内联网可用性测试

usability testing intranet

公司内部网的可用性测试

内联网可用性测试(主要是以所谓的任务测试的形式)在验证和改进组织的内联网结构和内容方面正在成为一种相当频繁和流行的做法。这个过程通常采用另一种技术--卡片分类,即要求潜在用户将一系列带有内容标题/描述的卡片分类到他们认为合乎逻辑和有用的分组和顺序中。这项活动可以用特殊的软件在网上进行,因此可以让分散在各地的员工以及总部或主要办公室的员工参与进来。

内部网任务或可用性测试的主要目标是确定内容的可查找性。

研究表明,员工使用内部网的意愿和舒适度与他们能找到内容的难易程度直接相关。必须记住,这不是一个有特殊动机和兴趣的用户在浏览他们选择访问的网站,而是一个有特殊任务和目的的员工,他们真的只想尽可能有效地进入和离开这个网站。这对你的员工来说越快越清楚,最终对你的企业来说越好,因为浪费在查找重要信息或数据上的时间越少。

有证据表明,尽管设计和技术得到了改进,但在过去的十年里,内部网的效率实际上已经下降。这主要是由于要求它执行的任务的数量和复杂性的增加。因此,对你的内部网进行可用性测试是至关重要的,以确定它是否在某处接近最佳工作状态。

与B2B或B2C相比,企业内部网测试有许多优势。首先,你清楚地知道你的用户是谁--你雇用了他们你也应该知道他们使用内部网的目的(绝大多数的访问都是为了查找工作人员、电话号码、职责等,以及与工资和费用有关的查询和任务,让我们面对现实吧,这也是大多数员工感兴趣的地方!)

有鉴于此,构建你的测试和吸引参与者应该是相对简单的。这也是一个有用的机会,可以让员工参与对话,获得更多使用内部网的承诺,所以这个过程会有有益的副产品。

这个过程本身是比较简单的;确定用户可能进行的具体任务--这可能是如何获得或购买所需的货物或服务,如何确定你在你的工资表上的位置,或者谁是一个特定的部门负责人以及如何联系他们。然后,任务测试将评估用户完成任务的难易程度,并评估网站结构在帮助用户实现这一目标方面的清晰度。这个过程通常是在一个网站导航模型上进行的,但它同样可以在现有的网站上发挥作用,因为你要评估和提高性能。大多数大型组织已经有了多年的内部网,因此评估现有结构可能是最常见的情况。

你的内部网对于你的员工和作为经理/雇主的你来说是一个有价值的工具,可以传达重要的信息,激励和指导员工,使你的行政和日常运作更加顺利和简单。任何有碍于此的东西都是对你整体效率的潜在拖累。

如果您想在您的企业内讨论内部网的可用性测试,请立即联系我们,电话:+44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件至 hello@ux247.com  .我们很高兴与您讨论您的需求,并提供有关未来发展方向的指导和帮助。

相关帖子

留下评论

Intranet Usability Testing

usability testing intranet

Usability Testing of Internal Company Intranets

Intranet usability testing (principally in the form of what is known as task testing) is becoming quite a frequent and popular exercise in the validation and improvement of organisations’ intranet architecture and content. The process often follows another technique, card sorting, which involves potential users being asked to sort a series of cards with content headings/descriptions into what they see as a logical and useful groupings and sequences. This activity can be conducted online with special software so can involve geographically dispersed staff as well as those in head or main offices.

The principal objective of intranet task or usability testing is to establish findability of content.

Research has shown that employees’ willingness and comfort with using an intranet site is directly related to the ease with which they can locate content. It has to be remembered that this is not a user with a particular motivation and interest navigating a site they have elected to visit, but an employee with a particular task and purpose who really just wants to get in and out of the site as efficiently as possible. The quicker and clearer this is the better for your staff and, ultimately, for your business as less time is wasted locating vital information or data.

There is evidence that the efficiency of intranets has actually decreased in the past decade despite improved design and technology. This is mainly due to an increase in the number and complexity of the tasks it is being asked to perform. So it is critical that usability testing is conducted on your intranet to determine if it is working somewhere near optimum.

There are a number of advantages to intranet testing over B2B or B2C. For s start you know exactly who you users are – you employ them! You should also know pretty much what they use the intranet for (the great majority of visits will be for looking up members of staff, phone numbers, responsibilities and so on and queries and tasks related to pay and expenses which, let’s face it, is what most staff are interested in!)

In view of all this constructing your test and engaging participants should be relatively simple. It is also a useful opportunity to engage staff in a dialogue and gain more commitment to intranet usage so there are beneficial by-products to the process.

The process itself is relatively simple; specific tasks that users are likely to undertake are identified – this might be how to obtain or purchase required good or services, how to determine where you should be on your payscale or who a particular section head is and how to contact them. The task testing then evaluates how easy it is for the user to complete the task and assesses the clarity of the site structure in helping the user achieve this. The process is often performed on a site navigation mock-up but it can equally be useful on an existing site as you look to evaluate and improve performance. Most large organisations will have had an intranet for many years so assessing an existing structure is probably the commonest situation.

Your intranet is a valuable tool for your employees and for you as a manager/employer to convey important information, motivate and direct staff and make the admin and everyday running of your business smoother and simpler. Anything that gets in the way of this is a potential drag on your overall efficiency.

If you would like to talk about intranet usability testing within your business contact us today on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com  . We would be happy to talk through your needs and provide guidance and assistance regarding a way forward.

Related Posts

Leave a comment