使用智能手机进行用户体验日记研究

mobile diary studies

智能手机如何在日记研究中用于捕捉用户体验

值得庆幸的是,我们招募一群参与者并将他们送到野外,用记事本和笔武装起来的日子现在已经过去了。现在,智能手机已经悄悄进入了几乎每个家庭,研究人员可以获得以前无法获得的数据采集能力。但是仍然存在挑战,我们以前学到的一些规则仍然适用。

以下是我们在使用智能手机进行用户体验日记研究的经验中得到的几个提示

使用智能手机进行用户体验日记研究的七个提示

  1. 数据量 - 与纸质研究一样,仍然有大量的数据。一些数据采集应用程序确实提供了汇总和分析数据的功能,但你需要留出足够的时间来观看视频并将数据带入你的报告框架。
  2. 下车 - 互惠原则在使用智能手机的用户体验日记研究中不起作用。把日记本和笔交给你经常见面的参与者,比让他使用自己的智能手机和下载一个应用程序更能创造忠诚度。过度招募以允许更高的退出率。
  3. 电池寿命 - 有些应用程序比其他应用程序使用更多的电池,有些用户的电池比其他用户好。确保受访者了解对他们的要求,并确保他们的智能手机能够支持你所要求的反馈。
  4. 长度 - 保持简短和不频繁。你要求受访者输入的次数越多,需要他们关注的时间越长,退出的可能性就越大。
  5. 预测试 - 下载应用程序,快速玩一玩,然后把它发送给你的受访者,这是非常诱人的,但我建议预先可用性测试 以确保你所选择的应用程序可以做你需要的事情。另外,在实地工作完成后,你可以获得你需要的数据。
  6. 使用功能 - 既然你有机会使用智能手机的功能,那就使用它。这将使研究对受访者来说更有趣,对你来说数据更丰富。像照片、视频和GPS这样的功能是显而易见的,但也要考虑短信和即时通讯工具、社交媒体的链接以及使用浏览器和其他应用程序如何能增加价值。
  7. 它仍然是一部智能手机 - 请记住,你不能提供长的调查问题,并期望得到与提供给台式机或笔记本电脑用户时一样的回应。如果你需要这种类型的互动或为小屏幕设计,请考虑将受访者带到电脑屏幕上。

如果你想了解更多关于在客户使用环境中进行用户体验研究的信息,请 取得联系 与我们联系,我们将很乐意提供帮助。

相关帖子

留下评论

Using a Smartphone for User Experience Diary Studies

mobile diary studies

How Smartphones can be used for capturing user experience in diary studies

The days when we would recruit a bunch of participants and send them off into the wild armed with notepads and pens are, thankfully, now behind us. Now that smartphones have crept into almost every home researchers have access to data capture capabilities previously unavailable to them. But there are still challenges and some of the rules we learned before still apply.

Below are a few tips from our experience of running user experience diary studies using smartphones

Seven tips for user experience diary studies with Smartphones

  1. Volume of data – As with paper studies there is still a lot of data. Some data capture apps do provide functionality to aggregate and analyse data but you need to allow plenty of time to watch the videos and bring the data into your reporting framework.
  2. Drop off – The principals of reciprocity don’t work with user experience diary studies where a smartphone is used. Handing a diary and a pen to a participant, who you have often met creates more loyalty than asking someone to use their own smartphone and download an app. Over-recruit to allow for a far higher drop-off rate.
  3. Battery life – Some apps use more battery than others and some users have better batteries than others. Make sure respondents understand what is required of them and that they have a smartphone capable of supporting the feedback you require.
  4. Length – Keep it short and infrequent. The more often you ask respondents to input and the longer you need their attention, the higher the likelihood of drop-out.
  5. Pre-test – It is very tempting to download and app, have a quick play and then send it out to your respondents but I recommend pre-usability testing to make sure that the app you have selected can do what you need it to. Also, that you can get at the data you need after the field work is complete.
  6. Use the functionality – As you have access to a smartphone’s functionality use it. It will make the study more interesting for the respondent and the data richer for you. Functionality like photos, videos and GPS are obvious things to add but consider how SMS and instant messenger, links to social media and using the browser and other apps can add value.
  7. It’s still a smartphone – Keep in mind that you can’t deliver long survey questions and expect the same response as when delivering them for a desktop or laptop user. Consider taking the respondent to a computer screen if you need that type of interaction or design for the small screen.

If you would like more information about user experience research with your customers in their context of use please get in contact with us and we would be delighted to help.

Related Posts

Leave a comment