quite likely to lead you to make changes to your site – and possibly fundamental ones. There will inevitably be a cost to this – and the later in the development process the usability testing is conducted, the more extensive and costly the changes are liable to be. Earlier testing is therefore desirable in terms of getting the offering right and containing costs as much as possible.

It can help to get advice from professionals before commissioning or instigating a usability testing project. They might be able to point out some areas where you can rationalise or make savings or some actions you can take now to save future expenditure.

If you are thinking about usability testing and would like a no-obligation chat with an experienced practitioner, contact us  today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com.

Related Posts

Leave a comment