国际研究中的区域差异

international user research

国际研究应考虑到区域差异

虽然我们可能会考虑到,在我们自己的国家里,用户的行为和体验可能存在地区差异(这只是 可能);如果并且当我们做 国际研究但是,我们是否对其他国家的区域差异给予了充分的考虑。考虑到国际研究的费用和难度,你可能不希望在你的计算中再增加一层复杂的因素;但事实是,在海外市场,区域差异可能比在英国更加明显和重要。

在英国,我们确实有一个在经济地位、地理分布、文化遗产方面相对单一的市场(好吧,有显著的例外,但作为一般规则,这是一个良好的工作假设)。英国也相对较小,连通性--包括物理和电子--是相当一致的。

例如,考虑到南美或非洲国家,这些国家的面积可能达到数十万平方英里,而首都和其他一两个主要城市在繁荣程度、设施、交通和技术方面与该国其他地区完全不同。仅仅基于重要城市地区的国际研究会给整个国家在用户市场方面的情况提供一个完全错误的描述。

这些地方的地理环境也可能差别很大。例如,在英国,我们在苏格兰的高地和岛屿上有一两个真正的偏远地区;但与非洲的灌木丛或丛林、南美的雨林或北欧的苔原相比,这些地方的偏远性和孤立性根本无法相比。你可能倾向于认为这些地方相对无人居住,对你的营销并不重要,但你可能会惊讶地发现,世界上有多大比例的人口生活在偏远、不发达的地区--例如,世界上大约一半的移动用户仍然使用2G网络。这些人现在可能是你的用户--他们中的一些人几乎肯定会在未来的某个时候成为用户。

那么,有没有一种方法,既不大量增加预算,又能在用户体验方面描绘出一个有用的画面?

在设计一个正式的(可能是昂贵的)国际研究项目之前,也许值得你自己做一些案头研究。你可以聘请一名研究人员对你所研究的国家的特点进行介绍,如:。

  • 人口。
  • 族裔。
  • 运输和通信。
  • 技术的先进性。
  • 经济学。
  • 语言。
  • 移动电话所有权。

你也许能够从中突出关键特征,并构建一个国际研究框架,在你为用户创建档案或角色时,对主要的个人因素进行加权和塑造。

如果您想进一步了解如何进行国际用户体验研究--或任何其他方面--的指导,那么请通过电话与我们联系,电话是 +44(0)800 0246 247,或发送电子邮件 hello@ux247.com. 我们在许多海外市场拥有丰富的经验和背景知识,我们可以把这些经验和知识集中在你的特定问题上。

相关帖子

留下评论

Regional Variation in International Research

international user research

International research should take into account regional variation

While we might give some thought and consideration to the idea that there could be regional differences in user behaviour and experience within our own country (and that is only might); if and when we do international research, do we give sufficient thought to regional variance within other countries. Given the expense and difficulty of international research you are probably not looking for another layer of complexity to factor into your calculations; but the plain truth is that regional differences are likely to be even more pronounced and important in overseas markets than they are in the UK.

Here in Britain we do have a relatively homogenous market in terms of economic status, geographic dispersion, cultural heritage (OK, there are significant exceptions but as a general rule it is a good working hypothesis). Britain is also relatively small, and connectivity – both physical and electronic – is reasonably consistent.

Consider for example South American or African countries which can cover hundreds of thousands of square miles and where often the capital city and maybe one or two other major cities are completely different to the rest of the country in terms of prosperity, amenities, transport, technology. International research that was based just on the significant city areas would give a completely false picture of what the whole country looked like in terms of user markets.

The geography of these places can also vary greatly. In the UK we have one or two really remote regions in the highlands and islands of Scotland, for example; but these are nothing in terms of remoteness and isolation compared to, say, the African bush or jungle, the South American rain forests or the Tundra of northern Europe. You might tend to think that these places are relatively uninhabited and not important to your marketing but you would probably be surprised to learn what percentage of the world’s population live in remote, undeveloped areas – for example, around half of the world’s mobile users are still on 2G. These could be your users now – and some of them almost certainly will be some time in the future.

So is there a way around this that doesn’t massively escalate the budget but can still paint a picture that is useful in terms of user experience?

It might be worth doing some desk research of your own before designing a formal (and potentially expensive) international research project. You could hire a researcher to produce a profile of the country you are researching in terms of features such as:

  • population;
  • ethnicities;
  • transport and communications;
  • technological sophistication;
  • economics;
  • languages;
  • mobile phone ownership.

You might be able to highlight critical features from this and construct an international research framework that weights and shapes the major individual factors when you create profiles or personas for your users.

If you would like further guidance on how to go about this – or any other aspect – of international  UX research, then please, get in touch by phone on +44(0)800 0246 247, or email hello@ux247.com. We have a lot of experience and background knowledge in many overseas markets which we can focus onto your particular issue.

Related Posts

Leave a comment